We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would not travel through gila bend without stopping here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gila Bend
Jamestown, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“would not travel through gila bend without stopping here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

this restaurant has become a favorite of ours. here again, at Christmas this time, on our way from Phoenix to Yuma. we get a kick out of this place and is a great stop over between. we got to stop twice as we left Yuma and headed toward Tucson/Tombstone area. some people are just easily excited i guess. salad bar=good, food=good, service=good. can say nothing but good about this little place. perhaps we can spend the night the next time too.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank typratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    99
    60
    20
    6
See reviews for
67
93
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

We needed a place in Gila Bend because of late night travel. We realized quickly that they take the space age theme serious. The attention to detail is astonishing. Best bed on our cross country trip. We had no train interruption. The breakfast was fresh and hearty. I would stay again because we left very happy and smiling.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Rooms are very clean and have been recently updated. Flat screen TV, comfortable bed and nice products (soap, shampoo, etc.). Interesting space related artwork in the rooms. The restaurant serves a good breakfast with lots of space decorations to look at on the walls. We've driven by this place many times on the way to San Diego and always thought it looked interesting. On a recent drive back from San Diego I was too tired to make it home so I stopped off here for the night. The only downside is the railroad tracks that run a couple hundred feet behind the motel, but I doubt there's another motel along this stretch of I-8 that doesn't have train noise.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alpohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Rooms are clean but old. If you are a light sleeper good luck, a train passes by around 3-4 am everyday. Internet is decent, but slow compared to hotels closer to Phoenix.

The breakfast is pretty good and is included in the rate. The decor is a little bit of the history of the space shuttles. Pictures of Astronauts adorn the hotel. People are nice as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayneEnterprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ste. Rose du Lac, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

Rooms were very clean and quite. Easy parking for any size truck and trailer combination. Very small town, and pleasent to walk around at night. Great food in resturant.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robcatSteRoseMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
135 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

What brought me here was a regretable choice for lunch. Driving back from San Diego I had to make an unscheduled stop in Gila Bend ( which I think is the only reason anyone stops in Gila Bend). I needed a place to stay and recover. I stopped here and in the midst of dealing with lunch I realized I had found a little gem in the middle of the desert. The room was Extremely clean and comfortable. I have to admit, that I was expecting a poor attempt at making this room look like it was from an alien movie. I can't stress enough how clean and comfortable this place was. After an interesting night I decided to take advantage of the free breakfast at Space Age Cafe. The breakfast was good the service was good but not very friendly. The Motel staff was extremely friendly and helpful as well.

WORD OF CAUTION: If you are a light sleeper be ware. This place sits VERY close to the train tracks and you will hear trains passing all night. Also, I payed about $80 for the room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidFancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

we did not stay the night in hotel but did stop at this refreshing "spacey" restaurant. in fact, it looked like so much fun, we turned around just to eat there. we had traveled all over AZ and the gift shop here had an awray of the same stuff we had looked at and at much better dollar value. the food was "out of this world" and truly enjoyable. we were on our way to Yuma and stopped to enjoy a delightful breakfast. we enjoyed so much we stopped again for dinner as we returned to the Phoenix area. at this trip we had a trip to the wonderful salad bar. these salads were handmade by the chef and were wonderful. this place was clean, fun, friendly, homey, food was excellent, prices were excellent. we truly enjoyed this restaurant. if you get through Gila Bend...definately visit this space age restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank typratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge
Address: 401 East Pima Street, Box C, Gila Bend, AZ 85337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Gila Bend
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gila Bend
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Best Western and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Space Age Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Space Age Hotel Gila Bend
Best Western Gila Bend
Gila Bend Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing