We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
232
31
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
31
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housecountry housegarden routeself cateringbird lifepeaceful retreatswimming poolbeautiful placenature reservecouple of nightsa real treatminute driveelephant sanctuarybrianpigsaccommodationbirds
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 266 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2016

We spent two nights at Fynbos and wished we had stayed a week. The place is peacefully tucked away among fynbos--vegetation with small leaves for other Americans--where the mountains form the backdrop. At the same time, it is very easy to get into Plettenberg Bay and the surrounding attractions.

There are a few cottages on the property, and the one we stayed in was very comfortable and relaxing. There are five or six rooms, two lounge areas on the first floor and a nice breakfast area with stunning views out to the mountains. During breakfast you may also see the chickens who generously provide the eggs, some wild guinea fowl who call the property home, or a pet pig or two.

We mainly interacted with Brian. He was very nice to make recommendations for places to go and kindly booked a dinner and a game drive for us. This soft spoken man also cooks a mean breakfast!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2016

Thank you for the lovely review. We appreciate that you took the time to do it. There are even more guinea fowl now, as one lot have just arrived to show us a very late batch of new babies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2016

We stayed for five nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a beautiful place and the atmosphere is warm and friendly. Brian, Liz and Melanie are delightful hosts and the breakfasts are superb. We were unfortunately not able to sample Brian's dinners because he had recently come out of hospital. We stayed in the upstairs apartment where we really enjoyed the extra space and the wonderful view of the mountains.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cameron_abernethy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2016

Thank you for your review, and we are happy that you enjoyed our beautiful views and property. Yes, we are so relieved that Brian is on the mend, after being so ill, and all is back to normal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2016

Fynbos Ridge is in the forest between Plet Bay & Knysna, an old colonial feel, large garden for shorts walks, Brian & Liz are very relaxed, as are their pet pigs, dogs, chickens etc, we had a huge room in the main house, Peter, Dublin

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2016

We do appreciate very much the time you took to submit a review. Thank you! Hopefully you will visit beautiful Plett again one day, and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile

A lovey family run place with a very friendly welcome. We loved the gorgeous pool area, the selection of games and DVDs, pretty terrace and lounge and the honesty bar. The room was lovey and well equipped, only scored down slightly as there was no air con but we had ceiling fans and felt safe enough to leave the windows open. The breakfast was very good and Brian the owner was very relaxed about what time we would want to eat, seemed like nothing was too much trouble. He also gave us excellent recommendations for lunch out. We would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Samandrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2016

Thank you for the nice review, much appreciated! Yes, you were here during an unusual week of heat-wave conditions....I wished that we had air conditioners too!
We chose not to fit them when we bought Fynbos Ridge, due to our commitment to being environmentally friendly, and also because we do not usually need them in Plettenberg Bay, as our weather is usually mild.
We will reconsider if last January and this February are an indication of a new weather pattern - must have our guests comfortable!
Thanks again, we value suggestions to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2016

Beautiful Dutch style farm house set in attractive grounds, approx 10kms from Plettenberg. Spacious and stylishly decorated interior, with long shaded verandah. Liz, Mel & Brian made us very welcome, offering suggestions for places to visit/eat, inc making reservations. Excellent breakfast. We'd definitely rebook on return to Plett.

Room Tip: in-room wifi can be variable, so make sure you ask for what you need.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimEwbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2016

Thank you very much for taking time to submit a review. We will be pleased to have you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews