We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
16
31
11
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
31
11
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudio unitcomfortable bedcomfortable place to stayfriendly ownerscaroline baystayed herethe main roadtown centreroad noisefree wifidrivewayunitshostmotelheater
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 60 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2017 via mobile

Huge apartment rented for the night here. Two bedrooms with a bedroom downstairs with two single beds, and single bed under the stairs, and bed upstairs in the lounge and a queen bed in the upstairs bedroom. Bathroom had a spa bath and separate shower. Full kitchen, and a large TV with Sky. Had a carport for the car as well. Parking was very tight, and the driveway rather steep. Place was rather dated, but afforded brilliant value for money. Friendly people and close to Timarus supermarkets and Caroline Bay

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JustPlaneMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2017 via mobile

The staff was not very welcoming contrary to what we experienced so far in NZ. No DVD player (though mentionned in the booking).
The place is clean but a bit noisy (close to the road).

5 mn drive to city center, very convenient.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Thomasrc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2017

We had a very pleasant stay here. Unit was very clean and spacious. It is an older style, but had been painted and modernised. Friendly and helpful staff. Even though on the main road was very quiet. The only issue for some people could be the steep drive down to the units which also makes parking interesting. We would definitely stay here again as very pleasant and affordable.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2017

A motel in a great location, clean and tidy. Outstanding was the service received, requested and was provided extra chairs & cultery for visiting family meal. Best of all was the surprise chives & garlic with a note left thoughtfully on the kitchen bench when we went to the local supermarket! A rather nice touch which was greatly appreciated. Would definitely stay there again. Easy walk to Caroline bay and the shops.

Room Tip: Rooms at the lower levels are quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2017

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. We were picked up from the bus stop and because our room was not quite ready (we arrived before lunch time) we were provided with refreshments while we waited. The room was nicely furnished and as we required assistance with some things we just asked and they provided. Nothing was too much trouble and the owners were great personalities with a sense of humour to match our own. On our last day (5th day) the weather was not suitable for us to go and do anything (due to disabilities) so they graciously allowed us to stay in the room longer saying they would leave our room till last, then transported us to the bus stop when it was time to go. The motel was conveniently located for our purposes and with the only drawback for us being the steepish incline of the driveway, but we managed by walking slowly and carefully. We would recommend this motel to everyone and next time we are going to Timaru they would be the first place we would consider staying at. All the staff were friendly and lovely to talk to as well. Thanks for making our trip so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillianD240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews