We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks outdated but great stay!”
Review of Townhouse Motel

Townhouse Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Townhouse Motel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Reviewed 10 February 2017

The motel appertment (nmbr 8) was big. Good, soft bed. Kitchen is complete. Bathroom was good. Nice shower. Everything is clean.

TV with 50 channel satelite TV.

WIFI with excess code and 500Mb per day.

Very friendly and helpfull owners.

Room Tip: Just do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank erikdefotograaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

Huge apartment rented for the night here. Two bedrooms with a bedroom downstairs with two single beds, and single bed under the stairs, and bed upstairs in the lounge and a queen bed in the upstairs bedroom. Bathroom had a spa bath and separate shower. Full kitchen, and a large TV with Sky. Had a carport for the car as well. Parking was very tight, and the driveway rather steep. Place was rather dated, but afforded brilliant value for money. Friendly people and close to Timarus supermarkets and Caroline Bay

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JustPlaneMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

The staff was not very welcoming contrary to what we experienced so far in NZ. No DVD player (though mentionned in the booking).
The place is clean but a bit noisy (close to the road).

5 mn drive to city center, very convenient.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Thomasrc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We had a very pleasant stay here. Unit was very clean and spacious. It is an older style, but had been painted and modernised. Friendly and helpful staff. Even though on the main road was very quiet. The only issue for some people could be the steep drive down to the units which also makes parking interesting. We would definitely stay here again as very pleasant and affordable.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

A motel in a great location, clean and tidy. Outstanding was the service received, requested and was provided extra chairs & cultery for visiting family meal. Best of all was the surprise chives & garlic with a note left thoughtfully on the kitchen bench when we went to the local supermarket! A rather nice touch which was greatly appreciated. Would definitely stay there again. Easy walk to Caroline bay and the shops.

Room Tip: Rooms at the lower levels are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. We were picked up from the bus stop and because our room was not quite ready (we arrived before lunch time) we were provided with refreshments while we waited. The room was nicely furnished and as we required assistance with some things we just asked and they provided. Nothing was too much trouble and the owners were great personalities with a sense of humour to match our own. On our last day (5th day) the weather was not suitable for us to go and do anything (due to disabilities) so they graciously allowed us to stay in the room longer saying they would leave our room till last, then transported us to the bus stop when it was time to go. The motel was conveniently located for our purposes and with the only drawback for us being the steepish incline of the driveway, but we managed by walking slowly and carefully. We would recommend this motel to everyone and next time we are going to Timaru they would be the first place we would consider staying at. All the staff were friendly and lovely to talk to as well. Thanks for making our trip so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2016

We arrived a bit early but had no problem in getting settled in our lovely accommodation.The staff really helpful and friendly indeed,The unit was very large with a bedroom separate from the lounge,We were near the busy road but did not hear much noise from the traffic,The lady let my wife do a load of washing just cost $2 with the use of their own wash powder how good was that,We found it to be very clean and tidy,Would recommend any one to stay here. John and Rene,

Room Tip: All rooms are great but there is a steep hill if you had a unit further down,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 11Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
1.3 km away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#4 of 18 in Timaru
259 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
91 reviews
2.3 km away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#3 of 18 in Timaru
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Timaru
97 reviews
1.2 km away
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
Bay Viaduct Motor Lodge
#6 of 18 in Timaru
70 reviews
0.0 km away
Blue Dolphin Motel
Blue Dolphin Motel
#16 of 18 in Timaru
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Motel

Address: 29 - 31 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range: $101 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Townhouse Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhouse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing