We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, beautiful & convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages
Ranked #15 of 85 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2016

The setting, away from the hustle and bustle, is lovely. A short drive gets you into Plett and to the beach or markets and other attractions in the area. The view of the mountains is captivating - I loved watching the colours change as the sun came up. The pool is amazing and watching the birds from the varanda was very relaxing.
Breakfast is now my favourite meal of the day!!! (I just need a lot more practice to get it as good as Brian does!)
If you want a relaxing break in beautiful surroundings near stunning beaches, this is definitely a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Cottages are great for groups/families, especially if you would like to braai and/or self-cater. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Thank you for the great review. Yes, we are pleased that our chef (and co-owner) is better now and back to cooking up delicious food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2016

We spent two nights at Fynbos and wished we had stayed a week. The place is peacefully tucked away among fynbos--vegetation with small leaves for other Americans--where the mountains form the backdrop. At the same time, it is very easy to get into Plettenberg Bay and the surrounding attractions.

There are a few cottages on the property, and the one we stayed in was very comfortable and relaxing. There are five or six rooms, two lounge areas on the first floor and a nice breakfast area with stunning views out to the mountains. During breakfast you may also see the chickens who generously provide the eggs, some wild guinea fowl who call the property home, or a pet pig or two.

We mainly interacted with Brian. He was very nice to make recommendations for places to go and kindly booked a dinner and a game drive for us. This soft spoken man also cooks a mean breakfast!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Thank you for the lovely review. We appreciate that you took the time to do it. There are even more guinea fowl now, as one lot have just arrived to show us a very late batch of new babies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

We stayed for five nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. It's a beautiful place and the atmosphere is warm and friendly. Brian, Liz and Melanie are delightful hosts and the breakfasts are superb. We were unfortunately not able to sample Brian's dinners because he had recently come out of hospital. We stayed in the upstairs apartment where we really enjoyed the extra space and the wonderful view of the mountains.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cameron_abernethy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Thank you for your review, and we are happy that you enjoyed our beautiful views and property. Yes, we are so relieved that Brian is on the mend, after being so ill, and all is back to normal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Fynbos Ridge is in the forest between Plet Bay & Knysna, an old colonial feel, large garden for shorts walks, Brian & Liz are very relaxed, as are their pet pigs, dogs, chickens etc, we had a huge room in the main house, Peter, Dublin

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

We do appreciate very much the time you took to submit a review. Thank you! Hopefully you will visit beautiful Plett again one day, and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

A lovey family run place with a very friendly welcome. We loved the gorgeous pool area, the selection of games and DVDs, pretty terrace and lounge and the honesty bar. The room was lovey and well equipped, only scored down slightly as there was no air con but we had ceiling fans and felt safe enough to leave the windows open. The breakfast was very good and Brian the owner was very relaxed about what time we would want to eat, seemed like nothing was too much trouble. He also gave us excellent recommendations for lunch out. We would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Samandrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Thank you for the nice review, much appreciated! Yes, you were here during an unusual week of heat-wave conditions....I wished that we had air conditioners too!
We chose not to fit them when we bought Fynbos Ridge, due to our commitment to being environmentally friendly, and also because we do not usually need them in Plettenberg Bay, as our weather is usually mild.
We will reconsider if last January and this February are an indication of a new weather pattern - must have our guests comfortable!
Thanks again, we value suggestions to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

Beautiful Dutch style farm house set in attractive grounds, approx 10kms from Plettenberg. Spacious and stylishly decorated interior, with long shaded verandah. Liz, Mel & Brian made us very welcome, offering suggestions for places to visit/eat, inc making reservations. Excellent breakfast. We'd definitely rebook on return to Plett.

Room Tip: in-room wifi can be variable, so make sure you ask for what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimEwbank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Thank you very much for taking time to submit a review. We will be pleased to have you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Staying in properties where the owners/managers have high standards and have thought of everything is a surprisingly rare treat. Fynbos Ridge is one of those special places where it’s incredibly difficult to find fault!

A beautiful property set in stunning and immaculately kept gardens (“we just try to tame it”) that are full of surprises and secret areas, the house is a peaceful country retreat with plenty of space to call your own.

The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, the breakfasts delicious and the hosts had such a calm and accommodating approach. Lovely. We also very much enjoyed Ruby the pig’s visits and the chickens making noises in a bid to convince us that baboons might be lurking in the bushes. Bunch of chancers.

We loved:
The honesty bar. Great to be able to grab a cold beer at your leisure.
The 'hidden' pool
Breakfast on the terrace
The huge bed
The huge bath/shower
The high standards

We'd change:
The only things I’d change? Air con for summer. Even with the ceiling fan, the recent heatwave was hard to cope with.
It would be good to have wifi in all rooms rather than just common areas.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mogadishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FynbosRidge, Owner at Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2016

Thank you for the lovely review - made me smile! We are investigating better wifi solutions, just difficult being rural, but we are giving it our attention. And air conditioners too if the unusual weather patterns persist! I need one too!
Thank you for mentioning my garden - quiet season is upon us and I am about to try to tame it a bit more, as it has going rather too wild.....
Hope to welcome you back if you visit Plett again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
7.8 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
607 reviews
2.3 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
294 reviews
8.1 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
576 reviews
6.5 km away
T'Niqua Stable Inn
T'Niqua Stable Inn
#3 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
314 reviews
3.4 km away
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
Lairds Lodge Country Estate
#1 of 3 in Harkerville
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages

Address: Look For Brown Road | 7km after Plett turnoff, heading to CPT from PE, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $227 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fragrant Fynbos. Spectacular mountain views. Abundant birdlife. Relax and unwind. We invite you to experience our magnificent Private Nature Reserve. Choose between a luxurious suite in the gracious Cape-style Manor House or a spacious, secluded self-catering cottage. Delicious dining and alfresco breakfasts are available. 5-star TGCSA graded. Carbon Neutral Approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fynbos Ridge Country House & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing