We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but worth every penny”
Review of Talkeetna Air Taxi

Talkeetna Air Taxi
Book In Advance
More Info
US$220.50*
and up
Denali National Park Flightseeing Tour from Talkeetna
Ranked #1 of 27 Tours in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: TAT is the #1 choice of Alaska visitors for glacier landings on Mt. McKinley in Denali National Park. See Denali up close and personal by air or view Mt. McKinley year-round on our live webcam! Trip prices range from $210 - $420 per person.The Beauty here is unbelievable.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth every penny”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We were in Talkeetna during a beautiful clear day and decided to take advantage of it by taking a flight to Denali. For us, it's a once in a lifetime opportunity so it was important to get it right. Everyone at Talkeetna Air Taxi took great care of us and most of all, made sure we were safe. We flew right to Denali (Mt McKinley) and landed on the glacier. It was incredible. The pilot did a great job of pointing out all the great point of interest. But again, more than anything, we felt safe.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,493
    48
    10
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect flying trip!”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We wanted to get out on the Iditarod Trail to visit a couple of musher friends in the race. TAT was very helpful in making it happen for us. Flexible scheduling--going to two checkpoints--, friendly people, wonderful and knowledgable pilot, Jonathan, made this a great trip. Highly recommend this flight service. I know I'll be flying with them again to land at Denali base camp.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank djqhusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“What a great experience.”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We had no clue, but the guy on the corner seemed nice enough. He didn't lie when he said that Talkeetna Air Taxi was the way to experience the mountain. He took us ap and showed us amazing views from every angle. The landing on the mountain was as calm as could be, His knowledge and demeanor was excellent. We had a great time and never felt rushed or crowded. When we saw what the other companies were doing, and how many people per plane, and length of stay on the mountain, we definitely made the right choice.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience with very flexible staff”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The plane ride itself was beyond belief. The scenery was spectacular. The pilot offered tidbits of information and was quite personable. He even let us sit in the copilot seat!
Upon our arrival, the staff informed us that the weather was too bad to fly. We could cancel, or wait until the next day. We waited, and were able to call first, to check on weather. The next day's weather was bad on the ground, but good up at Denali. The staff encouraged us to wait it out, until the fog lifted. They had a nice area with coffee and couches, a deck and restroom facilities. The wait was not too long, and off we went for the ride of our lives. Highly recommend!!!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Maripat V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TripMax55
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Truly An Exceptional AirTour”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Weather: Exceptional, Equipment: Magnificent, Ground-Staff: Above & Beyond, Pilot / Guide: Top-Tier Professional, Views: Breathtaking, Glacier Landing: A Majestic Sanctuary, the Wickersham Wall: A Deeply Astonishing Panorama. This was easily the high-point of our 13-day Cruisetour trip.

A Dream Come True / Once In A Lifetime Experience.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank TripMax55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Talkeetna Air Taxi also viewed

 

Been to Talkeetna Air Taxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing