We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
63
77
34
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
77
34
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camper van clean facilities great location the kitchen powered site two nights artificial grass mini golf orewa beach nice site tent sites biggest issue local shops pleasant spot big site permanent sites main town
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 187 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

We took our group of 12 or so kids here and they loved it. We stayed in the cabins and it kept them nice and warm despite the rain on Friday night. The facilities are great and clean. People staying in tents might find it an issue because the ground isn't flat but other than that great place.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Muka007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

We stayed five nights here on a powered site and really enjoyed ourselves, especially when the beach is pretty much at your doorstep and great for morning rambles.

The hot showers are unmetered and just what you need on a cold winter's day. The kitchen is a little small, but maybe it's because it looks as though many guests are long-term residents who would cook in their own camper.

The biggest issue for me is the Wifi. They give complimentary 250MB per day for up to two devices, but on two nights, I was booted out even though I had barely started surfing. We checked in with Reception but they said there's nothing they could do about it.

Other than that, it's a great location. Close to restaurants and supermarkets with a larger shopping area just 10min away at Silverdale.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank maevdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile

A beach i will recommend to all. You can go any time of the year. Went with family and enjoyed it. Good for swimming and surfing. Enough place for parking as well as for camper van... will recommend everyone for one visit.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank 364auna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2017

We stayed here on the night before the final Lions/All Blacks Test in Auckland and the camp ground was full. Unfortunately our powered pitch was not level or concrete based. This camp ground has a lot of caravans that are pitched here permanently and can be spotted by the potted plants growing around their plots. On the plus side, the showers were fantastic. It was also only a short walk into town to the bars and restaurants. We didn't use the other facilities at the camp ground. We wanted somewhere to stay near Auckland and this ticked the box but probably not one of the best camp ground we stayed at during our trip and certainly not the best Top 10, most of which previously had outclassed the opposition.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzanneK1042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile

Yes it is by the sea, and wonderfully so; you can't see the main town from the beach so it feels quite wild. It's lovely nested in your caravan, mid NZ winter just listening to the waves crashing on the beach.

Oh the site is fine. Clean, plenty of hot water. All you need.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank R0062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews