We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What more could you ask for?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Bora Bora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We've just spent 10 days there in a Superior Over Water Villa. Are we Rockefellers? No, we just booked with "Pacific for Less"! Claudia and her team got us fantastic rooms for even more fantastic rates. We can only recommend her for all your travels to Polynesia. They did a fantastic job on our 4 weeks honeymoon.

But back to the St. Regis.
140 square meters bungalow, Bose sound system, private sundeck, huge bathroom with rainforest shower, bathtub, 2 sinks, seperate toilet, seperate living room, extremly roomy, comfortable bed, great butler service...

The people at the St. Regis really take service and customer focus seriously. Waiters know you by name after a day, almost all notes were written by hand! Had small niggles with the plumbing, half an hour later we received a bottle of champagne as a compensation for our discomfort...

The resort itself is extremely well cared for and since it's quite spacious, there are alway bicycles available at the beach hut to let you ride home, when you don't want to wait for the butler's golfcart to take you home.

The "Lagoon" restaurant in the resort, close to main dock, beats the over-hyped Villa Mahana on the island hands-down! Sea-side sitting and georgeous food! Our favorite Sauvignon Blanc was out, so we got a more expensive one free of charge.... Now beat that!

Tired of the resort's restaurants? Call reception and they'll organise free trips to the island's best restaurants and back for free (well, you'll have to pay for your meals...)

Now to the "downsides"
- In the bungalows, there is no place to hang your swimmwear to dry
- Closet room is too limited for a 10 days stay
- Bicycle return policy by 17:00 is inconvenient, when your taxi boat to the island just leaves at 18:00

That was it for the downsides.

We can really recommend the St. Regis for a completely carefree stay in Bora Bora.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RedhouseSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,374 - 1,380 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

First I would like to say "WOW" - it's been said before and it will be said again. This place is just paradise. If you can afford it you should stay here because if you stay elsewhere you may not get the total experience. We traveled from NY to get here and it was worth every single hour that we sat on a plane or in an airport for a layover.

This place just has everything you could ever want or imagine. One evening we were taking the shuttle to Bloody Mary's and we stopped to drop off other couples at hotels on the main island of Bora Bora and I realized that they were having a completley different experience than we were. You MUST be on a motu that faces the main island to appreciate the total beauty of the lagoon and the mountain. I can' t believe that I ever even considered another resort. (The only other resort that we saw via shuttle or boat that we would even consider was the Four Seasons and even then we would only go there if the St. Regis was unavailable because the St. Regis is just PERFECT!)

We had booked a great package that inculded a daily breakfast buffet, an upgraded villa, beach dinner and a couples massage. We thoroughly enjoyed everything!

We traveled duing the 3rd week of February which is supposed to be off season and the rainy season. We had perfect weather all week with only one short 10 minute rain shower during the morning. It was very hot and humid because it's summer but it's easy to escape in the water.

The resort was very quiet upon arrival on a Saturday but got a bit busier as the week went on and by Tuesday it was pretty full (but still very quiet vs. other resorts we've been too). When we arrived we were the only couple on the boat from the airport but we went back with 5 other couples. We didn't have any trouble getting reservations at the restaurants but they were full when we arrived.

The service we recieved was fantastic but a little laid back. Once our room wasn't made up and we had to call and ask to have it made up so that we could get ready for dinner. (I think it was a miscommunication because we saw the two on either side being made up in the late morning.) Once we called, 2 maids showed up and it was spotless with extra towels and robes etc. within 10 minutes. The staff was so friendly it was almost embarassing!

The spa was terrific and the waitstaff at the restaurants were excellent. The beach area was really nice with plenty to do (or not do). We used the kayaks, the paddle boards and the paddle boats as well as the hammocks!

We went to the main island three times and if I could do it again I would only go twice. It's a lot of effort and the restaurants at the resort are great so there's no need to go more than a few times. I would go once to hit the market and once to dine at Villa Mahana. No other meal we had on the main island was worth the effort (they were not bad - but the restaurants on the resort were better or just as good).

Overall this resort is everything it's made out to be and the reality is even better than the hype. I look at my 300 photos and they just don't do this place justice. It's just paradise plain and simple.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

As you would expect, Bora Bora and the St. Regis are absolute paradise. We stayed at the resort at the beginning of February for our anniversary. Unlike most of the postings here it seems (it's starting to sound like an infomercial), we did not use Pacific for Less, and had a great experience.

I don't like to repeat what others have already said, so I'll keep it to the highlights for our particular trip as much as possible. I have read that you feel like you are the only people at this resort. We felt the same way, except some of that may be because it was low/rainy season. We were told there were 70 people there, but I think we saw a total of about 20 the whole time we were there. It is definitely meant for time together alone.

The rooms are amazing. We stayed in a premium overwater villa that looked out onto the main island. These rooms were great because they were bigger, and they were protected from the wind that seemd to be prevalent coming from the other side of the resort. The water around our bungalow was always calm and warm, while it could get pretty choppy on the other side. I don't know if this is a seasonal thing with the winds, but it made a difference for us. The weather in general is a bit spotty in Winter it seems, but we didn't have any full wash out days. It's the tropics and it does rain every day for a little while. Otherwise it was sunny and nice. Although be aware the sun is very strong at that time of year.

The meals were good. We tried each of the restaurants and liked each of them. Although, we did attend a dinner show one night and did not realize it came with a hefty price tag. So be sure to check before attending. Which is one downside to this resort. Paradise comes with a price. It's not just that it's expensive, you expect that from such a great resort, it's that they charge you for everything. To the point where they forgot to charge us for some food on the last day, and actually sent and email with a form for me to fill out to charge my credit card for the food. I felt like they had already taken enough of my money, the $50 wasn't going to kill them.

Otherwise the staff is amazing and very accomodating. We had some issues with our reservation to start off and they bent over backwards to make sure everything was taken care of.

Overall it is an amazing resort at an amazing location. I just hope we can make it back again.

Room Tip: Try to get a island view room if you can. The views are incredible and they are better protected fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MNtoAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Will not go in much detail since most of the previous reviews describes how perfect this hotel is. I would actually rank it so far as the best resort in the world based on my personal experience staying at over 1000 hotels around the world. I will just make a few comments and give a few tips.
1. Price: you get what you pay for. You will pay a lot (and I mean an awful lot) for the privilege of staying here. This is where the rich and famous hang out. Only go if you can afford it and I am not just speaking about the price of the rooms
2. Fun: either come for a honeymoon, with a group of friends, with the intention of sampling all the water sports, scuba and excursions or just stay 2 or 3 days only. Bora Bora can be Bora Boring if not. Despite the abject luxury and all the stuff to do, you may get bored after a few days. I stayed 7 days and did not get bored for a second
3. Food: yes it is great and refined at all the hotel restaurants and bars and even at Bloody Mary in the main town but it is not Haute Cuisine, it is very good island cuisine with mostly local products or stuff imported from France, Hawaii or Japan. If you are allergic to fish or don't like exotic fruits, vacation elsewhere!
4. Service: having a butler is priceless. Don't be shy, use your butler as much as possible, this is a big perk and you paid dearly for it. You butler is really at your beck and call for anything you desire (within legal limits of course but even that can be stretched). Your wish is their command
5. Enjoy! This is paradise in all sense of the word. Sit back, relax and build memories that will last you a life time

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, the only difference is the view and you can see that from other vantage poi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Docsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is likely the nicest place I will ever stay. The bungalows were spacious and exquisite. Staff was very attentive. We were provided with various upgrades. There were lots of things to do at the resort. The view and access to "water toys", pools and beach were great. I felt the meal options were somewhat limited however the pizza at the bar cafe was tasty and our waitress Moea was delightful. Room service on the deck of the bungalow was my favorite place to enjoy a meal with a view of Mt. Otemanu. I would recommend the Spa services as they are extremely accommodating. This trip to 3 French Polynesian islands was quite an investment in time and money and I was very pleased with the suggestions and arrangements made through Custom Tahiti Travel. I would also recommend the Reef Discovery Snorkeling Tour with Christoph, he was very passionate about the sea life he was introducing to us as well as being very attentive to my "newby" status and making sure I did not miss anything.

Room Tip: The view of Mt. Otemanu is amazing on the one side however has more "water traffic" the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freckeldjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We spent 5 unforgettable days at the St Regis in the beginning of February. My main concern was about the weather, which turned out to be perfect during our stay. Just a few sprinkles that did not last more then 30 minutes, mostly at night. Nice and sunny and surprisingly not humid at all. The sun does get very dangerous around noon so you are better off using the complimentary club car transportation mid day. Otherwise we greatly enjoyed our long early morning or evening walks around the resort, offering magnificent views of the lagoon and mount Otemanu.
Upon arrival, we were welcomed with leis and bottled evian at the airport. Check in was very quick while we were transported on their beautiful yacht to the resort. Upon arrival at the resort we were provided with fresh cold towels and iced tea. We got in a club car and were given a tour of the resort grounds, then taken to our OWB #119. As other reviewers have pointed out, the St Regis OWBs are the biggest on the island, beautifully decorated and spotlessly maintained. A welcome note as well as some treats were waiting for us on the living room table – chilled white wine, red wine and a box of delicious chocolate truffles! Turn down service every night and includes bottled evian and delicious Tahitian cookies in beautiful tin boxes (makes for a nice souvenir to take back home).
The staff is multinational – Polynesians, Japanese, Europeans but everybody greets you with a smiling face and Ia Orana. This time of the year only 12 – 15 of the 100 bungalows were occupied so it felt like we had the entire resort to ourselves.
We tried all restaurants and the food was excellent everywhere.
Breakfast buffet includes fresh fruit, yogurts, croissants, French toast, smoked salmon and wahoo, miso soup, any style eggs made to order, fresh juices, tea and coffee, mixed vegetables, potatoes etc. Lunch at Te Pahu was also excellent – the coconut poisson cru is a must, so is the tuna tempura cooked to perfection! Desserts are very tempting as well – the mandarin gazpacho being the most refreshing and guilt free. Every dish we tried was excellent and the service was very efficient. As a side note – we expected everything to be very expensive and it sure is. This is a unique place in the middle of nowhere so it obviously costs a lot to bring anything and serve it in those amazing surroundings.
The Polynesian night at Te Pahu featured about 1 hr show and buffet dinner with very good selection of various fish and meat. The dancers are not all Polynesian though, which we found a bit strange. Be prepared to be invited to dance with them, which provides for some very amusing photo opps :)
Lagoon was also a nice experience, with magnificent views and very good (and more expensive) food offerings. We noticed many guests from other hotels coming to Lagoon for dinner as well. Various fish and sting rays provide for some live entertainment through the glass floor.
The most amazing experience was of course the lagoon. We booked two trips, one with Reef Discovery and the other with Lagoon Service. Highly recommended since you do not see much fish or coral around the OWBs otherwise. If you want to stay around the resort and save your money, you can still see plenty of fish in the St Regis Lagoonarium, close to the spa. The marine biologist Marc is very helpful and provides lots of information about the different species and their habitat.
The business center is located in the club house where there is always fresh coffee and tea. Two out of the 3 PCs were operational and offer high speed internet, which I understand is not typical for Bora Bora.
The St Regis Bora Bora experience is an amazing combination of luxury and exotic surroundings that seemed totally unreal at first. Then it became obvious that planning our next vacation will be very difficult, unless we can come back to Bora Bora again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank katepg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

A late review but I have to say the St Regis is a must. From its stunning views of the water and mountain to the attentive staff and mouthwatering food. Upon arrival we were greeted by our butler and shown the grounds. Even though tired from travelling, we greatly appreciated this tour as it helped us remember locations and plan out what we would like to do each day. Once shown to our villa we were greeted with a french champagne dear to my heart and further attentiveness from our butler in order to confirm special nights that we had pre-booked.

Our villa directly overlooked Mount Otemanu and it was wonderful. Bigger than our apartment and luxurious too, we enjoyed pulling open the curtains and waking each morning to a spectacular view. Coffee on the deck with the warm breeze on our faces was an indulgence to remember.

Good food is important to us and we really enjoyed what we were offered. As well as eating at Kaina Hut and Villa Mahana, we frequented the below in-house restaurants too.

Lagoon Restaurant:
Superb location overlooking the mountain with knowledgeable waiters for wine recommendations for all budgets and impeccable attention from the staff. We recommend booking a table outside for sunset views with Mount Otemanu looking over you. Our meal was so good - french inspired with delicious ingredients. Even a drink on the deck before our dinner on the beach was just so relaxing. Love it.

TePahu:
Breakfasts are served here are great and comprise of a buffet including beautiful crisp pastries, breads to make your mouth water and the usual assortment of hot and cold foods. We asked for eggs benedict on one occasion which was delicious and just the right portion size. Over looking the beach, it is a perfect way to finish waking up to the fragrant sunny mornings. Weekends include the Blood Mary Ritual where you can pour your own. Dinner in the evening was good with lovely staff (Melady) and mediterranean/asian inspired courses.

Activities we enjoyed included cayaking, snorkelling in the St Regis lagoonarium (pretty!) and of course massages in their Spa. The adult-only pool was a nice retreat with private cabanas and at this time of the year, they were not very busy. We really recommend booking at least one excursion or activity - we booked privately with Damian and cannot recommend him enough.

Concierge at the St Regis is top-notch. Anything we had to query or organise was dealt with promptly and efficiently with much advice and recommendations for those not familiar to the area.

*Room for improvement*

One of the areas we feel can be improved would be the Spa. Whilst the treatment was pretty good, the Spa itself leaves a lot to be desired. There was a lack of atmosphere and the ladies changing/waiting area looked dated. The sauna was broken and the outdoor pools on the deck had been covered over. As there are many people booked for the "couples massage", you feel that you are herded in and out with no special attention. They certainly do not want you to linger. We were surprised by this considering how immaculate the rest of the resort is and I personally thought it very disappointing.

Breakfast in the morning in Te Pahu whilst delicious, needs better service from the staff. There is an air of distraction/boredom - some which can kind of permeate your mood in the morning... which is such a shame when in a sunny turquoise-happy environment.

Thanks to Pacific for Less for organising our trip which we had been planning for so long and to St Regis for looking after us so well during our stay.

Room Tip: Book a table by the water at Lagoon for a sunset meal, it is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VictorianPoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
1.3 km away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,661 reviews
6.5 km away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
7.4 km away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
1.7 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
2.2 km away
InterContinental Bora Bora Resort & Thalasso Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort

Address: Motu Ome'e, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Spa Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range: $1,212 - $3,520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive St. Regis Bora Bora is 44-acre island resort located in Polynesian paradise. Our elite accommodation features the 13,000 sq ft Miri Miri spa and Lagoon Restaurant by Jean Georges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Travelocity.ca and getaroom.com so you can book your The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bora Bora Hotel Bora Bora
St Regis Hotel Bora
St Regis Bora Bora
St Regis Resort Bora Bora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing