We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Place, For Bisbee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Roka

Cafe Roka
Ranked #1 of 51 Restaurants in Bisbee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Unique flavor combinations, vivid colors and complimentary textures combine with a carefully chosen wine list, and a vivacious atmosphere to create not just a satisfying meal, but a convivial dining experience. Come for the live music every Friday night, come to celebrate a life milestone or come for a love of good food, come to find out what is truly one of the great rural restaurants in Arizona.
Tucson
Level Contributor
270 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Great Place, For Bisbee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Probably the best restaurant in town for culinary expertise, but we had a few minor issues. The large hostess had zero personality, but our waiter was very helpful and attentive when he needed to be. The dinners are four course, though the appetizer was a one cubic inch of a sort of potato quiche. Tasty, but gone in a flash. The second course was a small leafy salad with nothing else added, alos gone in a jiffy. Then a small scoop of lemon (maybe lime?) sorbet. Last, the entree. We both had the quail, mostly because we love quail and so rarely see it on teh menu. The bird was mostly deboned and stuffed with a ground proscuitto and breading mix that was very dry and rather salty. The salt pretty much infused the bird, so a salty dish all around. The bird was mounted on a bed of mashed potatos, which were similarly dry, and surrounded by some excellent vegetables and three very tasty sauce reductions. For us, the quail didn't work, but we could tell that the chef was certainly working at creating some excellent cuisine. We'll definitely try Roka again, though we'll have something other than the quail. Be sure to get a reservations as they were quite busy mid-week. I can only imagine how busy they get on the weekend!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TucsonCurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caferoka, Manager at Cafe Roka, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
I take issue with parts of this review. There is no reason to mention the size of any employee at our restaurant (or any other). It has nothing to do with a guests' dining experience. At worst it illustrates a prejudice and at best it is insulting. The job of a hostess is not to have a 'personality' but to make sure guests are seated properly and any needs attended to. Their job entails being professional in demeanor not necessarily to entertain, particularly when they are busy as was the case on the night of this guest's visit.

We serve 4 courses in order to give our guest different tastes. This guest had a spanish torta, sometimes called a tortilla, a potato and egg based dish. It stimulates the appetite for what is to come. It is not the entree. Our salads usually come with sun dried tomatoes, a sprinkling of parmesean/romano cheese, a mix of lettuces and often pea sprouts. Apparently that was not the case with the guest. Sorbet acts as a palate cleanser and is usually distinctively lemon or lime.

When a diner is unsatisfied with their entree, they should ask the sever to return it and either replace it or order something else. Unfortunately this guest did not do that which resulted in their dissatisfaction with this particular dish. Just a word of caution, when a dish has proscuitto in it, there will be salt. With our Quail, sauces are to accent the dish and to counter any dryness that may be in the construction of the dish. Our chef, or any good chef/cook, always prefers to know if a dish is not cooked correctly, the spicing wrong, dry, or not pleasing in some way.

Reservations are always a good idea when you know you are coming. We hope the guests will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    92
    28
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I was surprised to find such a nice restaurant in such an out of the way town, but the food was very good, the atmosphere was lovely, and the staff were courteous and charming. The perfect date night in Bisbee.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, NH
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The food was good...maybe a little pricey, but hey it's vacation time. We had a table by the window..our waiter was very attentive and friendy...good service. Only ate there once, but would eat there again...

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank orphan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler
1 review
“Absolute Perfection! Worth a Detour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 7 year wedding anniversary in Bisbee and chose Cafe Roka for our dinner destination. I cannot imagine a more perfect outcome!! I made a reservation several days in advance letting them know we were celebrating a special occasion, which turned out to be a good choice because the restaurant was packed. We arrived right on time for our 8 PM reservation and were seated right away, however, and never noticed anyone waiting at the door although the whole restaurant was buzzing with activity all night. The ambiance of the building itself with the restaurant being on several levels is really cool! Our waiter was extremely personable and knowledgeable, offered us (very large) samples of a couple wines we were debating on, and his timing was impeccable. The food from the very first bite of our goat cheese stuffed piquillo peppers to the last morsel of the complementary dessert assortment (because it was our anniversary) was EXQUISITE! I have never witnessed a restaurant as well run as Cafe Roka - and they were pulling it all off while hosting a private wedding party on their 3rd level! Our experience from beginning to end was really absolutely perfect!! When we got the bill we were shocked at how small it was - a meal of that quality and of that type of service would easily cost twice as much in a big city! I only wish Cafe Roka weren't a 3 hour drive from home. If we are ever remotely close again we will stop again - this place is definitely worth the detour!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meliabee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, CA
1 review
“Cafe Roka Delivers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

To the point, it has been quite a while since a first-time dining experience has exceeded both the recommendations and the anticipation. Everything about this restaurant pleased us greatly, including: location, ambiance, service, entertainment, beverages, cuisine, and value. Inspired, genus-types are clearly at work behind the scenes and they really deliver a great dining experience. If you're in Bisbee, Cafe Roka should be on your list (don't miss the chance).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Cafe Roka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing