We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,347)
Filter reviews
2,347 results
Traveller rating
1,963
234
87
40
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,963
234
87
40
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler servicete pahuoasis poolsushithe miri miri spaaparima barfar nientepersonal butlercouples retreatgolf cartpremier overwater villaour honeymoonfishmain islandjean georgeswim up barfour seasons
Filter
Updating list...
767 - 772 of 2,347 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2015

After balancing our imagined ideals with logic & reality, we based our resort rating on how well our expectations were met. Maybe our observations & experiences can help others set their own realistic expectations.

- First & foremost: we accepted the fact that everything in Bora Bora would be exorbitantly expensive, especially St.R rates, but still found some prices too high to pay (ie: USD $34 burgers, $8 sodas, $36 sunscreen). Go knowing you will be shocked, & prepare to be charged $170 per night for taxes & fees on top of your room rate!

- Yes, the location & views are indescribably beautiful, but if you think Bora Bora will be paradise, remember that no place is perfect. It’s usually very hot & humid (you sunburn easily), there are tropical bugs (that bite or visit your villa), sea creatures abound in the gorgeous water (and can hurt!), and sometimes it rains for days (ruining outdoor plans or causing sea sickness on tours that don’t cancel due to rough weather). Hearing other guests blame the staff for the whims of Mother Nature was insane!

- The resort’s public rooms are impressive, reflecting high-end finishes & Tahitian designs. Landscaping is lush and meticulously manicured, with paved & lighted roadways throughout. Be aware, though, of the crazy golfcart driving habits of the staff on those narrow paths – like Mr. Toad’s Wild Ride - and at night, with lights off!

- We thought our villa was huge, with nice furnishings & comfortable bed, but it could use some renovation & maintenance - many finishes are marred, some doors and appliances did not work properly, and the shower water was only lukewarm. A small fridge was useful, but was stocked with costly items that must be removed to store your own less expensive items. (Note: snacks in the resort store cost less than half those in the mini bar or restaurants, but selection of food & souvenirs is minimal).

- Bicycles are free & really fun if you’re lucky enough to score some. They are in very short supply (heard disappointment from others too), and contrary to the resort’s stated policy, bikes are not collected every night, so there were seldom any to use even in early morning.
- Beach isn’t expansive or private, but water equipment (and sunscreen) were free, although much of the gear was in use for hours or broken. The local beach boys were friendly & helpful, even paddling out to check on people in the water.

- The tours that the SR Resort books for guests are advertised on their activity list with a big dose of hyperbole; meaning, don’t anticipate much for your money, especially on the 4x4 jeep tour around Mt. Otemanu.

- It is worth one short trip to Vaitape to buy fresh bread & veggies at the little grocery to save on meal costs at the resort. Plus it reveals what real life in Bora Bora is like compared to the Fantasyland Resorts of excess wealth. (Made us wonder where all the millions go that resorts collect from tourists).

- The Breakfast Buffet included in our rate was a good choice for us, with more than enough selections. The 3 dinners at Lagoon & Far Niente restaurants were excellent! Highly trained Chefs presented delicious dishes like art pieces.

- Service by resort staff was quite confusing & inconsistent…it was great from a few personable, conscientious individuals (and we enjoyed the welcome & departure groups), but other times it left us guessing who our server was, and why the front desk personnel & the concierges handled questions and arrangements differently. Housekeeping was hit & miss - some chores were taken care of daily while others were ignored.

- The TIP issue presented awkward moments - some people would linger for a tip when we understood that tipping was not expected.
- Staff members who left a favorable impression: our butler, Che’ (charming, electric personality). Servers, Davey, Audrey, Justine, Vaitehi (pleasant and efficient). Mr. Cecchi, in Italian restaurant, and William Filey from the Lagoon (both wonderful & accommodating hosts).
* A special ‘Thank you’ to William, who graciously made my birthday dinner an extra nice occasion even though two concierges somehow messed up a confirmed reservation at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
10  Thank SLOtraveler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisBoraBora, Manager at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2015

Dear SLOtravelers N,

Thank you for choosing The St Regis Bora Bora for your trip and for taking time to post a review.

We will certainely inform the staff you mentionned how much you appreciated their attention during your stay.

Best Regards

The St Regis Bora Bora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2015

My wife and I just got back from our honeymoon in Bora Bora and it was amazing! We didn't have to put much thought into the location of our honeymoon, but the details of where to stay and what to do were up in the air. Thankfully, I came across Claudia from Pacific for Less and she handled it all. This was my first experience with a travel agency and I highly recommend them. We didn't have to worry about a thing!

As for the St. Regis, it was top of the line. The rooms were beautiful and the staff was so happy. After visiting another resort while there, we realized how much better the St. Regis was. Seriously. It was awesome.

If you plan on going to Bora Bora for a special trip, go with the best resort on the island and the best travel agency to get you there -- St. Regis and Pacific for Less are my recommendations.

Room Tip: Face the mountain. It's worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Brennen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisBoraBora, Manager at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2015

Ia Orana Brennen H,

Thank you so much for your kind note!
We are very pleased to hear that you loved our Resort. Our whole team will be more than happy to read your comments.
Thank you to put our resort as your first choice in Bora Bora should you wish to come back!

Mauruuru & Sunny Regards,

The St. Regis Bora Bora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

Massive 44 acre property with beach and over water bungalows galore. 4 quality restaurants. Exceptional service from all and concierge staff very helpful in coordinating pre booked activities. Resort has a private cabana area with individual dipping pools separate from main pool area. Nice touch for those seeking quiet enjoyment.
This is a full western style resort in a Polynesian setting.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank znn786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisBoraBora, Manager at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2015

Ia Orana znn786,

Thank you very much for reviewing our resort following your recent stay .
We thank you very much for all the kinds words about our property and our service quality, it is highly appreciated.
We will be more than pleased to welcome you again in our little piece of paradise.

Mauruuru & Kind Regards,

The St. Regis Bora Bora Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2015

This is Paradise the lagoon is spectacular for snorkeling the fish were plentiful and quite amazing.. The restaurants are great with a glass floor to see the fish .The beach is wonderful as well as the amenities .

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Findadream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisBoraBora, Manager at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2015

Ia Orana Findadream,

Thank you for your nice comments on our property!
We hope that you will keep amazing memories of your stay at The St.Regis Bora Bora, and I will share your review with the Team!
We look forward in welcoming you back again!

Mauruuru & Warm Regards,

The St. Regis Bora Bora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2015 via mobile

It was an experience of a life time.
We booked everything through Tahiti Legends with Noy Siravantha. She put our travel plans together, frights, hotel, and extra activities flawlessly.
Our large deluxe overwater villa was emasculate with a breathtaking views of the mountain and the lagoon.
The goftcart service was excellent, our butler, and all the staffs.
Our favorite restuarant is the Lagoon. The food was delicious, and the service was outstanding. We dined there 3 times in a week. You get an amazing sunset and glass view of the shark/fish under your table (indoor).
We glad we chose St Regis and highly recommend It.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank MarkNInoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StRegisBoraBora, Manager at The St. Regis Bora Bora Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2015

Ia Orana MarkNInoy!

Thank you very much for taking the time to describe us in such a beautiful review.
All our team is proud to read your kind words. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the service as well as the restaurants and the landscape of our Resort!
We look forward to welcome you back for your first year anniversary!

Mauruuru & Warm Regards,

The St. Regis Bora Bora Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews