We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, great location but slightly overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Canggu
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We stayed here for 6 days and chose the hotel based on it's proximity to surf. The hotel is beautiful, immaculately kept and you couldn't get a better location. It being our honeymoon we splurged and got a beachfront cottage. However we wish we hadn't as they are not actually beachfront and their regular rooms are just as nice and $50 (US) cheaper a night. Prices have definitely risen in Bali since the last time we were there (2.5 years ago) so you don't get as much for your money as you used to. Also there's not a lot within walking distance but you can rent scooters from the hotel for $5/day. Some recommendations:
1. Food at the hotel is really overpriced but the dining location is beautiful
2. Stock up on beer and water from one of the small markets down the street.
3. If you can find the Embun Life Cafe (on the windy/bumpy road to Seminyak) eat there! the food is incredible, the best we had in Bali. We ate there 2 days in a row after we tried it. It's a very dramatic all bamboo open air building with all organic (though everything in Bali is organic) and delicious food.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber92056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2010

I stayed for 5 days in end of Sep to early Oct.
We planned our wedding for the 1st of October, everything went perfectly for the 20 guests that stayed at the Hotel. Julliette from Legong who organised the wedding was a great help and planned everything to perfection...couldn't have asked for a better day.

All resort staff were very friendly, Pool was great, food was excellent..

Canggu is a beautiful area...Like what Legian used to be!
I'd stay there again anytime!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

First time I have travelled to Bali on my own for over 30 years and this hotel was very close to those good old days. Wasn't sure how it would be however had the best conversations, met the nicest people and had the best rest and relaxation. The perfect location for a quiet yet very friendly stay. You can mingle with all the other guests if you want or simply spend the time chilling out on your own. The rooms are spacious and clean, air conditioners work well and the beds are comfy. There are some hawkers out front however they do not bother you. You go to them if you want something and they are so polite and helpful. The surroundings are gorgeous and so well kept. Staff are very friendly, breakfasts are fine, pool is small but adequate and the surf is usually pretty good most of the day. Long walks along the beach, north and south and plenty of warungs to eat and oh so cheap. Great Indonesian food. I highly recommend this hotel and am booking to go back in 6 months for another 2 weeks, maybe longer. Not a hotel for families, fantastic for couples and weddings and a complete chillout for anyone, even people on their own.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank balipassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Our experience at this hotel was not good - I do not believe the hotel is value for money.
Whilst there is nothing wrong with the hotel per se, it is just not worth the money being charged. The rooms themselves were no better appointed or cleanier than a homestay that we later had for a fifth of the price. Whilst the hotel is right on the beach, for the money charged they offer nothing that makes it worth anywhere near the cost.

Not a happy experience. But you get that sometimes when you travel!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theflemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

Legong Keraton is in Canggu, which is along Bali’s west coast up north from the main tourist centers of Kuta, Seminyak & Laguan. Canggu is a quiet village & this resort is actually the last resort on that stretch of road.

But the drive & the stay is well worth it – the resort is located right on the sea & is very spacious. The resort also has its private, stretch of beach right outside – but the beach is a little pebbly. However, it is ideal for wakeboarding & we saw a lot of people in the sea there.

The rooms have all the modern comforts, but are furnished in the old Balinese style giving the resort a very pleasant charm. The rooms are very clean, spacious & each room has its own little sitting verandah with lounge chairs outside.

Breakfast is included in the room price and is quite sumptuous. You get the standard continental spread, along with noodles, sandwiches & soups.

The staff is also very courteous & willing to help. The resort also has options to join various Bali island tours, diving/snorkeling tours, rent cars & a business center.

For someone who wants to truly enjoy Bali without the usual touristy hustle-bustle, Legong Keraton is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTravelingHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

We found this hotel last minute and we were very positively satisfied. The hotel is located outside of kuta's exciting and busy area which is the perfect place to relax. We enjoyed the premises very much; the rooms were large and comfortable with their own balcony. The restaurant is right on the beach and the menu remains very affordable. We had lunch and dinner there for nearly 4 days and we did not get board with the selection. Staff is also nice, smiling and helpful. Communication is sometimes an issue as the English level is not always good (but we are use to it as we live in Vietnam). Fortunately they have a good supervision and their genuineness and friendliness make you forget about it.
I would expect a better service in terms of concierge activities like tours and visits. We have tried to rent a bike there and we had to wait 2 hours instead of the 40 minutes as per the receptionist. Transport from the hotel is also very expensive; taxi would cost you half price in general.
The beach is nice but swimming is not always easy as big waves clash onto hidden volcanic underwater rocks.
I won't forget this place as I have proposed my Girlfriend there on the beach... We will certainly be back their in a couple of years.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurentNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We spent 5 nights here in a deluxe room. The room itself was spacious and clean with a good size bathroom. The bedside lightening was rather dim for reading at night otherwise we were happy with the accommodation. Our balcony looked out onto the garden area making it a nice place to sit in the evening and listen to the waves crashing on the beach. Was quite suprised with the qualilty and freshness of the meals in the restaurant and also the prices which were on par with eating out in Legian.
I remember reading in a previous review that the hotel was looking a bit tired. It appears that this is being recetified as there was painting in progress while we were there to freshen up the hotel. As previous reviews have said this is definitely not a place to go for nightlife or partying on, you are better off in Legian or Kuta. Noticed surfers made it their base for surfing up the coast. There a tidal creeks either side of the hotel so if you want to venture up or down the beach need to do it at low tide. There is a restaurant/ bar just outside the hotel, can't comment on the food as we did not eat there but did have a couple of drinks there. Reminded me of Bali 20 years ago. We bought water and cool drinks about 200mts up the road at a small stall which catered for the locals

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomad46wherever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canggu hotels
1.4 km away
Aston Canggu Beach Resort
1.8 km away
FRii Bali Echo Beach, Hotel
1.7 km away
The Kirana Hotel Resto and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
THE HAVEN SUITES Bali Berawa
0.4 km away
Koa d'Surfer Hotel
Koa d'Surfer Hotel
#12 of 41 in Canggu
243 reviews
2.7 km away
Ngeluwungan Boutique Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legong Keraton Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legong Keraton Beach Hotel

Address: Pantai Berawa Street, Canggu, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > North Kuta > Canggu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Canggu
#14 Spa Hotel in Canggu
Price Range: $63 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Legong Keraton Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legong Keraton Beach Hotel offers beach front tranquility with a Balinese ambiance. It boasts an outdoor pool, spa and a beachfront restaurant and bar.FACILITIES: With a children’s pool and babysitting facilities young visitors are well catered for. For adults a large pool and massage service provide an opportunity to relax after trawling the streets of north Kuta. An on call Doctor and laundry are amongst the services offered. Traditional Balinese massages and herbal treatments are on offer at Pasir the Spa. The hotel also offers bike rental, tour bookings and childcare services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Legong Keraton Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legong Keraton Beach Canggu
Legong Keraton Beach Hotel Bali/Canggu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing