We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guesthouse Excellence !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconuts Guesthouse Canggu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coconuts Guesthouse Canggu
Ranked #58 of 105 Canggu B&B and Inns
Redland City, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Guesthouse Excellence !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

Coconuts is perfect. You won't find a better address or nicer hosts anywhere else in Bali. Russell and his beautiful family (including Mark, Fiona and Liam) made me feel more like a friend than a guest.

My room (4) was superb. So very spacious, comfortable and luxurious. Each room is appointed with everything you would need or want. The bed is super comfortable and the bathroom clean, roomy and functional. My balcony overlooked the pool and stunning tropical gardens.

As it is a guesthouse, the kitchen, lounge and dining area is downstairs for all the guests to access and enjoy. It was really nice to chat to some of the other guests staying at Coconuts and we often bumped into each other around the pool or making a snack in the kitchen (just like at home).

The reading lounge is upstairs and is well stocked with books and magazines. On the rooftop there is a nice quiet area where you can sit back with a cold Bintang and watch the sun set. Everything has been carefully thought out when Coconuts was built. Just awesome.

The pool area is really inviting, just the right atmosphere ...and really welcomed after a long hot day of shopping in Kuta!

Russell is a wealth of local knowledge and more than happy to have a chat about the area, past and present. He has built a beautiful modern guesthouse while still maintaining the charm and integrity of the culture, a perfect balance. Ask him about the beautiful old photographs on the walls throughout the guesthouse, really interesting.

The local restaurants all deliver to Coconuts and breakfast is just a short walk down to Echo Beach for excellent bacon and eggs (with real toast!!)
Canggu has a real laid back surf culture and there seems to be an eclectic mix of nationalities staying in and around Canggu. Very relaxing and welcoming.
Just a hint, the Thai place opposite Coconuts serves excellent Thai and Asian food at reasonable prices.

I can't say enough about Coconuts, I didn't really want to leave (4 nights is way too short) but I will definitely be back. A perfect guesthouse in a beautiful location for an unbelievable price.

Thanks go to Russell, Fitri and Natalie, see you again soon !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travel_mumma3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    9
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
22
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Coconuts is very nicely built and stylishly appointed, and feels very homely. There are only 4 rooms and the two we saw were really good sized. The shared lounge/kitchen area by the pool is also very generous, and the pool itself is lovely too. The location is very handy for both Berawa Beach and Echo Beach and the brilliant restaurant Deus is just around the corner. Russell and his wife are great hosts and above all, it is incredible value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fiandgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Our first stay was for 3 nights and we decided to come back 2 weeks after that for another 2 nights. The house is beautiful and comfi en provides for anything you should need. Russel, the owner, is simply great, laid back and helpful. He has everything sorted out as far as transport, rentals, etc, all you need to do is call en profit from the good rates which he has negotiated for you already! The house has a decent and free wifi connection which is pleasent for letting friends back home know what an amazing time you're having;) The house is just a short walk from the beach and a short ride by scooter (or a bit of a longer walk) from famous Echo Beach. This was really the most pleasent place we stayed at in Bali and coming back after 2 was like coming home.... yeah right... I wish it was my home...

Thanks again Russel!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_Brunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

My husband and i stayed at Coconuts for three nights earlier this month after a recommendation from a friend who had met the owner. We really enjoyed our stay. Our room overlooked the rice fields on one side and the pool on the other.
Calling Coconuts a b/b or guesthouse doesn't do this place justice, its light, bright and airy, and a luxurious place to stay.
I think the place has a special vibe to it, Russell the owner is a laid-back character from Australia, who made us feel very welcome on our arrival.
Really the only problem with this place is that room availability will be hard to get now that people have reviewed coconuts on trip advisor :( We look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moret-sur-Loing, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Russell (owner) is a very outgoing guy who likes chitchatting with his guests, which just makes Coconuts feel like a home, rather than a hotel.

The TV/living area is wonderful, internet could be a bit patchy at times.

The property is close to Canggu which means it's a bit far from everywhere central, but you'd appreciate it if you're looking for that special Bali moment.

The rooms are wonderful and big, with a balcony overlooking the pool to boot.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vodkacran23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
250 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

This is a gem. The rooms are large, house is well maintained and it's only 4 rooms so it never gets jammed. so close to the beach and restaurants you can walk. The back room has a great view of the rice fields. The animals can be a bit loud in the morning so if you want to sleep in bring earplugs (mainly its the rooster). you can also do your own laundry, there's a machine!
perfect if you are over the kuta? seminyak scene.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexandhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights at coconuts guesthouse. Room no. 2 was extremely lovely for the two of us. It has a modern bathroom and a wraparound balcony, which we love the concept very much. There isn't any tv in the room. I guess its a great idea not having a tv in the room because you could just stare at the beautiful paddy fields and enjoy the soft winds blowing into the room for hours. The common area downstairs has a dvd player, indovision (so many channels to watch!) and wifi. There is also a simple kitchen, which we prepared simple breakfasts and lunches. The pool is great and relaxing. The guesthouse owner, Russell and his lovely wife and pretty little daughter are extremely helpful and friendly. They called and booked taxis for us and even got great and affordable prices. There isn't much warungs nearby, but delivery services are available and you could just call and order food from restaurants nearby. We had dinner twice at Ulu Thai restaurant just opposite the guesthouse and we find their pad thai taste better than Deus (a fine dining within walking distance from coconuts). We also had breakfast and lunch at Dian cafe along canggu beach and we find it more affordable if compared to Deus. If you wish to have dinner in Dian, my advice is to eat early, because it gets dark early, around 6 to 7, and it is extremely dark to walk back to coconuts. But there will not be any issue if you rent a motorbike.

We don't have any bad comment for coconuts and we totally agree that they shouldn't be called only as a "guesthouse". Coconuts is just like our own home, the difference is that we are in canggu, Bali! Love it! We definitely recommend coconuts guesthouse to people who are planning to stay in Canggu!

Room Tip: Try to get room no. 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tzteezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
0.2 km away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
0.2 km away
Koming Guest House
Koming Guest House
#22 of 105 in Canggu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.6 km away
Echoland
Echoland
#20 of 105 in Canggu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Jonsen Homestay
Jonsen Homestay
#63 of 105 in Canggu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.5 km away
The Calm Tree Bungalow
The Calm Tree Bungalow
#8 of 105 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.8 km away
Matra Bali Guesthouse
Matra Bali Guesthouse
#7 of 105 in Canggu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconuts Guesthouse Canggu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconuts Guesthouse Canggu

Property: Coconuts Guesthouse Canggu
Address: Jl. Pantai Batu Bolong No. 92, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Canggu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconuts Guesthouse is a modern villa located 350 meters from the world famous surfing beaches of Canggu, on Bali's west coast, and just a short 15 minute drive from the world class restaurants, shopping and nightlife of Kuta and Seminyak. Don't be fooled by the "Guesthouse" label. We're really an exclusive, four room hotel! Coconuts consists of four luxurious bedrooms at extremely affordable prices. The spacious rooms feature king size double beds, air conditioning and ceiling fans, walk in wardrobes, minibar fridge, and electronic combination safety deposit boxes for your valuables. All rooms have high quality bathrooms featuring western quality fixtures and marble throughout. There's a 10 meter swimming pool with extended kids pool, plus sunbeds, umbrellas, etc. There's also a beautifully appointed guest lounge room with 42" flat screen TV with Indovision (satellite TV), free WIFI, and kitchen facilities. We have an abundance of quality restaurants within walking distance, most of which home deliver. There's a second guest lounge area to relax and read a good book, and a rooftop garden that's a fantastic place to have a drink with friends whilst watching the sun set over the Indian Ocean. Away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta, yet within easy reach, Canggu still offers up an old school Bali experience, and some of the best Sunsets on the island! Canggu is fast becoming "the place to stay" when visiting Bali, "The Island of the Gods". Airport transfers are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Coconuts Guesthouse Canggu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconuts Guesthouse Canggu Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing