We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B
Ranked #20 of 85 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Dolphin's Playground were selected because of its proximity both to Robberg Nature Reserve (hiking) and Tenikwa Wildlife Awareness Center.

I was greeted by Pam the owner when I arrived and showed the room and told about general house rules. Were served a beer and some peanuts as well. Since I was going to get up at 6 am each morning I did not think about a hot breakfast, but I was actually served fruit salad and a full English breakfast at 6:15 am which I thought were great.

Room was comfortable, clean and had direct access to the great balcony. The B & B is a 5 minute walk to the beach. There is also an honesty bar here.

I really enjoyed my stay here and would stay here again if I'm returning to Plettenburg bay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

Had a great greeting from Pam the owner - a couple of beers which were very welcome after our long drive from Cape Town. We had the Whale Room - beautiful views. We stayed four nights and unfortunately the weather wasn't very kind to us for a couple of days so we had to have breakfast inside. However, we did manage to eat breakfast on the decking for the last two mornings. Plettenberg Bay is stunning, only a very short walk to the beach and a short drive to the Lookout - we had a couple of delicious meals here. We would not hesitate to stay here again. Thank you Pam for making us so welcome.

Room Tip: Whale Room has best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

A big thank you to Pam Mears. We booked the Dolphin room which was lovely, welcome drink, superb breakfast and a super location just off the beach. Plett is truly wonderful wish we could have stayed longer. Had a super meal at the lookout which Pam recommended. Hope to go back again someday.

Room Tip: You must go to Plettenburg and stay with Pam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dido226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed recently for 4 nights in the lovely comfortable Seahorse Room. Breakfasts were beautiful and served by two lovely ladies on the terrace overlooking the ocean-bliss! Pam, the owner, a lovely lady
was a wonderfully warm host and offered good advice re things to do,restaurants etc. She will even make reservations for you.
All in all, we were welcomed into Pam's lovely home and had a thoroughly nice stay. Would definitely recommend. Thank you Pam
Jean & Robert
P.s. Agree with all other positive reviews

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderlustCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Hundreds of dolphins in the bay! And we see them all from the terrace of this nice B&B.
Lovely decorated rooms, good breakfast and a warm service.
We stay two nights in seahorse room and we feel very comfortabel.
Daggi + Uwe, Germany

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Uwe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Located near the beach (2-3 minutes walking), its has just a few rooms, all of them very well decorated, spacious and clean. The room we booked didnt have aircon, but the fan did the job. Also, there is no fridge inside the room, but they one you can shre with other guests.The owner Pam is very friendly and will give you hints about what to do and where to go. They have space for parking car, but there is no gate for them. In any case, we felt very safe in our stay at the city. A very complete breakfast is served at a deck located at the upper level, where you can see the sea and, with some lucky, maybe dolphins and whales. If you have plans for dinning at one of the restaurants the city has, you will need transportation because they are not in walking distance. If you have plans for a nice beach holiday, this is your place!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Viniciustp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We stayed at the Dolphins Playground for 3 nights in November during our tour of the Western Cape. The house is in a fantastic position overlooking the ocean, minutes from the beach and a short drive from the town centre. We stayed in the Seahorse room which was large with a good size en-suite and very comfortable. The room opened up onto a massive deck area, which is what gives the property it's unique character. It's a perfect place to relax and take in the views of the sea and Robberg peninsular, and if you're lucky, enjoy breakfast every morning. We did, and we were also lucky enough to see the dolphins playing in the surf whilst we were tucking in. However, what made our stay so special was the warmth and friendliness shown to us by the host Pam and her staff. Pams little extra touches separate this from the run of the mill hotel or guest house. Drinks on arrival and on return after a day sight seeing or walking, an offer a laundry service for longer stay guests and invaluable tips on local attractions and eating out. Pam has a genuine interest in her guests and always has time for a chat to see how the day went. If you want to stay in a quiet location near a beautiful beach with fantastic views and a delightful host, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyandKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.2 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
817 reviews
2.5 km away
The 5th House
The 5th House
#7 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
141 reviews
3.2 km away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#9 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 78 in Plettenberg Bay
378 reviews
1.2 km away
Anlin Beach House
Anlin Beach House
#8 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
312 reviews
2.2 km away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#22 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B

Address: 3 Tillamook Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $99 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin's Playground offers you luxury beachfront bed & breakfast accommodation, situated in Plettenberg bay, on the most beautiful beach in the Garden Route. Rooms offer beautiful sea and mountain views and it is a 50 meter walk to Robberg Beach. Close to Knysna and all the tourist attractions. Reward yourself with a fantastic holiday - make your booking in Plettenberg bay today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing