We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal and Charming in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
irvine, ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Personal and Charming in Paradise”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

This hotel is in a great location on the island, and the staff are so gracious there. We love staying up on the hill or down near the water. Either are a good value and so lovely. There isn't a lot to do there but just relax. The Snack has good lunches. The restaurant has a decent breakfast buffet. Go down the way to La Bounty for good dinners with live music by The Bounty Boys sometimes. Snorkel, kayak, ride a bike, go to church (to hear the most amazing a cappella music anywhere!), go out to a motu, and just relax in the sun. This charming hotel will be a wonderful spot to enjoy it all. It's truly paradise on Bora Bora!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    421
    204
    83
    41
See reviews for
126
735
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
239 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed at the Maitai in April 2006 for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. After a few days in Manihi and a few days in Vahine, we moved to the Maitai Polynesia on Bora Bora. The overwater bungalow as worth it, to us, although I cannot swim and did not swim underneath it. I thoroughly enjoyed the deck. The bed was very comfortable, so much so that I did not want to get out of it except to watch the gorgeous sunrises over the water.

We had an amazing time, relaxing and fun all mixed in one. After wedding planning and relaxing in Manihi and Vahine, we were ready for some adventure so we did a helmet dive as well as visited some nice restaurants on the island, Bloody Mary's and Cabanae Bambou.

This was the trip of a lifetime and we highly recommend this resort.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KatWomanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights in a garden view room.
We arrived at the airport, took the boat that goes to the main town and someone from the hotel was waiting there to pick us up.

Well situated in Bora Bora ( Matira Point), the Hotel Maitai is cheaper than most of the other hotels of its category. The Matira POint is where you have a nice beach with white sand.

The hotel's restaurant, overlooking the water, serves nice meals and the breakfasts (included in the price of the room) are really good. There's also a little supermarket 2 minutes up the road if you need it and other restaurant options close by.
The people at the hotel are really friendly and always happy to help.

We went on a Lagoon boat tour that we booked ourselves (Chez Nono) and we went kite surfing right by the Matira Point.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ER_BL_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

The Matira Point area is the best location for both beaches and choice of restaurants on Bora Bora. The Hotel Maitai is therefore ideally situated and provides excellent breakfasts and with a very pleasant restaurant overlooking the beach. We arrived at short notice for a week due to problems at the nearby Village Temanuata, where we had originally booked. The Maitai offered us a very competitive deal and kindly upgraded us to an ocean view room. it was a lovely room with excellent facilities and with wonderful views over the bay from our balcony. Although much of the hotel, apart from the restaurant and over-water bungalows is across the road from the beach, don`t be put off - there is not much traffic and being located slightly higher on the hillside provides a wonderful vista. We must however mention the staff all of whom were unfailingly charming and helpful, particularly Helenie and Brian on Reception, as well as the surprise bowl of fruit and half-bottle of champagne that arrived during the week. Definitely a lovely and good value place to stay on Bora Bora.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jmgn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

After three days at the Moorea Pearl, we moved to the Maitai Polynesia on Bora Bora and found this a gem on the beach! We stayed in overwater bungelows (#106 and #107) and found it clean as it could be, decorated with flowers and very comfortable. This is a small resort and it was easy for my handicapped friend to get from the bungelow to the dining room and breakfast room. It was very convenient to the beach. (Note that this hotel does NOT have a pool but we didn't miss it!)

We ate all our lunches and dinners at the resort, as well as breakfast. The staff was wonderful, friendly and experienced. Breakfast was the weakest link, with no omlette station and a weak selection of foods. The pineapple, one of the island's best products, was cut into circles with the core intact and was tough and small. The juice was a Tang like product which wasn't too good and the dining room was hot. There is a 7-8 ft. rock wall across the street from this rrestaurant which blocked the breezes but the fans were not always on and it was uncomfortable.

The lunch/dinner restaurant was right on the edge of the beach and was cool and breezy. The menu was fine unless you were on the all inclusive plan and then it was somewhat limited. That being said, we ate 9 meals there and quickly found our favorite dishes. We didn't get anything which wasn't good. There was a heavy concentration on fish but those of us who don't eat fish still got plenty to eat. Portions were large with all -inclusive providing appetizer, entree and dessert. We never left hungry! The Poisson Cru (tuna "cooked" in lime juice and served with coconut milk, onions, cucumbers and other raw veggies) was my husband's favorite. It is the island equivalent of ceviche.

As for the overwater bungelows, anyone can snorkel under them and I'm not sure they are worth the extra rental fee to watch the fish. They do have a nice balcony/deck but there are some of the cabins which sit right off the beach in very shallow water and they are considered "beach bungelows." They are cheaper and have the same amenities. There are also a few true beach bungelows and some motel type rooms across the road from the beach in 2 two story buildings on the hillside.

There isn't much to do on the island, it is very small and quiet but the hotel arranged a trip for us to go around the island on a boat, to go to the coral garden and another snorkel spot to swim with the black tip sharks and stingrays, and to go to the lagoonarium which was great fun. We also arranged a car rental just down the road from the resort and enjoyed a double trip around Bora Bora.

I am a travel agennt and I will recommend this resort to my clients. A real advantage to staying here is the size and the fact that it is on the main island, not on one of the motus which make one dependent on a boat to take you to the main island.

This was truly a trip of a lifetime thanks to the great staff at the Maitai Polynesia Resort!

Room Tip: #105,106 and 107 have great views. The Beach bungelows are good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank cuda00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providenciales
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

This hotel had some great points and some poor ones -

Plus points: Cost - this is great value for Bora Bora which is so overpriced, the beach is really nice and not busy and we thought the breakfast was quite good - there was certainly enough variety for us.

negative points - they do not send any one to meet you at the airport - you get the public ferry ( which is fun) and then have to wait for a cab.

Our room felt "old" and stale - dark pine stained bathroom...

The front desk staff are two faced - we asked them to book us a table for dinner but then a couple of hours later had to cancel as we were still so jet lagged - i apologized when we asked them to cancel and explained why - as soon as my back turned the guy pulled a face at me ( an exasperated look ) then realized that my husband was watching him...

The internet is expensive and does not work properly - we had real problems with it and so were told we would not be charged - it was on our bill when we checked out...

Room Tip: Bora Bora is very expensive - go to the local supermarket - 2 mins down the road to the left and bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank scubastephb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

This hotel was great. The only place that actually gave us flower leis when we arrived and shell leis when we departed. They have a beautiful beach there. Their Polynesian show on Saturday night was very good. The rooms are nice and comfortable and have a fridge with cable tv. And the best part was Tania who works at the front desk. She was so nice and helpful. We had met more than our share of rude people in French Polynesia, but she reminded us that even in places where a lot of people are rude, there are also wonderful people too. She was so nice and caring, she helped us out a lot with our kids, and she made our experience there great.

Room Tip: They have overwater bungalows if you want them, but they are not cheap; they also have beach bungalo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
0.5 km away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
0.6 km away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
5.7 km away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#6 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Sunset Hill Lodge
Sunset Hill Lodge
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
258 reviews
10.2 km away
Blue Heaven Island lodge
Blue Heaven Island lodge
#14 of 17 in Bora Bora
110 reviews
7.7 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora

Property: Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Address: BP 505 | Bora Bora Polynesie francaise, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maitai Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing