We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
worth visiting but a little bit difficult to reach

May it is not the best season, and the road is rugged in some segments and lots of heavy trucks... read more

Reviewed October 4, 2018
FarAway821590
via mobile
Lot of history in the middle of the mountains.

This site is really worth visiting. The drive up there is off the beaten track style. If you drive... read more

Reviewed May 8, 2018
Ativoo
,
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
via mobile
Read all 100 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Fujairah
from US$275.00
More Info
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
23
41
13
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
41
13
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surrounding mountains cooler months sheikh wadi tower abdullah sedan gravel insight watchman hail uae guard stories culture rocks
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 80 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

May it is not the best season, and the road is rugged in some segments and lots of heavy trucks because of stone excavation. And be aware that they have a midday off during 13:30-16:30. But the guard/guide there is very kind, when I woke him up, he opened the door for me and guided me an entire tour, even took a lot of beautiful photos for me and my daughter. There is no entre fee but some tips to the guide will be welcome

Thank FarAway821590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2018 via mobile

This site is really worth visiting. The drive up there is off the beaten track style. If you drive a sedan then on 3 points you have to be careful. The road is washed away and gravel and rocks are put back in place. We arrived and nobody was there except for the guard/guide. He welcomed us and showed us around. This fort belonged to the former sheikh of Fujairah. There is so much history here, I really loved the place. Climb in one of the towers to the top and you have a great view of the area. I did love the place where they made the date juice. The guide is a very sweet man and speaks very good English. There is no entrance fee here but if you want to leave a tip it’s most wecome.

Thank Ativoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

Visited during April and saw the Wadis en route (which were dry due to no rainfall). The fort itself is in very good condition and you are allowed to enter inside at some points of the day. I think 11am-1pm but we only walked round. Would recommend wearing trainers as the ground is quite uneven. Watch out for goats and donkeys running across the road!

Thank Boston1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

Feels thousands miles away from Dubai.. quiet and peaceful. Guide showed us around. Climbing up inside tower is fun but for fit people. Very interesting to see the historical side of UAE

Thank sylvieb205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018

Al Hayl castle is in the emirates of Fujairah, Those who like archaeological site they can enjoy the castle, the fort, the old mosque and some archaeological sites. and also the surrounding mountains, the valley with dates trees, The Village of Al Hail is located southwest of the city of Fujairah, about 13 kilometers away and according to the stories of elderly people from residents of the area the Fort was in the reign of Sheikh Hamad bin Abdullah Al Sharqi and on the basis of the results of chemical analysis of carbon-14, the fortress was built in 1930.

Thank james470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

The steps have no railing thats the only bad point but once you get to the top the views are amazing!

Thank Roshni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2018 via mobile

Al hayl castle..well maintained...road to alhayl is super..there s a canal...a dam on the way..we can stop at alhail and can to around mountains..on the way lot f donkeys r there..super

1  Thank Fenaz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2017 via mobile

Google map guide us towards the right direction but had second thoughts when we got into the rough road, thinking that it’s the wrong way and the car may not be able to pass.. We went as soon as one car went to the same direction.. It’s basically in a mountain.. The castle is slightly renovated.. It’s rich in history, there is also a guide there who can tell you all about it and tour you around the castle.. The view on top is amazing, it’s gloomy though when we visited.. There is no admission fee as well.

1  Thank ardeeyambao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 4, 2017 via mobile

I've been to Al Hayl Castle several times already, as I consider this the only highlight in Fujairah worth showing to visitors.

The way to get there is rather hard to find, and the road can be hard to take, especially with a regular rental car. But always keep going after you've passed the dam, I think it's worth it. You'll be rewarded with the castle all for yourself, embedded into a nice mountain area that is super calming and gets magical when the Muezzin calls for prayer. The tour guides will open the castle for you and take you around. They are not well trained, but friendly and helpful. Try to make it on the towers, the views are definitely worth the climb. Oh, and ask the tour guides for leaflets. Yes, such thing exists, and it actually gives you a few information about the castle.
Would be great if fujairah tourism authority would spend at least a bit of effort to make this place more accessible and get the tour guides trained.
I'd still recommend visiting the place!

1  Thank Sven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2017

The road to Al Hayl Castle is very straightforward using Google Maps. You will go through a narrow road on the way to the top in between houses of locals living in the area. It might look a bit dodgy at first, but just keep going. Make sure to drive slow as the road gets quite narrow.

We went during the peak of summer in the afternoon so we had the whole place to ourselves. It is obviously best to visit during the cooler months (Nov-March) in the UAE.

This place is very well maintained. There is a friendly watchman once you reach your destination. There are no entrance fee, but we gave him a good tip since he showed us around and narrated the whole history of the place. He even let us climb the tower where we got to take great pictures of the views.

I definitely enjoy this place as it was a great escape from the usual hustle and bustle of Dubai.

2  Thank 03IMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews