We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (986)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveller rating
667
215
65
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
667
215
65
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coral gardens macaroons restocked daily the free mini bar overwater bungalow fish the main hotel our honeymoon other resorts lookout point romantic dinner baby sharks tour boats fresh coconut water coconut drink marara beach french polynesia
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 986 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We visited Bora Bora/French Polynesia for the first time this past August for our honeymoon. We started in Moorea and finished in Bora Bora. The resort is definitely not new, but they've kept it up nicely. We were in an overwater bungalow and it was amazing, totally worth the upgrade costs. You can see the fish swim below you, you can jump off your deck into the water easily, and flippers/goggles come with the room so you don't have to rent them elsewhere. I think the only thing i would've liked to see taken better care of is the ladder/landing area where you get in/out of the water. We also could hear luggage bags and service carts rolling up and down the dock for room service to the bungalows, we didn't think we would be that disturbed by it but it's hard to miss. I hope they figure out another way to deliver items, something a bit less noisy. Overall, impeccable service, friendly staff and large bungalows. Loved our stay and were really happy there were no kids allowed at this resort.

Room Tip: Overwater bungalow is worth the upgrade, this resort offers amazing bungalows in the trees too!
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mallory O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMHV, Manager at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Ia Orana and thank you for sharing your experience in Sofitel Bora Bora ! We are very delighted that you had a Magnifique and unique stay in our little piece of paradise. We hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018

we had a very good lodging.
my husband and l went with our twins (21 years old) they were at the bungalw with sea view , excelent, In this south side of the island there were no wind,better than the north side where we were at the over water bungalows.
both bungalows were complete , wide , clean.. The mini bar with juiice water, beer, cola drinks, no drinks sugar free.
Excelent views.!!
you can go into the water and gave bread to fishes with your hand.! amazing!!
breakfast was almost excelent.. the bad point, there is no jam sugar free,no juice sugar free and no yogutr sugar free, althoug l sent an email to the hotel asking for no sugar meals for breakfast, because my daughter is daibetic type 1.
they answered me they will take note of that., but there was nothing sugar free.
Foreseeing this can happen.. we take a free sugar jam from montevideo.
personal service room was excelent.
personal lobby ,excelent.
the negative point about personal service breakfast was a lady called TITA, she was the only one who didn' say hello ,iaorana ,or bonjour, to us.. but she was very polite and nice with french tourist.... it seems she doesn't like south american tourists.who speak spanish... l hope she change in the future..for the good reputation of this beautiful hotel.
in the south side there is a coral garden for do snorkel .. great..
the excursions were very good at in time
.we contract at the lobby the day before.
we recomend this hotel.
thanks everybody.. we had our best beach holydays there.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rosario d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DOSMHV, Manager at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2018

Ia Orana and thank you for sharing your experience at Sofitel Bora Bora! Please, be sure that we will take your feedback in consideration in order to improve our guests experience. We were very delighted to host you and we look forward to welcome you back again ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

We arrived at the airport and they were waiting for us in the Sofitel stand with flower necklaces. It takes about 40 minutes to get to the hotel from the airport but to do it, is a pleasure in itself because you can see the other hotels, Otemanu Mount and the different colours of the water. Once we arrived at the hotel we were received with music and a fresh coconut for each of us.
The hotel is very quiet with different plants, palm trees and breathtaking views from every corner of it. The breakfast has many options and the fruit and cream pie is delicious. The view from the breakfast room is awesome. The sunset can be seen from the lookout situated on a hill.
The coral garden is behind the island and you can get there on foot by the west side. Going past the last bungalow there is a small beach and from there it takes five to ten minutes (remember to wear suitable footwear). You can also get to the coral garden by kayak or snorkelling by the east side where there´s a channel between both islands with lots of fishes and coral reef (beware of currents and fast boats).
You can go to the other hotel (Sofitel Marara) free, just ask for it in the reception desk. Once you are in the other hotel, 300m to the left you can find a mini market and 400m further another one. One km away (also to the left) you get to Matira Beach.
Overwater Bungalow Nº 118 is great. They leave flowers, a T-shirt and a beach wrap on the bed as a souvenir. The room is spacious and so is the bathroom. They leave plenty of amenities. In the fridge you will find water, juice, colas and beer complimentary and they recharge every day. From the terrace you can see the Otemanu, other bungalows and the sunrise. At night they come back to clean the room again if you want (we never ask for it) and they leave water and chocolate or other sweet things. A negative point is that many times the wifi is not available in the room.
Under the bungalow you can snorkel and there were lots of different fishes (Mask, snorkel and lifevest complimentary).
We spend 100U$S extra to stay in the bungalow on the check out day until 05:30 PM the time we were leaving for the airport to take the plane at 07:00PM.
They say goodbye with the sound of a shell.
A special thanks to JINHUA who was always ready to be of assistance should we need anything
We felt she did care for us!
A wonderful experience.
We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Edu-Adri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0564GM, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Ia Orana and thank you for sharing your experience in Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island! We are very delighted that you had a Magnifique and unique stay in our little piece of paradise. We hope to welcome you back soon ! Mauruuru !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018

Location was beautiful but we made a complaint, both verbally to reception and via email directly to the hotel regarding our TV that was not working, WIFI that was working on 5% of the time, breakfast buffet not being restocked in the last hour of the breakfast window, and the multiple geckos in our room and just had radio silence in return. Worst Sofitel I have stayed at.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank ak822018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H0564GM, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Bora Bora Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr Ak,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel Private Island. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and on the other hand sad to know that we didn’t meet your expectations regarding, TV, wifi & breakfast. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you encountered. Be sure that we will take in consideration each point you mentioned. Thanks again to have choosing us for your stay in Bora Bora.

The Sofitel Bora Bora team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2018

Bora Bora is a beautiful island with so many choices to stay. You need to check what you are after and how much you are prepared to pay. As everything is expensive in French Polynesia the more you get included in your hotel price the better. The Sofitel had good transport from the airport and pleasant greeting on arrival. The lookout onto the ocean is spectacular as the color of the reef i guess is the attraction for all of BB. The layout of sofitel is good as is the pool and decking. We stayed in an overwater bungalow as well as a beach bungalow for a few nights. Both are still in good condition inside and the beach bungalow pretty good all round. The over water bungalow is getting old on outside. Some decking and pannelling needs replacement and doesnt look that great. $ for $ the beach bungalow is probably better. Our only issue was the restaurant. There is limited dinners and some nights only a BBQ with show is the only option. The internals of restaurant are partly closed as they need work (updating) and the service especially at breakfast was not particularly friendly or inline with the amount of money you are paying. The waitresses need to be much more prompt , smile at least on greeting and look happy around the place. This was a real let done considering the resort as a whole. The ocean and snorkelling is excellent especially when you feed the fish from your room !

Room Tip: garden bungalow closest to beach and restaurant is best
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews