We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place, great price through Costco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Meridien Bora Bora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Cathedral City
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, great price through Costco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Wow! We loved our stay here. We requested premium huts and got #234 & #236 (best location in my opinion). Private & best view of island. We loved the resort's: swim with sea turtles, kayaks, boat tour, and wind surfing board. The islands bike rentals and Mt Pahia climb with guide "Tama" (strenuous) were also terrific. Resort food is good, but expensive. If we'd known going to the famous "Bloody Mary's" restaurant in town was cheaper than eating at the resort, we would have gone there more. Everyone we met was very friendly (some, not all, service was slow).
Only 2 negatives: 1) steps off our huts down to the water were covered in barnacles. 2 of 6 persons got cuts from stepping on barnacle cuts that later became infected (cure required antibiotics). Be careful. Also, 2) mosquito bites. Insect repellent is needed. This is still an amazing place and we'd give a kidney to return (not literally - you get the idea).
PS-regarding the reviewer complaining of $80/person charge for airport transport. I checked our bill. Don't see that charge on ours. Unknown if their charge, or our 'no-charge', was mistake?

Room Tip: We had Rooms #234 & #236 (234 is best, 236 is second best)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stevemc5123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,569
    534
    195
    88
    41
See reviews for
193
1,878
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Nice place, boring town though. To the lady who said she paid nothing for the ride to the airport... They DO charge for it. As she said, you pay nothing at the boat but review your bill when you check out. 7000 xpf (@80 per US$) each way, so 14,000 Round trip to the airport and I guess you don't have other options to choose.

The hotel is great, we were also at the Premium Over the Water Bungalow but I think it was not necessary, we couldn't see or do anything that worth the price difference and the bungalows next to the lagoon looked great too, also It was a long walk back "home".

Try to book the Full day Picnic with the shark swimming, it was amazing and the guides were very funny and helpful.

The food inside and outside the hotel is very expensive but smile :) You are at Bora Bora.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gleafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

It was a dream to go to Bora Bora. We chose the Meridien because it has just been renovated and we weren't disappointed. The bungalows were simply beautiful and the view breathtaking. The low points were the service and the food. The staff, mostly locals, didn't seem to like their jobs and most of the time we felt like we were disturbing them. For example, you're at the bar, there's no other customers and the staff don't come to take your order... It happened many times. As for the food, lots of greassy stuff... It's also important to know that the internet connection is almost non existant... So don't bother paying for it and be prepared to do an Internet rehab :)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zabie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

The hotel is located on the most beautiful side of Bora Bora right in between the St. Regis & Intercontinental Thalasso. It has its own lagoon that you can snorkel around and marvel at the sea turtles, eels and the many beautiful fish swimming around. 2 swimming pools right on the beach. We stayed in a premium OTW bungalow and were blown away by its cleanliness and modern style!! It has a huge glass floor, a nice bed that turns into a canopy bed, a couch, wall mounted TV, his-hers sinks, wood shutter blinds that you can open up and admire the view of paradise as you soak in the tub. The french doors that open to the balcony can fold back and really open up the balcony from the room.
The staff was amazingly friendly, helpful and happy!!! Didn't meet one anyone rude. Room service was there in 15 minutes!!
This property is SO BEAUTIFUL!! If you want to save money on the food pre-purchase the breakfast plan when you book and don't eat dinner at the resort. Its not that the food is bad just EXPENSIVE!! You can book reservations at restaurants throughout Bora Bora through the hotel's activities desk and the restaurant will provide transportation.
I read someones review saying they got charged for $100 for a 10 minute boat ride to the airport and thats NOT TRUE!! We paid NOTHING to and from the airport which was 20 minutes away.
We stayed there in January and got lucky with only getting rain once!!
We stayed in a bungalow furthest out from the shore and loved the unobstructed view of Mt. Otemanu but i think any bungalow there is good!! Its just plain BEAUTIFUL!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DWFRN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

The hotel is amazing, it has one of the best spots in Bora Bora. Only a couple of things I did not like. Service and that they charge you almost $100 USD per person for a 10 minute boat ride to/from the airport. Also the food at the hotel is not good at all. Restaurants do not have good quality and they are pretty expensive. The hotel staff, want to keep up with le meridien standard but they are just so very french, and for that they are a little uneasy. Also they don't have enough staff, even for a 30 or 40% occupancy.

I would recommend dinning out at Maikai and Bloody Marys, much better food than at the hotel, and it is free to get there.

Room Tip: As far away from the dock, get a overwater luxury bungalow, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mmichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

For the price I expected more. The beach was beautiful and room was excellent, but I can find a great room in lots of places. There's also beautiful beaches that also have snorkeling and dont have ferry's and jet skis coming in and out.

My husband and I were told this property had snorkeling. Well . . . I'm not sure I'd call the turtle nursery real snorkeling. Same old fish, day in and day out. It's a snorkel zoo where the fish and turtles are all caged into a little area. It's ok, but I thought there'd be more natural coral and snorkeling opportunities in the "real" ocean. After our arrival we were told there wasn't any snorkeling close to the beach other than the fake snorkel set up.

The food was horrible. I'm not a picky eater, but this was pretty bad. Breakfast was usually ok, but dinner was usually disgusting. DO NOT GET THE MEAL PLAN. There were dinners where there would only be a few edible items out. Of course those items would run out immediately. That was usually followed by the constant surveying of the waiters whilst you waited for them to replenish that dish. Once it was replenished, hoards of guests would swarm around the tiny plate which would be empty within seconds. Kind of pathetic.

The staff also seemed very lazy. The staff in the dining room would oftentimes have no shoes on. Also, when you asked for advice or serivce the general attitude was one of disregard- like, they couldn't be bothered.

The hotel also offers some excursions. These were over priced and there weren't that many offered. Maybe 10. 1 snorkel, 1 shark snorkel, 2-3 "jungle" tours, and hiking. Other excursions available which were an extension for addtl $$ of other tours, ie you get lunch on a beach after the snorkel. All of these trips were well over $100 a person

Also-prepare to pay around $28 for a martini. Please.

Personally, I'm not a fan of Tahiti in general. I think the place is a tourist trap and I woudln't go back on my own volition. It's a poorer and dirtier version of Hawaii. The pearls though gorgeous, are grossly overpriced like everything else. I can find the same pearls at home for half the price. Do your homework.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank nicahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Having spent 7 days in an over water bungalow you see all the fishes the ocean has to show off. We had Rays and sharks and every type of tropical fish imaginable.
The rooms where spacious and well appointed service was good tbe staff are very helpful.
All the tours we had organized for us where professional, fun, informative and safe.
I would recommend this for a romantic escape my wife and I are in our forties and we meet some younger couples there so a very diverse place. Not really a kid friendly resort.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie-in-paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
6.1 km away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
5.2 km away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
5.7 km away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
7.9 km away
Bora Bora Pearl Beach Resort & Spa
0.9 km away
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Bora Bora

Property: Le Meridien Bora Bora
Address: Motu Tape | BP 190, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Bora Bora 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Meridien Bora Bora is a luxury resort set on an islet surrounded by the most beautiful lagoon in the world. Our resort offers guests a contemporary design blended with Polynesian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Le Meridien Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
Bora Le Meridien
Le Meridian Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing