We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
Ranked #25 of 41 Hotels in Canggu
Reviewed 3 August 2010

I dont want to say too much otherwise next time we got to book this place we will have to pay more or we wont be able to get a room. But I am doing this for the staff who are lovelly especially front desk and in the restaurant. The rooms are plain but beautiful and huge, only missing a kettle for my morning cuppa but staff are more than happy to bring you some hot water. Rooms 12 & 14 on the second storey have massive decks which could hold a small wedding reception, you have your own table, chairs and umbrella to boot. The food in the restaurant was great and well priced for Bali standards, especially the Steak and Mash Potatoe (yummy). The outside dining in the restaurant be it evening, lunch or breakfast beats Jimbaran Bay, Kuta or Legian handsdown, the waves literally crashing behind the small brick wall that seperates you from the beach. In the evening you are lost in a romantic world of fairy lights set far up in the coconut palms above your tables and during the day you can watch the surfers ride the endless waves in front of your table. All in all this was a beautiful place, I would recommend hiring scooters to investigate the many Gangs and Jalans and the hotel is not too far from Seminyak if you take the short cut down past the Canggu Country Club. All in all excellant find but dont tell to many people, One last thing, the Spa could have another lady as the current one is to busy for drop in, make sure you book.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citybails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2010

I was unsure what to expect with this hotel after reading all the reviews on trip advisor and unfortunately it lived up to the more negative ones.

We went for a relaxing week and anticipated good surf, relaxing hotel and great food out of the way of the madness but with more than enough to occupy us. I was also very dismissive of comments that Kuta was too far away seeing as it only seems to be 20 minutes by taxi but it was a pretty big pain getting in and out every night for decent food.

The hotel I would say is a 3 star at best and is not value for money. The staff are all very young and there doesn't seem to be anyone in particular managing them. It can take three staff to brush up non existent leaves but none to refresh the breakfast.

The food at best is mediocre and overpriced and after a few days you have gone through the whole menu and don't really fancy doing it again. There are very few other cafes or restuarants around the area either but it is only 30 minute walk down the beach to Seminyak and a little further to Legian. It's a nice walk too if you can do it before sunset. To find your nearest little shop for water, snacks or supplies you need to hire a scooter, which you can from the hotel for 50,000 IDR a day. If you're brave enough its quite a lot of fun.

Kuta is only 20-30 minutes away by car and they do offer a free shuttle bus, you have to book in advance and the shuttle bus only takes six people so you need to get in early or make your own arrangements. They run at 10am and 3pm each day one way only. Taxi's range in price trying to get back from Kuta too and beware the drivers who try to charge you double by telling you it's very far! 60,000 IDR is a fair price each way.

The hotel predominantly caters for German tourists and beware the 1980's myth of towels on sun loungers!! By 8.30am there was not one lounger available by the pool and just a sea of towels. Made more annoying in that some days no one but the towels used them. There isn't enough loungers for the amount of guests and there is nothing else to do in the area but surf and lie round the pool. Pretty annoying when for Bali prices you are paying quite a lot per night for the room and all the amenities.

If you love to surf then head out here but only for a few days at a time, any longer and you go stir crazy, it's not a good enough hotel to do nothing for a week or more. The sea is pretty polluted and not too inviting unless you are a surfer. There are better surf spots around Uluwatu and surrounding areas and much cleaner water too.

A real shame as we were so looking forward to ten days in an idyllic location but unfortunately it didn't match up to it's website! Next time I'll face the crowds in the surf at Legian and be closer heart of Bali.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chelle1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

I found Legong Keraton Beach Hotel through Trip Advisor and read all the reviews not quite knowing what to expect - they were so varied!

We chose to stay here primarily because of the surf (husband) and location being isolated but still close enough to the shopping action (me!) so we were both completely satisfied. On most days the surf pumped both morning and evening and with a daily shuttle bus to Seminyak/Legian I was in heaven. We both love being away from the hustle and bustle but if you require “conveniences” then this resort might not be for you. There isn't anything else within walking distance - there is another restaurant directly behind the Resort (though due to an unfortunate case of Bali Belly picked up at Aromas in Kuta we couldn't dine there) but this restaurant and menu looked very nice. There is also a little 'shop' 100m up the road that you can get your water, Bintangs and the like and a short taxi ride away near the Changuu Country Club there is a massive “deli”. The Resort had a lovely day spa, the food and service were exceptional and the pool area was small and inviting. Sitting in a sun lounge watching the surfers sipping a cocktail was just the ticket! We stayed in Villa # 1, which is the best room at the resort and can highly recommend it as it is an individual bungalow with no common walls and a single storey dwelling.

We have been to Bali 6 times and have never experienced "Bali Belly". As mentioned above my husband caught this at Aromas in Kuta and we needed to call a doctor as he was violently ill. We unfortunately didn't travel with any medication - a massive warning to everyone, take precautions and go to your Chemist before you depart - but we luckily we did have Travel Insurance! The hotel staff were wonderful, they arranged for a doctor to attend (at 10pm) and then during the recovery phase the kitchen gave us food that helped nourish. Their Margherita pizza was one of the best I have eaten!

I can't stress enough about the isolation - its a standard resort with just one pool, one restaurant, no gym - we spoke to several people staying there that found it challenging and wanted to leave. So if surf, peace and quiet isn't your thing then I wouldn't recommend staying here – but we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thumper010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

We found the hotel to be great but the surf waas very very crowded all day and the water not so clean.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gday66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We spent our final week in Bali at Legong Keraton and didn't want to come home!

The hotel is right on the beach which has very consistent surf. For those surfers out there - two peaks right outside the hotel, Didn't drop below headhight all week!

The rooms were very comfortable and had nice bathrooms and decent aircon. The restaurant did a range of food for all tastes and was very reasonable.

Fairly out of the way so not much nearby, not bad if you don't want to leave the hotel/pool/beach.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We had not booked our last nights accommodation and asked our taxi driver to take us to a hotel on the beach at Canggu that was near the surf spots. He could not have got us any closer! The hotel was right on the beach with the surf break straight in front. My partner was in heaven, spending all day surfing while the girls laid on the sun beds and watched. The pool was great and the rooms very clean. We got the beach front villas which were excellent. As we were only staying one night it did not matter that there were no restaurants nearby. We were happy with all meals that we got. However, I could not stay any more than a couple of nights in this location. The staff were a bit slow but very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jilly-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 28 January 2010

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
1.4 km away
Aston Canggu Beach Resort
1.8 km away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
1.7 km away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
2.3 km away
Sense Canggu Beach Hotel
Sense Canggu Beach Hotel
#23 of 41 in Canggu
11 reviews
2.7 km away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legong Keraton Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legong Keraton Beach Hotel

Address: Jl. Pantai Berawa, Canggu 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#17 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range: $64 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legong Keraton Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legong Keraton Beach Hotel offers beach front tranquility with a Balinese ambiance. It boasts an outdoor pool, spa and a beachfront restaurant and bar.FACILITIES: With a children’s pool and babysitting facilities young visitors are well catered for. For adults a large pool and massage service provide an opportunity to relax after trawling the streets of north Kuta. An on call Doctor and laundry are amongst the services offered. Traditional Balinese massages and herbal treatments are on offer at Pasir the Spa. The hotel also offers bike rental, tour bookings and childcare services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legong Keraton Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legong Keraton Beach Canggu
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing