We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveller rating
39
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel absolute luxury minute walk business trip pool area central beach moya spa towels cape linens establishment plett accommodation views
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 46 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the Old Rectory on our trip to South Africa from the USA as we traveled the Garden Route. Very friendly and welcoming staff, modern, spacious and comfortable rooms, a great spa offering a wide variety of treatments and food to our liking. We loved the 1 minute walk to the ocean, early morning swims and the wonderful beach walks,as well as proximity to the town. This is a wonderful spot that I would highly recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Euan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudene v, Front Office Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

Thank you for the wonderful feedback of your stay at The Old Rectory Euan, we are all very thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming back you Sophie in the not-too-distant-future and Best regards from all at The Old Rectory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018

Easy to find with a good size car park. Beautiful white washed buildings on a hill set back from the bay. The beach was a two minute walk down the hill so there was no direct view of the sea from the rooms.
Check in was very friendly and efficient and we were given a tour of the building, gardens and pool area - all very nice, peaceful and comfortable with interesting artwork by the pool and on the covered verandah eating area.
Pool was refreshing and it was also possible to access the beach via a side gate and short footpath, with staff taking parasol and sun loungers down for guests.
Stayed in Room 1 which had a little garden with two sun loungers and a view of the sea beyond the car park and adjacent small access road.
Room was a good size with a large comfortable bed and soft crisp linens.
Bathroom was also a good size with a toilet off the bathroom, double sinks and a large shower with plenty of hot water and a good flow. Also possible to open the sliding door and have a semi-outside shower. Plenty of towels, including large bath towels all of which were soft.
Room was well equipped with tea/coffee station, refrigerator, safe, air conditioning and fan. Everywhere was very clean. Wi-fi was best in reception but poor in the room and outside areas.
Breakfast was brought to the table and included fruit juice, granola, yoghurt, fruit, croissants and cake, together with a hot breakfast cooked to order.
Had dinner twice which was very good.
Service was excellent with very attentive and friendly staff.
Would return.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank IanandLizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudene v, Front Office Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2018

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback of your recent stay at the Old Rectory Hotels and Spa. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards from the Old Rectory Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018

We spent a lovely few days in this lovely recently renovated hotel in Plettenberg Bay. Could only be improved by having sea views but difficult to complain if the staff are prepared to carry sun chairs, an umbrella and towels down to the beach for you. The staff and everything about the service was truly wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andrew2248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudene v, Front Office Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Thank you ever so much for telling us about your recent stay with us at the Old Rectory, we certainly appreciate your positive feedback and are all very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Kind regards from the Old Rectory Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night on a business trip. Rooms are large and extremely well appointed.
Staff friendly, helpful and obviously well trained.
Meals are tasty and reflect the chef’s skills.
Highly recommended if you’re looking for a smaller, boutique-style hotel.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank bernardh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudene v, Front Office Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2018

Thank you for the wonderful feedback of your recent stay and dining experience at The Old Rectory, we are all very thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Best regards from all at The Old Rectory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2018

When you're doing a guided meditation or some kind of relaxation exercise and you're asked to close your eyes and think of your happy place, what do you think of?

My mind's eye goes straight to Plettenberg Bay. To the beaches, to the views, to the holiday atmosphere. And from now on, I’ll be imagining the Old Rectory as well.

Ironically, the Old Rectory is actually quite new, having only opened in August 2017. The boutique hotel is fresh, it's classy, and it's a treat for anyone who gets to stay there.

The staff are all Hospitality Heroes and even though they offer that always-around will-do-anything-for-you service with professionalism and friendliness, they are not over-bearing as is often the case in other boutique hotels. They’re there to make sure you have everything you need and have all your questions answered, and then they quietly slip into the background until needed again.

While the hotel doesn't offer a sea view, which would take it to the next level, it is just steps away from the beach and the hotel even offer to take beach loungers, umbrellas, and, if requested, a fully stocked picnic basket to the beach for you should you wish to spend a few hours there. The hotel does have a very tranquil swimming pool though which hits the spot when you’re looking to unwind, sip a cocktail and mosey through a good book.

We stayed in a pool-facing standard room (that wasn’t really facing the pool). The room was modern, airy, and very comfortable with everything we could have asked for. One of my personal pet-peeves is when hotel rooms aren't light enough, and this was definitely not the case in the Old Rectory. But all the windows and sliding doors come with a downside as well, which was a severe lack of privacy with us having to close the curtains and a few window blinds before getting changed during the day.

The location of the hotel is also great - being a 2 minute drive (or a 20 minute steep uphill walk) to town and just a few steps to Hobie Beach. It’s also across the road from a new hotel and bar, called the Bungalow, which offers beach views and drinks drizzled with sea-salt from the air.

Old Rectory, thank you for the memorable weekend. I had an incredible stay and will definitely be coming back soon - even if it is just when I close my eyes and think of my happy place.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudene v, Front Office Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2018

What a wonderful review, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back sometime soon - best regards from The Old Rectory Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews