We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Kickoff to my Honeymoon -Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leela Kovalam Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Leela Kovalam Beach
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Kovalam
Certificate of Excellence
Faridabad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kickoff to my Honeymoon -Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Hello Everyone,

Its been almost 3 months to my travel , but finally I had sorted some of the Photographs and moreover the time to write a review about my stay. Kovalam was my first destination during my honeymoon and I stayed at Leela , Kovalam for couple of days.

I was very excited for leela becasue of its location and I must say that the stay at "The leela" was wonderful. The way we were welcomed and escorted to our room was excellent. They knew about our honeymoon and thus had a cake already placed in the Sitout area.

I was spoilt by too many choices, the room I stayed in was "Beach View Superior Room" , Sea was only few metres away and a lovely garden right in front of our room. Took a Short Nap and headed straight away to the Beach and enjoyed my time there on the beach ...

Although one prefers to switch on the air condition and see through the balcony , I didnt miss a chance of listening to the Vibrant sea hitting on the rocks. Morning 3:00am was the right time to open the doors and sleep right in the lap of nature.

Coming on the Food, had a Dinner and Buffet breakfast there and I must say that the food was excellent (being a Punjabi , One can understand the Kind of taste buds we have).

While Checking out we were given a small gift from them as a token of rememberance.

Overall , an excellent stay, Whatever the age group be, this is a sure shot recommendation , send your parents over here, let them spend some time alone, let leela take care of them.

On several requests from my friends , I went ahead and clicked photographs of the Club Room which may be the requirement for some to compare the room one wants to stay inn.

Leela Team --Thank you for making my stay memorable and I assure you of my parents visit soon to this place.Good memories lasts forever and they will for sure.

Recommendation - Upload more Pics of your rooms so that travellers can go through them and select which room they want to. I conveyed the same to your Floor Manager as well .However I am doing my bit to promote you guys.....

Cheers !!!!

Room Tip: Beach View room is a good one , you will feel as if you are almost on the beach ... Good room with g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,473
    717
    266
    109
    89
See reviews for
816
1,027
80
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (879)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We had a beautiful room with fantastic views.
Breakfast at the Terrace was excellent but Sunday lunch was a nightmare of kids in the pool (and therefore in the restaurant)
In-room information was misleading or missing (we arrived an hour early at the beachside restaurant because the info. didn't mention it closing until 7pm. ( the opposite)
Dinner at the Terrace was superb,
Wifi was not provided unless you called IT and then you had to visit reception to get the charges (for each logon !) waived.
In summary, a wonderful position and great facilities but a few old fashioned ideas.

Room Tip: Below main block in the two rows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mickw952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This was our last stop on a long and exhausting tour of North and South India and gave us everything we needed...
Our beach view room was amazing, every need thought of and beautifully done, the view from the balcony stunning.
The infinity pool was the perfect place to see the sun set and the private beach beautifully kept, service was amazing in all areas of the hotel. The maid service was exceptional rooms cleaned and replenished twice daily.
The buggy ride back from the beach to the hotel after a hard days R&R was a delight...
The sea was the best we had experienced in kerala, gentle waves rather than the breakers elsewhere, felt like laying in a tepid wave bath and the turquoise water amazingly clear.
The sky bar was again a perfect sunset location and the cocktails were fabulous.
The decor everywhere in the hotel right down to the room corridors was stunning.
We opted for the package including airport transfers and buffet meals which proved to be excellent value. The buffet was amazing, varied at every meal and more choice than you could wish for, we only had 3 days here but there did seem to be so much variety in the buffet food that you could happily eat this way for longer.
Only downside we had a 4am checkout and despite reassurances from the General manager and reception the night before the driver was not ready for us, it wasn't a problem and they did give us breakfast food to take with us but not the smooth exit we had in our lower class Delhi hotel.
This was a great place to end our trip a luxurious jewel in Kovalam and I cannot wait to visit again and make more use of the spa facilities but if you want to see the real India then this may not be the place.
A great start or end to an Indian holiday but in a very commercial way.
make sure you check out the pillow menu!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minsk, Belarus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The hotel is actually built in the late 1960-s but has experienced a number of renovations. The main building is virtually built-in into the rocky cape between two sandy beaches and provides beautiful view over Arabian sea from every room. Territory of the hotel is huge, there is even old castle on it. Hotel operates probably the only private beach in Kovalam area which is a very nice feature for those a bit tired of exotics and looking for some privacy. There is Ayurveda center and Yoga pavilion on site and the appropriate treatments and activities available. For the touch of local ambiance you could take 10 minutes walk or 3 minutes tuk-tuk ride to the Lighthouse Beach nearby where dozens of shops and local restaurants provide their services with no beggars attached. Generally the hotel could be recommended for those more looking for the international standards than for the immersion into the local culture

Room Tip: Club Rooms are recently built, fresh and modern, and overlooks ocean waves splashing over rocks. Reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladimir V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mashhad
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

my family and i have recently returned from 4 night stay at the leela(kempinski).the leela kovalam is among the most beautiful resorts i have seen.brillant location,atmospheric,great view fishermen taking their boats into the water ...the private beach made our stay wonderful,great beach with very good beach service and facilities.we had buggy in call 24/7 rides down to the beach and back.walking distance from the kovalam beach road with many shops and cheaper restaurants and accessible by a short tuk tuk(rishka) ride.the room had a wonderful ocean view and a short easy walk down the hill to the beach.but the shower and the toilet was seperated by a stained shower screen.the basin was strangely situated outside of the bathroom!!!.the housekeeping was really bad you are just a dollar sign to them that make them to do their duty.the staff were polite but not really friendly like other 5 star hotels in india.breakfast not was acceptable for 5 star hotel.they offer a buffet that can be found in any 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamidrezamonshizadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide, australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Went to this amazing resort last year...probably the best by leela.
I just fell in love with the amazing restaurant they have by the beach...and the private beach makes the stay worthwhile.
The spa was so relaxing that I went for it on all the 3 days and sort of got addicted to it.
But i think they could have given us a better package deal as I found it very expensive.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ankitkhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hastings UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a 5* luxury hotel so it did live up to everything that we expected. The infinity pools were great, the food at breakfast was wonderful, with plenty of choice. The buggy rides down to the beach and back were perfect. There were free activities to do and the views are fantastic.
The only negatives were - we booked a club room and an ordinary room, but the ordinary room was much better, bigger and with a larger balcony. The butler service in the club room unfortunately was not as efficient, we had to ask several times for things. Its not worth the upgrade to a club room.
The staff were polite and efficient, but not really friendly but this could be due to the fact that the staff work long hours for low wages - there was a sign outside the hotel listing their complaints and demands.

Overall its a nice luxury hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hastings20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kovalam hotels
1.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.6 km away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.9 km away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Samudra KTDC
Hotel Samudra KTDC
#6 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
1.6 km away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
1.5 km away
Sagara Beach Resort
Sagara Beach Resort
#14 of 51 in Kovalam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Kovalam Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Kovalam Beach

Property: The Leela Kovalam Beach
Address: Kovalam Beach Road, Kovalam 695527, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kovalam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kovalam
#3 Spa Hotel in Kovalam
#4 Family Hotel in Kovalam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kovalam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Kovalam Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Raviz Kovalam - Indulgence is an art you will perfect at The Leela Raviz Kovalam while staying in any of our 183 rooms and suites. With a seamless blend of modern technology and traditional grandeur, the soothing décor of each room whispers warm aesthetics. Each room opens out to a breath-taking view of either the ocean or garden. All rooms are provided with luxury amenities to cater to discerning tastes. Unwind with exquisite facilities like an HD LCD television and a broadband connection for hi-speed internet. The Club rooms offer valet services, a gourmet corner with a fine selection of spirits, softdrinks and snacks and have luxurious bathrooms with a walk-in shower and a private infinity pool. Awake to auburn sunrises in the horizon or soak in the sun under azure skies at the infinity pools. Get a taste of the vacation of your dreams at The Leela Raviz Kovalam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Leela Kovalam Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Kovalam Beach Hotel Kovalam
The Leela Kempinski Hotel Kovalam
Hotel Leela Trivandrum
The Leela Kovalam Beach Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing