We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful & friendly”
Review of Sapa Auberge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sapa Auberge Hotel
Ranked #48 of 73 Hotels in Sapa
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I just stayed at Auberge Dang Trung last week and I would like to say thanks to the Director Mr. Manh through this review. And compare to several back-package tours I have taken in other Asian countries & Viet Nam, Auberge Dang Trung is the really good place I would like to recommend to you guy. It's a nice place for you getting the morning sunlight on the balcony, or enjoy the fresh air of highland after a long trekking day at the courtyard. Mr Manh, his beautiful wife (sorry that I didn't ask her name) & staffs were ready to give us some good advices & helpful information, make our trip more fun & interesting with his guides Cuong & Dzi. Sometimes, nice rooms & good bed are nothing if we can not get communication with these helpful people. Frankly, with Auberge Dang Trung, I'm confident to return Sapa & trek Fansipan mountain even if I will go there as alone girl.

A little tip for you, just keep talking to Mr Manh, you could get Tao Meo wine with competitive price as I did!!! :)

Room Tip: Let choose some rooms at the 03rd floor
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
There are newer reviews for Sapa Auberge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Auberge was an amazing place! Our room was clean and inviting and the people were very friendly and warm. The owner was a hard working man with a great energy about him. He helped us plan our hiking trip to Fansipan with no problems at all. The food was prepared by his lovely wife and was delicious. Our view of the mountains was breath taking and I recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FootprintsOfMine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

It is a small private hotel. The hosting family as well as all the other staff was very friendly and did everything to make the stay as comfortable as possible.
The tours to the villages of the local minorities were very well organized and it was a pleasure to walk even long distances with our guide Di.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UGustaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We had a great stay last time so we chose Auberge again this time. The new director/manager was more keen to make money out of you than making your stay comfortable. We had requested for rooms with hot water and heating facilities because we visited in early Feb 2012 and it was winter. We were later informed we had to pay USD 5 per night for heating facilities! We had total of five rooms and stayed four nights.
The hotel was going to charge us USD 50 for transfer from Lao Cai to Sapa for a minivan. In the email correspondences, the services were complimentary. They try to sell you trekking packages everyday. This hotel was totally unprofessional and we would not recommend anyone to stay Auberge. The hotel is now run by another management, no longer by the owner. The staff do not understands English but just nod their heads.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Our stay at the Auberge was booked through our Hanoi travel agent Mr. Anh (Awesome Travel) We booked three days in Sapa with one night in the Auberge and one night at a homestay in Sapa. The Auberge is a little older, but the service and food they provided was excellent. They employ local Hmong women as guides for their treks which gives you a great experience. The homestay was phenomenal! We had a fantastic time bringing in the New Year with our host family. Mr. Manh, the director of the hotel even stopped by to make sure we were having a good time at the homestay.

When we didn't have our train tickets back to Hanoi, he came down in the van to Lao Cai with us to make sure we got them before our train left.

We had a great stay in Sapa and are very greatful to the Auberge and everyone who works for them. Considering the people we stayed on the train with on the way back had cockroaches at their hotel.. .. I feel pretty lucky to have had the great experience we did.

Room Tip: Rooms on the thurd floor are nice - a little less foot traffic
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saskgal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Where do I start, we were put in this hotel through our tour booking and wasn't happy from our arrival. Don't get me wrong all the staff except the manager were exceptional. We found him rude and unhelpful in the extreme, normally I try to find good points in people but he was unprofessional in the extreme. Our showers were cold and his reply was he hadn't turned the hot water on. When we were ordering breakfast ,halfway through the order he ran off because somebody walked in the door & I am sure he thought there was a dollar in it. The rooms were like ice blocks with half full amenities and towels the size of face washers. The upside to the place was the meals and the other staff members who were professional and caring. A change of management and a makeover would do this dump a service it is in desperate need of. In other words STEER CLEAR.

Room Tip: Try to choose another place in SaPa and you will enjoy your trip more
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We had two days in the hotel Auberge Dang Trung. Hotel in the center of Sapa, not far from the church.
Rooms are clean, with wood floors and a small fireplace. The owner and staffs are very friendly.
But the TV is slightly smaller and the hair dryer is not very good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Đỗ Hữu Đ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapa hotels
0.1 km away
Elysian Sapa Hotel
Elysian Sapa Hotel
#25 of 73 in Sapa
287 reviews
0.2 km away
Sapa Panorama Hotel
Sapa Panorama Hotel
#27 of 73 in Sapa
547 reviews
0.1 km away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#44 of 73 in Sapa
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel
Hoang Ha Sapa Hotel
#29 of 73 in Sapa
102 reviews
0.2 km away
Casablanca Hotel
Casablanca Hotel
#57 of 73 in Sapa
210 reviews
0.5 km away
Sapa View Hotel
Sapa View Hotel
#58 of 73 in Sapa
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapa Auberge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapa Auberge Hotel

Address: 031, Cau May Street, Sapa, Vietnam (Formerly Auberge Dang Trung Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 73 Hotels in Sapa
Price Range: $13 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapa Auberge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sapa Auberge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing