We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical and charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Ranked #2 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Staying at the historical roadhouse any time of year is a treat. The food is wonderful; the baked goods are exceptional and the soups and breakfasts are tasty in the family style seating (eating in a common area on a long table with everyone). I enjoy a winter's night when it is sub zero outside and just kicking back with a book or a board game in front of the gas fire on the couches. The rooms are small but comfortable with several restrooms / showers down the hall. The cabins are spacious for more than two people. During the summer you have to make sure to get your reservation way ahead to get a place. The historic town is also fun to wander and the view of the Northern lights is superb at this location because the town has no street lights to obstruct your view.

Room Tip: Upstairs usually is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ra6907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2016

This delightful cabin, built by union carpenters from the regional training center, offers a lovely and quaint get-away. The central bed and lighting make it perfect for relaxing in the winter's cold. We are used to living in dry cabins and this suited us perfectly. The cabin was exceptionally clean and well lit. Hot showers in the Roadhouse provided that warmth needed after a winter's day hiking the trails around Talkeetna. And the Roadhouse breakfasts kept us content until the afternoon! Thank you Trish and the Roadhouse Staff.

Room Tip: For the Garden Cabin, bring your headlamp and house shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trisha_Costello, Owner at Talkeetna Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

Thanks so much for the great words about the Garden Cabin! We just finished stringing twinkly lights out to the outhouse and will be doing some other winterization projects tomorrow for a more cozy floor! Perfect timing as we just got over 4 inches of fresh snow. Look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

What a fantastic place to stop in for a meal or coffee.

I had the most delicious quiche I have ever had.

Wonderful welcoming space. You feel like you are walking into someone's homes.

The staff is very friendly.

We will be back tomorrow for breakfast.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Gillian729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

The weather was not ideal for our winter weekend visit but the Roadhouse provided a comfortable warm place to stay, a great main building to hide out in when it rained with a fire and puzzles and games, a fantastic restaurant, and extremely helpful staff that were willing to drive us or do anything for us when asked. We would stay again in a heartbeat and plan to be back in the Summer.

The Old School Apartment was a great choice for us as we loved the pink school house, it was great to have a well-stocked kitchen for snacks and drinks, it has its own bathroom, and the three beds made it easy for our smaller party or a family. It is about a block away from the main building which is a plus for privacy but still close enough for a quick trip any time of day. It is upstairs so if stairs are an issue then stay in a cabin or main house.

Lodging included tickets to the museum and the staff was so informative we just stayed and chatted for about an hour. Everything in town is within walking distance including the more adventurous activities such as zipline, flightseeing, ATV, boat trips, hiking, etc. but it is also a charming town for being lazy, shopping, and eating at the ridiculous number of good restaurants in a town this size.

These are not luxurious surroundings but they are extremely clean, comfortable, a bit quirky with great character and provides a great base for operations to explore the wilds and wonders of Alaska.

Room Tip: Loved the Historical Society/School House - large, comfortable, and the private bathroom was a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the old school house, museum. Cozy, clean, roomy and private. Easy walking distance to everything. An apartments above the museum well appointed without glamour or pretension. I hope to come back.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank ShiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

This is a true roadhouse in all meanings of the word. The hospitality is beyond compare; as an example of thoughtfulness, they even have hair dryers in one public bathroom that includes a shower. Guests can get coffee and tea at all hours, including when the roadhouse is closed (you get a key to the building). We stayed above the museum, in a one-bedroom unit that includes a lovely bathroom and views in all directions. The restaurant has a bakery with one of the best pies I've ever eaten (the food here was among the best we had on our trip), communal tables, and an overflow room with jigsaw puzzles and free wi-fi. Everyone we met was incredibly helpful and friendly. People from a big, chilly (and I mean that in human terms) city will be blown away—you'll feel like you just fell into paradise.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BerkeleyLIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We (me, my son and his girlfriend) stayed in a room above the Roadhouse restaurant with a shared bathroom. Having never been to Alaska before and only seeing Roadhouses in the movies, I was picturing pretty dark and probably dingy. The price was great so I was just hoping it was clean. We were only staying one night to go flight seeing so I figured we could tough it out. Boy I was wrong. This place is so quaint and clean The whole town was way cleaner than I thought it would be. I had been told Talkeetna was a "hippy" town by some people I knew that had visited. So I was expecting alot of tye dye lol. The room was clean as was the shared bathroom. The food for breakfast was delicious. I felt like it was a great deal for the price and was glad I took the risk of not knowing what I was getting into. Would hesitate to do it again. Was also able to do a much needed load of laundry that evening. Free coffee and tea for the guests

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank showmeadeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Talkeetna hotels
0.5 km away
Swiss-Alaska Inn Talkeetna
1.9 km away
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
#2 of 5 in Talkeetna
1,091 reviews
1.9 km away
Meandering Moose Lodging
Meandering Moose Lodging
#5 of 17 in Talkeetna
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 km away
Talkeetna Denali View Lodge & Cabins
8.4 km away
Denali Overlook Inn
Denali Overlook Inn
#1 of 17 in Talkeetna
279 reviews
0.8 km away
Chinook Wind Cabins
Chinook Wind Cabins
#7 of 17 in Talkeetna
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talkeetna Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Roadhouse

Address: 13550 E Main St, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Region: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range: $85 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Talkeetna Roadhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roadhouse, built around 1917, is one of the oldest establishments still in operation on Main Street in "Beautiful Downtown Talkeetna." Our kitchen is open to the public and we've become famous for big breakfasts, hearty soups, homebaked breads and genuine frontier hospitality. Our bakery produces all sorts of treats each day such as pies, a variety of cinnamon rolls, cookies, cakes, brownies, and savory pasties. The historic end-of-the-road town of Talkeetna is known today throughout the world as the base for international climbers making their way to climb Denali (Mt. McKinley), North America's tallest peak. Denali and the other peaks of the Alaska Range offer a magnificent backdrop for this picturesque town of around 800 people, located about two and a half hours north of Anchorage and halfway between Anchorage and Denali park entrance both by rail and road. The guest rooms range from private to hostel-style, rustic cabins to the school teacher's apartment located above the Talkeetna Historical Society Museum. Bathrooms are "down the hall" in typical Roadhouse fashion, and even though a bathroom has been added to Trapper John's Cabin, guests can still use its 5-Star outhouse! Breakfast is a separate charge but we provide our guests with coffee/cocoa/tea throughout their stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Talkeetna Roadhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Roadhouse Hotel Talkeetna
Roadhouse Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Roadhouse Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing