We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Just Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soma Palmshore Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 50 Hotels in Kovalam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Just Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of a tour. Reception staff not very friendly and quite sombre as were most of the staff overall. One positive is that we were allocated a private cottage which had a lovely outlook on the grounds and the sea/beach. The room itself was fairly small and a bit shabby as was the bathroom. The breakfast spread was very poor little choice in comparison to other hotels on our tour and food overall looked mediocre. Didn’t eat here for lunch or dinner as there are plenty of bars/restaurants five minutes’ walk away down on Lighthouse Beach and the onsite seafood restaurant was closed. The “private beach” is down the bottom of the property and is fairly pleasant (although you have to negotiate a lot of steep steps) The pool was never crowded during our stay and we took the occasional dip.
The hotel is laid out on a number of floors and stands on a steep hill. Consequently this hotel is not recommended for anyone with mobility issues as there are a lot of steps to negotiate from beach and pool and no lift. Also the walk down to Lighthouse beach is down a steep hill. I would recommend one restaraunt to try which was down on Lighthouse beach...called Fusion. It was always busy (which speaks for itself) and the food was very good.
Overall experience was ok for a couple of nights but would probably not go back.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank South1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    191
    67
    17
    41
See reviews for
164
164
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Enjoyed my stay here especially the nice beach just below the hotel, a lot nicer that the nearby kovolom and lighthouse beaches. The room and public areas of the hotel were fine but the bathroom was horrible, very dirty and I killed about 4 cockroaches (it should have been 5 but one got away) over my 3 day stay. Staff were friendly and helpful. The walk up from lighthouse beach where the restaurants are located involves ascending two short but quite steep hills, older people may find them challenging.

Room Tip: Ask them is they have any with renovated clean bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GdTimeCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We booked this by first going through the internet. It is absolutely picture-postcard-perfect pretty and the decor is also a lovely muted green keeping in tune with its abundant verdant surroundings. Our room was large with its own veranda which had a view of the swimming pool. Unfortunately the view was blocked by the overhanging leaves of the trees in front of the building so we really didn't sit out much. Another misnomer is that the hotel is on the beach itself; it is and it is not. The hotel is built on several levels so to go the beach you have to climb down quite a few stairs and then several more steps cut into the lawn. Going downhill is easy but climbing up all those stairs from the beach can be tiring. However it is really worth the effort as the private beach is absolutely beautiful with its silver sands and blue surf and an absolute bonus that is no soul in sight for miles. The famous Lighthouse beach is a walking distance away if you interested in touristy stuff and some really great fresh sea-food.

We were there during the lpeak festive period in October so there was not much variation in the food you could order.Breakfast was complimentary while lunch was buffet. The food was standard fare,mostly good but occasionally lapsing into uninspiring and insipid not to speak dangerous. The husband floating in his soup while yours truly had a severe acidity attack after eating puri/sabzi for breakfast. The staff were duly apologetic about the soup and had it replaced while the acidity attack had to fend for itself as there were no doctors.

Coming back to the rooms, though large it did not have an adequate cupboard and the bathrooms though expensively fitted, were old-fashioned not to say inconvenient to use. Also the choice of toiletries was rather sub-standard relative to the tariff we were paying. At times we had to inform reception about the lack or the shortage of water even.Another disappointment was the so-called Ayurvedic doctor on the premises; turned out that he was merely a salesman who was pitching local lotions and potions on us poor unsuspecting tourists.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We were greated warmly by the reception staff and escorted immediately to one of their more private Beach Chalets with a terrace which had a beautiful view of the garden and the ocean. Our room was cheerful and quite roomy with lots of space for luggage. The bathroom also was spacious with a large shower in very good condition. There was always hot water when we needed it. The power would go out often ( which happens in India ) but then their generator would kick in immediately so it was never an inconvenience. The room was cleaned daily with clean towels and change of bed linen by a very friendly cleaning lady.
The beach was not private but only a few people come here other than guests from the two Hotels nearby. There was a friendly woman selling fruit everyday with whom we often had good conversations. The local young men would play ball in the evening so you would not want to sit on the beach at that time which was no problem. Most people watched the sun set and then would leave the beach area anyway.
The huge waves in the sea was great for body surfing so was a lot of fun. The outdoor pool was also very clean and a great way to cool off during the heat of the day. The garden area was very well landscaped and kept clean by the gardener working all the time.
The dining room and terrace have great views of the sea. The complimentary breakfast were very good with a variety of delicious south Indian food as well as eggs cooked to preference. The dining room staff was always very courteous and helpful. We ate a few of our meals at the resort but also tried a few of the many restaurants on the walk downhill to Lighthouse Beach along the promenade and the side back roads.
On the way to the Lighthouse, the tuc tuc drivers wait for passengers. We found a very courteous and friendly young man with whom we negotiated a price for a two hour sightseeing tour. He took us to most of the other out of the way beaches which were pretty amazing.
We enjoyed walking through the fishing villages nearby everyday. Some of the women invited us into their homes for some Indian hospitality serving us a cup of chai. They do not have much but were willing to share with us.
On a further walk to the main village and harbour, we watched the fishing boats come back with their catch each morning. Everyone from the villages all came out to wait for them. The fish market had a variety of fish at reasonable prices and wish we could have bought some.
The harbour was a perfect place for taking pictures.
Also the reception staff was very helpful on our last day with our airline boarding pass on the computer in their office since the one we brought along was not working great.
Each night we would fall asleep with the sounds of crashing waves which was very relaxing.
After our six night stay at this lovely resort we were sorry to leave.
We would certainly recommend this resort to anyone wanting a quiet, peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: A private chalet is probably the most spacious with great views and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Roa3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed there for 2 days alOng with our 1 year old daughter.room was clean with a beautiful view of sea.swimming pool was also gud. They don't have any private beach but it gives u feeling of private beach.having brkfast along with seaview was a gud experience.lighthouse beach is at walking distance, so i can say excellent location.overall the hotel was very nice but I found it very expensive comparing to their service.they don't have lift.our room was on 1 st floor n reastaurnt was on lower ground floor n pool one more floor down,so everytime for breakfast, dinner or to pool we will have to go down n come up to 3 floors holding our daughter.no LCD in rooms , old style tvs. Their was just a bench and a very small window size almirah to keep the luggage.bathroom was very small n not upto the mark,same problem old style shower.n after taking bath toilet paper , wc everything becomes wet.they charge 10percent extra to serve food in the room.overall hotel is at gr8 location but not upto the mark

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vibha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We had a fantastic two week stay at Soma Palmshore, although I suspect your opinion of this hotel will very much depend on what room you get. We stayed in one of the beach shallets and it was absolutely wonderful however I got the impression the rooms in the main hotel building might be a little tired. But, generally the hotel was great. The staff are warm, friendly and helpful, breakfast very tasty and the hotel itself is in a great location. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay again next time we go to the Lighthouse Beach.

Room Tip: Try to get a beach shallet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suzxq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

My husband and I were at Soma Palm shore resort recently. We stayed there 3 nights and the service of the staff members was excellent. We were very pleased with our stay there and the staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. The food was very good and the staff was happy to cater to our taste.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony facing the beach. The view was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Latha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
1.6 km away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
0.8 km away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
2.1 km away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 50 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.0 km away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 50 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
2.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soma Palmshore Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soma Palmshore Beach Resort

Property: Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
Address: Light House Road | Kovalam Beach, Kovalam 695521, India
Region: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Soma Palmshore Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic holiday resort by the beach, Soma Palmshore has everything you need to take a break from the mundane – to relax, to refresh and to relive every moment.Located at the Kovalam Light House Beach in Kerala, which is popular world-over for its palm fringed beach, the sun, the sand and the surf, Soma Palmshore offers you much more than just a beach vacation. A comfortable stay, a delightful cuisine, the rejuvenating experience of Ayurveda, the soothing effect of Yoga, an experience of the local tradition and culture…and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Soma Palmshore Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soma Palmshore Beach Hotel Kovalam
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort Kovalam, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing