We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didn't know i was staying here but did and loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sapa Queen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sapa Queen Hotel
Ranked #46 of 66 Hotels in Sapa
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“didn't know i was staying here but did and loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

should have been staying at other hotel but they were full for the first night of my 7 night stay so i booked into Queen and was glad i did.Staff very helpful and friendly rooms very good value for $15.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingchefEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    26
    16
    11
    11
See reviews for
1
24
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel as it was recommended in the lonely planet. We were disappointed that at $18 a night the rooms were grubby, the bathroom dirty and there is no daily maid service, which all other hotels in Vietnam at the price provide. The service was ok if a little disinterested. The saving grace is the location, right in the centre although be prepared for buildings works to start next door at 7am with a jack hammer! If I came back to sapa I would give a different hotel a go.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nbutterworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sapa hotels

slovenia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We booked the hotel (upon friends' recommendation) 1 night before arrival. We asked for a transport to/from the train station (40.000 dong per person/1 way) - everything went smoothly. The room was in the fifth floor (no elevator) but worth the climb as the views were stunning. Bed linen were clean and so was the room (don't look under the bed or in the corners:).

It was a pleasant stay but the fried eggs I ordered for breakfast were so small it wouldn't be enough even for a kid!

All in all we enjoyed our stay in this hotel and was totally worth the money (10 $ per room per night).

Room Tip: Rooms in 5th floor have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SapaQueenHotel, Manager at Sapa Queen Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2011
Dear Our Value Customers,

We would like to announce that since early of this year 2011 we had bought this hotel that mean the onwership has changed.

By this way we had a change to do alot of renovation at the hotel and train the staff as well to bring the better and better services to our customers.

Any contribution here is very much appriciated

Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

Unfortunately we have to agree with a previous reviews of this hotel and we have to suscribe that you can not trust the staff of this place. We had a reservation which included a pick up in the train station of lao cai. They never showed up although we were waiting for half an hour (not the most pleasant thing to do after 9 hours in the train). We obviously did not go to this hotel when we got to Sapa.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepitopulpito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Da Lat, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

We arrived in Sapa in the early morning of the weekend. Hotels are almost full booked and Queen was the great choice of us at that time. Surprised to find such a big hotel at such a central location and with such reasonable rates once we enter. Staffs helped us book the tour to the minority village (four-star tour) and to Bac Ha (this one isn't that good, two stars or less). We got the traffic jam back to Sapa and the location of the hotel really helped as we can walk quite easily.

Ah the room goes with bathtub but think of it as for decoration only, it's such the worst bathtub ever.

The only drawback is that the water supply in the morning, we got up quite early and no water. Have to wait for the staffs manage it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chtvnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

We arrived in Sapa early in the morning and were pleased when the staff at Queen Hotel showed us a room and we said we'd book in for two nights. We left our bags in the room and were told to come back in 20 minutes after it had been cleaned. No problem.

30 minutes later we returned to see our bags in the reception area. We were told we would be in a different room with a double bed and that would be ready in 20 minutes. We had paid for the original room and weren't shown the new room, but we were tired so went along with it.

45 minutes later we returned and were told our new room still wasn't ready. We waited and waited until another half hour had past and we were told our second room wasn't available and we could have another with bunk beds, but at the same price as the original. After another 15 minutes of heated discussions with the hotel staff, which included them asking other guests to "swap" or "share" we left with our bags and money.

We ended up just down the road at Pinocchio Hotel with a better room, great view, cheaper rate and no hassle.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

My name is Matt Winter and I recently booked a trip through Queen Hotel (April 17th) to climb Mount Fansipan for 1 night, 2 days. The climb itself was truly enjoyable in a very challenging sort of way and we were very happy with everything from our guide (Kim) to our porters to the food. The most memorable part of our trip however came after we had gotten back down to the bottom and started for our van ride back, only to have the road blasted out in front of us, blocking the roadway back into Sapa. Normally this wouldn't be a problem for us, but we had a train to catch back to Hanoi that evening and had to catch the last shuttle back to Lao Chai. Unfortunately ther road did not get cleared quickly enough and we ended up missing our last shuttle. It was a very welcoming surprise how much the staff went out of the way to make sure we were properly taken care of despite such a set back and we wanted to make sure that everyone there knows that we are truly appreciative for all of the extra help you gave us. The manager of the hotel even fronted some extra money to a private taxi in order for us to get to our train on time (which another staff member had managed to change to a different time for us so we could make it). Once again, many thanks to everyone who helped make our already great experience turn into an even better memory especially despite the potential for some set backs. You all do a great job!

Sincerely,

Matt Winter,
Canada

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tebuidinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapa hotels
1.0 km away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#39 of 66 in Sapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.9 km away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#22 of 66 in Sapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.9 km away
Sapa Queen Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#43 of 66 in Sapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.4 km away
Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel
Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel
#23 of 66 in Sapa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.2 km away
No photo provided
Le Gecko Hotel
#36 of 66 in Sapa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapa Queen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Queen Hotel

Property: Sapa Queen Hotel
Address: 09, Muong Hoa Street, Sapa 33000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 66 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapa Queen Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Sapa Queen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing