We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Edgewater Motel

Edgewater Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edgewater Motel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one Saturday night mid September

The Motel grounds run down to the beachfront which is great

We had a two bedroom unit at the front of the complex which was a little dated but clean and comfortable

There are units at the “back” of the complex which face directly on to the ocean and a cottage style unit that is without a doubt the best spot

Faces directly on to the ocean and the lawn runs down to the sand - quite expensive but perfect for a group who can share the cost

Staff were friendly and welcoming

Motel is easy to find and close to the shops and restaurants

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank stegeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

For the price we paid for one night I was very happy. Unit was warm when we walked in heater had been put on for us. And we got to watch the rugby. Very roomy and altho some was a decor was a bit dated being so close to the beach and restaurants for dinner more then made up for it. Shower was great. And everything was comfortable and very tidy. Will definitely come stay here again soon.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank rachelwF2819SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Right on the beach the sea mist is a light tingling on your face and the smell of salt air gets the senses going. The waves crashing ashore is very relaxing to watch and listen to
but the calm is really in the stroll along the waters edge. Location is very desirable close to the main shopping centre however the rooms are a little flat but still all you require for a night or two. The owners are very helpful and staff chirpy all in all I enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Upstairs is quitter you don't hear the people walking around above your head and of course a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jenashstac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as a group in three different rooms. Whilst we are very happy we found somewhere at short notice, this is definitely a cheap and cheerful place to stay apart from the cheap.
The rooms are in dire need of maintenance. The furniture needs replacing. The curtains are almost past their best and certainly didn't stop the direct light coming in at night from the outside. The beds aren't that comfortable. In our room in particular there were ants all over one of the single beds. The base of the shower moves all the time. The locks on the doors didn't work - they weren't there....
In one of the rooms we as a family had, there were no doors...
The staff seemed very nice and happy to see you. They have a very friendly cat.
Having said that, the location to the beach is fabulous. Short drive or 5 min walk to shops and cafes.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alexander298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Tired run down and dilapidated motel that charges well over the odds for what you get. Don't be fooled by the beach front location which is more than offset by the rooms that haven't seen any TLC or even a lick of paint for quite some time.
To top it all the motel manager knocked on our door at 9.50am to remind us that check out is 10am! We left feeling like we were imposing ourselves rather than enjoying our hard earned money on a weekend retreat. Avoid.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Yes it really is on the water's edge, a fabulous location where you can watch the dawn rise over the ocean! Lovely beach for a swim or a sunbathe then slip back to clean up before a short stroll to the shopping centre to the many fine restaurants and cafes.
The manager was ever so helpful switching us to a beach front, one bedroom, upstairs unit. The bigger units do not have beach views but all can share the communal lawn which adjoins the beach. Our unit had everything we needed, but the downside was the tired décor. Pealing wallpaper is unappealing, but don't let a bit of a scruffy wall put you off as this property is a great venue for a short to medium stay. (7days). I'd give it 9 out of 10, and I'd stay again.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016 via mobile

Older style motel that is in desperate need of some serious TLC. Stairs and deck need painting as do the kitchen doors .
Our bedside lamp wasn't working and it's cord disappeared beneath the bed and was attached to goodness knows what. There were no power sockets on the bedroom walls. All the carpets were worn and had frayed edges and poor joins. All the wallpaper was marked in some manner or peeling. Fire alarm located right over the food preparation area so it went off when we cooked toast.
Curtains so thin they served no purpose.
And for this we paid $190 !
Never again.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orewa
0.1 km away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
176 reviews
20.6 km away
Warkworth Lodge
Warkworth Lodge
#1 of 2 in Warkworth
81 reviews
0.8 km away
Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Snells Beach Motel
Snells Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Snells Beach
153 reviews
1.4 km away
Orewa Beachcomber
Orewa Beachcomber
#1 of 8 in Orewa
143 reviews
8.7 km away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Motel

Address: 387 Hibiscus Coast Highway, Orewa, Auckland 0931, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Orewa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Orewa
Price Range: $143 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old BUT clean Motel direct access to beach, some units front right onto beach. Seven or eight minute walk down the beach to Orewa Restaurants and shops. Ideal for Families and or couples, with several different room formats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing