We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Townhouse Motel

Townhouse Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Townhouse Motel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Reviewed 13 September 2017

To start with the good points, the room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Despite being quite close to a busy road, I had a quiet and undisturbed night's sleep. The negatives were mainly to do with attention to detail. My room was clean, but shabby and scruffy. Furnishings are cheap and cheerful, but reasonably functional. However, the spa bath didn't work and neither did the kettle. The TV remote volume button also didn't work, so I avoided watching TV because I didn't want to disturb next door. I must admit, I could have queried these items at the time, but I was tired and couldn't be bothered. I was also unimpressed by the unfriendly greeting on arrival.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not next to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faith1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 57 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

One of the best we have come across, owner friendly and down to earth, value for money, king size bed was so comfortable wanted to take it home with us, unit was clean and tidy, large room, shower was amazing and so was the spa, totally recommend this place,

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Very Very Dated, Broken Furniture, Cold and Damp. When searching online for motel this one was the cheapest for 2 bedroomed units, understandabley why, now we have visited, Wish we had spent the extra money and booked elsewhere. Online photos are definately misleading of what you may actually get when you visit. Wall heater was so noisy that you couldnt have it going at night. Will say the unit was clean and the staff helpfull, but thats the only happy thing to say. Has made me very wary of booking online, because what you see online is not always what you get.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freedreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H, Owner at Townhouse Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for letting us know in person something was broken if we dont know we can't fix it i the heater was noisy we could have been told that too and fixed it but as we dont know which unit you were in or exactly when you stayed we dont know any of the above we do appreciate when people actually tell us when something is wrong so i sorry you felt you couldn't come see us in person and say these things were wrong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

Motel is a little dated as per other reviews but it's comfortable enough, a reasonable price, and the owners are very friendly.If you're looking for somewhere cost effective to stay for a night or two then this is fine.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BSmiley0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

Stayed one night when we had a weekend in Timaru. Was going to book the motel we stayed at last time we were in Timaru, but the price had gone up too much and this one was a lot cheaper. We booked a studio unit, #7.
A bit dated, but perfectly adequate and filled all our needs. Comfortable bed, clean unit, free wi-fi. Very efficient heater in the living area, which we needed as it was a very cold night!
Driveway into the motel is very steep - Timaru is quite hilly in parts.
Conveniently located. Five minute walk to KFC, McDonalds, PaknSave supermarket. Dairy across the road.
We would use this motel again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank roaming_kiwi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

Just stopped here overnight when travelling from Christchurch to Dunedin. It was one of the least expensive motels on a 5 week tour of NZ and therefore excellent value. The unit was quite spacious and well-equipped, with a lovely big and clean bathroom. You can be sure of a warm welcome, with a friendly and very helpful host who goes out of his way to give advice, (such as not going through the restaurant at Moeraki or they'll charge you to access the beach to see the boulders!). Timaru was not that exciting but it's a good stop on the way down the coast.

Room Tip: We just had a studio which was fine for us. There are larger apartments available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lizhewlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Passing through Timaru on our way back from Queenstown. Very friendly reception staff. The lady with purple hair was hilarious. Great Wifi connection for catching up on work. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a comfortable place to stopover.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jackmelb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timaru hotels
1.3 km away
Grosvenor Hotel
Grosvenor Hotel
#5 of 18 in Timaru
275 reviews
2.3 km away
Aspen on King
Aspen on King
#2 of 18 in Timaru
180 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
Comfort Hotel Benvenue
#9 of 18 in Timaru
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Avenue Motor Lodge
Avenue Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Timaru
100 reviews
0.4 km away
Parklands Motor Lodge Timaru
0 km away
Blue Dolphin Motel
Blue Dolphin Motel
#14 of 18 in Timaru
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Motel

Address: 29 - 31 Evans Street, Timaru 7910, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range: $106 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Townhouse Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhouse Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing