We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cafe Roka Delivers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Roka

Cafe Roka
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Bisbee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Unique flavor combinations, vivid colors and complimentary textures combine with a carefully chosen wine list, and a vivacious atmosphere to create not just a satisfying meal, but a convivial dining experience. Come for the live music every Friday night, come to celebrate a life milestone or come for a love of good food, come to find out what is truly one of the great rural restaurants in Arizona.
Arcadia, CA
1 review
“Cafe Roka Delivers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

To the point, it has been quite a while since a first-time dining experience has exceeded both the recommendations and the anticipation. Everything about this restaurant pleased us greatly, including: location, ambiance, service, entertainment, beverages, cuisine, and value. Inspired, genus-types are clearly at work behind the scenes and they really deliver a great dining experience. If you're in Bisbee, Cafe Roka should be on your list (don't miss the chance).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    90
    28
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good food; reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Everybody recommended this restaurant and said: "make reservations". That was good advice as this is a popular place with great atmosphere. Food was very good and actually there was too much of it. We had to leave half our meals as we couldn't eat it all. I would recommend it to anyone. It's not a tourist place; it's a place that everybody goes to.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ursula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bisbee, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“San Francisco dining in Bisbee, AZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is one great restaurant. Locals love it; tourists love it. Folks come from Tucson, two hours distant to eat at Roka's (and enjoy Bisbee). It is fine dining and for what you get, it's not expensive. Rod, the chef, is a hero in town--generous and devoted. If you're coming to Bisbee on a Thursday, Friday or Saturday evening, treat yourself to a dinner at Roka's. I promise you won't be disappointed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank AliceHamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fmiller100, Manager at Cafe Roka, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you, very much appreciate a nod to owner/chef Rod Kass. For many years Roka has supported a wide variety of organizations in the greater Bisbee area along with some in Tucson and Phoenix. While we don't ever give cash, we do give gift certificates that can be used in auctions. We gave more than $7000 in gc's over the past year to deserving organizations. Rod and his partner Sally have always operated Cafe Roka as part of, not apart from, the Bisbee community. We hope you'll continue to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We had a special dinner there and found the service wonderful and food delicious. There was also local music on the 3rd floor above the dining area, which added a local flavor.
Highly recommend it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan16Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fmiller100, Manager at Cafe Roka, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“ROKA...still great after all these years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Been visiting at the Roka since 2004. I've never had a negative experience. The food is always very good and worth the money. I'm a casual traveler and have always been made to feel very comfortable along with the not so casual clients. Always ask about the "special" and always go for the full course offerings because the soups and sorbe are always great. If you are told there is only bar seating, go for it. The bar keep will give you very special attention and you will enjoy talking to the patrons seated beside you, and being Bisbee, it just may be very interesting and informative about the local culture and attractions. Great wine offering also.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank YAMPAMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caferoka, Manager at Cafe Roka, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Well, thank you for your sterling review. Since I do the bartending, it nice to get a stroke. We've been here for 19 years and going strong. The main question is how come it took you so long to find us...just kidding. We always appreciate comments; good, bad indifferent. It give us feedback we might not ordinarily get. The chef/owner Rod Kass is in the kitchen almost every night we are open and it certainly makes a difference. The single most difficult thing for a good restaurant that has been open more than a couple years to maintain consistency and quality of food offerings.

Food memory is a challenge to a restaurant. Often our customers come back to us and want to have the same taste in a particular dish that they had when they last visited. We can do that whether it is a month ago or 5 years ago. And if a particular dish they remember is not on the menu , we hope they ask for it, because Rod will try to make it if we have the ingredients available. (we change our menu weekly, keeping some popular dishes on all the time while introducing new ones. We freshen our menu with nightly specials also.)

P.S. For prospective or returning diners.
With my comments to reviews (which you may notice tend to be lengthy) I try to give some insight into the way our restaurant is run as well as the restaurant industry in general. The comments we receive are indicative of problems and compliments for many restaurants. By answering these as fully as possible, I hope to give you information that is useful to you when selecting and evaluating restaurants.

Food is the most primitive and binding social experience we have had as a species. It's not a mystery why we pay close attention to the preparation, delivery, taste, environment, and enjoyment of dining. The restaurants that understand this elementary fact are the truly wonderful places to share food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cafe Roka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing