We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,261)
Filter reviews
3,261 results
Traveller rating
2,182
671
239
109
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,182
671
239
109
60
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,305 - 1,310 of 3,261 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was our first time in French Polynesia. After asking advice from a fellow Tripadvisor member who has been to Bora Bora several times, we decided to go for Le Meridien rather than St Regis or the Four Seasons which was our initial intent.
We had a perfect accomodation in room 206 facing Mount Otemanu. In winter time it also catches a nice afternoon sun.
The rooms and the resort are perfect. Yes, there was one cockroach in our room. No fan of these creatures, I still accept that this is a tropical climate and might expect one. The matter was immediately taken care off and the following morning they inquired if everything was OK.
All personnel is very friendly and I loved the fact that they take their time - at the end, one is on vacation and doesn't want to be rushed to make a decision on food or rushed to finish meals or drinks.
The breakfasts are delicious and there is something for everyone. We ordered several times lunch which was good. The dinner a la carte and the buffet however were just OK. Given that there is huge variety in nationalities it can be difficult to cater to all of them. It takes an extremly skilled chef to create a perfect palate and alas, chefs are known to have big egos and don't like to be criticized on their foods which doesn't leave room for improvement.
The so and so dinners are the only reason why I didn't evaluate this property at a full 5 star rating.
A special thanks to Gaelle and Moana for being attentive during our stay.
When we decide to return, we definitely will stay in Le Meridien again.

Room tip: room 206 faces Mount Otemanu and catches afternoon sun in the winter month January
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank transatlantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We arrived to bora bora after 4 days of crazy rain in huahine and we were sooo worried it would be bad weather in bora bora also but just a 30 min flight makes a world of difference even in the water!
Flying into the island is the most amazing thing!! The water is 30 shades of turquoise! We took a short 15 min boat ride from the airport to the hotel is a awesome boat and then were sent right to check in where we were given a tour of the the resort and then taken to our room on a golf cart we had an DOWB which walking into for the first time they should record your expressions because its a whole new ball game. Beautiful rooms!!! The beds are sooo comfortable, bathtub with open air blinds with great views, walk in closet which was huge!!!!! The front door has panels on each side that can also open which wad just another neat feature! Decks were a decent size with comfortable loungers with pillow top for added comfort. Shower was below on the bottom deck which was really nice to rinse off after being in the ocean.
The food is not up to par what so ever!!! For as much as the cost of the food is the menu is very repetitive we use the al a carte menu the most and it was just blaahhh.....reading reviews before going we figured people were just picky but they need major help in the food department.
Even to the extent as ordering the filet on the menu they actually make you pay for it but get a sirlion cut which is mostly fat. We were sooootired of the menu being there for 8 dayswe went out 2 nigts just to get goood food! Bloody marys is AWESOME and alot of fun and cheaper then the hotel ( go figure). Foo foo drinks at the hotel are also expensive around 28 usd. Total inflatition but it comes with wher you are totally worth it but shocking! We also had problems with making reservatins EVERY night with not seeing us in the list or we were at a different time, very annoying when they were notpacked anyway so why make abig deal anyway? We also were to recieve a free romantic dinner which they called 30 mins before it was arranged for and expected ud to be thereand then after reviewing our bill onthe plane home seeing they charged us for the dinner! So check your bills before you pay because it seems like are prone to mistakes.
Overall itsanamazing place just needs a few tweaks for theamount of money there guests spend to stay there!
We used custom tahiti travel to book our honeymoon and we worked with Jackie and she was so helpful and so informativie! I would use them again in a second!!!!!

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guccigrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I enjoy tropical island getaways and we wanted our 40th wedding anniversary in January to be spent in style and that it was at Le Meridien Bora Bora. Unbelievable atmosphere in these forms of accommodation with overwater bungalows. We had a premium bungalow (319) at the end of the arm and rather than facing the mountain it faced the lagoon activities and at night was very pretty with lights over the lagoon beach. A fair way away so no privacy issues at all.I would say the best bungalow would be 323 overlooking the resort but at the very end of the arm of bungalows over deep water. The rooms are very modern and are very clean and very well organised with a large walk in robe to organise yourself in!!!! The viewing panel in the floor is an awesome concept and the over water bungalow is a must do!!!!We took a food package and I would recommend that as prices are fairly high but in saying that meals are very large and buffets are available every night along with a la carte. Our package covered all water, soft drinks, local beer and average wine pretty much unlimited so no stress with mounting bills. If you wanted one of the awesome cocktails it was on you to buy for around $20.00 The staff were just fabulous and very attentive to your needs. I would not have liked to have stayed at any form of hotel on the main island and there are a number of resorts of the big names a boat ride away from the island that are to die for. We took a visit over to St Regis one day and that place is simply amazing, more restaurants more lagoon an amazing pool with swim up bar and the rooms (bungalows) had pools attached!!! Obviously a bigger price tag but WOW. The turtle centre was an incredible place inside the meridien run by a passionate professional team and you could by booking swim with the turtles and have an educational tutorial about the green turtles- I would recommend this activity to all. The fish and ray feeding tour was incredible but not for me to venture into the water with sharks but my husband certainly did and it was a real high light for him.I sat on the boat under shade amazed at what I saw!!!That was a great half day tour. Everything in Bora Bora is expensive but when you look at your surrounds and the abundance of fish in the lagoon under your hut you realise that in life you get what you pay for!!! From Australia the flight is lengthy and a few connections to deal with so give yourself at least 7 days to relax and enjoy a dream holiday!!!! Our weather not the best but it was the wet season. In saying that it did not stop us doing anything we wanted to. We had 2 days of sun out of 6 and the others were rainy but the rain comes in bursts and clears away for periods at a time, temps so nice swimming in the rain was great!!!! I would recommend Bora Bora but go up market do not go on a budget!!!

Room tip: Go overwater bungalow for sure!!! Deep water best are 319 to 323 facing resort. 325 and 327 are good facing mountain. Low 300s are shallow under and more fish to view but we liked the deep as we could just swim off steps into the deep salty lagoon! The 200s are another arm that are closer to the pier, reception and restaurant but we enjoyed the walk back to the room after our breakfasts lunch and dinners!!!! Should I say we needed the walk back!!! Peaceful rooms plenty of privacy and we had no issues with noise at all.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

we came to this hotel in 2003 for our honeymoon and returned this january for our 10 year anniversary {and brought with some friends too!}.
the same, great hotel we fell in love with.
we stayed in a premium OWB with the most beautiful view of the Mt. O. it's paradise. The weather wasn't perfect while we were there, but we surely made the most of our trip. The one pool and beach restaurant was closed and we were unaware of that...but the other pool was beautiful.
We learned from other guests that they had taken a free boat transfer to the St.Regis {a sister hotel} for lunch one day. We then did that and it was a delight to leave the resort to check out the St.Regis and lunch was fabulous.
Breakfast was a dream to eat there every morning....everything from omelettes to espresso to fresh fruit and coco water. Anything you could wish for was there. a great start to the day.
The turtle feeding is such a bonus to have at the hotel. We also walked the reef behind the resort one afternoon and found the most amazing coral/shells. a must do!
We are excited to take our kids back next time....see you in a few years Bora Bora!

a few shout outs to Belinda who makes a mean drink with a huge smile and laugh, jay and the beach activities crew that always gave out snorkel gear with a smile and also a little live music! Gwendoline & Cathy & JeanMarie who make our morning breakfasts something to look forward too and Julie...sweet Julie who fed the turtles...we loved you! also the girls at the activity desk who ALWAYS were SO HELPFUL. We thank you!

Room tip: OWB room 337 had an amazing view of the mountain. Other bungalows were out further...but we loved that you could lay in bed and stare at the mountain from ours.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaSueT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Le Meridien Bora Bora in January 2013, in a PoolBeachBungalow on the inner lagoon. The bungalow has a large livingroom down the hall from the bedroom. The living room opens out to a private plunge pool that is just steps from the lagoon. All in all, it is as close a you can get to your own private island, since the only people nearby are those who are staying in the 10 or so other bungalows that sit on the large lagoon. It was incredibly quite and peaceful the whole time we were there. Bora Bora has a well-deserved reputation as a beautiful island, and it certainly is one of the most beautiful, tranquil places we have ever seen.

The staff at the Le Meridien may have been the best we ever met. After landing on Bora Bora, we were met by staff who took our luggage and loaded it on a boat for the 15 minute cruise to the hotel. When we reached the hotel, Ani took charge of not only checking us in, but also giving us a tour of the resort facilities. Ani was warm and so friendly we didn't want the overview to end. Ultimately, she took us to our bungalow and showed all around there, too. We have never had a better welcome to any resort or hotel!

We found out that Ani was not the only wonderful person there--- Ani's cousin Vairea ran the gift shop and turned out to be another pearl.

When we went to breakfast, we met Cathy and her brother working there. The day we left, they set a special table for us with flowers and a dual throne-style seat, making us feel like the King and Queen of Bora Bora!

I should also mention that check-out was another "special handling" experience. Poema arranged for our bags to be picked up at the bungalow and taken directly to the boat that returned us to the airport. She couldn't have been sweeter.

Our experience was one of a kind---a truly spectacular resort made into a real paradise by the warmest, loveliest people we ever hope to meet.

Room tip: The Pool Beach Bungalow is very private and quiet---ideal for letting your stress melt away. The location on the inner lagoon gives you direct access to calm, warm, crystal-clear water.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
cecile_lemarrec, Executive Secretary at Le Meridien Bora Bora, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear guests,

Firstly, allow me to thank you for reviewing our resort so nicely following your stay in Bora Bora. It was truly a pleasure to note how much you appreciated our services offered. Customer care is amongst our highest priorities and it is always gratifying to receive such praise. I may assure you that your comments have been brought to the attention of our entire team, who were indeed delighted to hear that their efforts of conveying the true essence of Polynesian friendliness did not go by unnoticed. We do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Cecilia Odengran
Executive Secretary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews