We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Dolphins Playground”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B
Ranked #19 of 83 Plettenberg Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. As all the other reviews have said, Pam is a wonderful hostess. She is very friendly and wants to ensure that everyone enjoys their time in Plettenberg Bay, advising on where to go, what to do and local restaurants. She gave us a very useful map and marked various restaurants on it. The breakfasts are lovely, eaten on the deck overlooking the ocean and we were lucky enough to see dolphins go by one day! A lovely touch is to put a flag of your home country on the breakfast table - its certainly a talking point! Patience is also a very lovely lady, always smiling and nothing is too much trouble. Our room was very luxurious with wonderful views of the ocean on 2 sides.
The area is very a very nice residential area and felt quite safe, although it was a 5-10 min drive to the village.
We would certainly recommend Dolphins Playground and hope to return!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2010

We stayed at Dolphins’ Playground on the 14th and 15th October 2010. Arriving after a rather wet and dispiriting day our welcome from Pam, the owner, couldn’t have been better. Tea and biscuits on the large deck during a brief sunny interval set the scene. The view over the ocean and of the Robberg Peninsula was great and would give good views of southern right whales and bottlenose dolphins should they swim past, whilst the swing seat is ideal for relaxation. The beautiful Robberg beach is only a few minutes walk away, and the area appeared to be very safe.

We stayed in the smallest room, but as it has a huge bathroom, storage space was not a problem. Pam emphasised that visitors are welcome to use the comfortable lounge, so all you really need to do in the bedroom is sleep! That you should be able to do without a problem as the bed was extremely comfortable. There is a fridge with an honesty bar on the deck, and tea and coffee making facilities in the room together with cookies. The rooms open out onto the deck, where on our second day as the weather had improved we had a good breakfast, the hot part of which was freshly cooked.

Pam is very knowledgeable about the area, what to do, where to go and what to see. Her recommendations of where to eat were spot on for us. She even gave us a map of Plettenberg Bay, and marked the various restaurants on it for us. We ate on our first evening at the Med Seafood Bistro which was excellent. As we’d had a good lunch the following day at the Brammon Wine Estate we didn’t want too much that evening so visited the Italian Restaurant Cornuti Al Mare and shared a Pizza – again a very enjoyable meal. Returning to Dolphins’ Playground we found Pam chatting to her friend. We were invited to join them and spent the rest of the evening exchanging views on a variety of subjects.

Dolphins’ Playground is a very comfortable, immaculately clean B&B with a very friendly and helpful hostess in a lovely area of Plettenberg Bay. It is not a boutique hotel and doesn’t profess to be one, but provides good value accommodation for Plett. We would certainly recommend Dolphins’ Playground to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

This quality B & B is located in a quiet select area of Plettenberg and is ideal for access to the wonderful beach.
The hospitality is first rate and nothing is too much trouble for Pam and her willing staff.
Breakfast on the deck, overlooking the sea, is made particulally interesting by viewing the dolphins ( and whales during the season). A feature of the breakfast table is a flag of the Country from where each party has travelled.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elshamgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We regarded ourselves as so lucky to have found this B &B - just "on spec" without a reservation. We felt at home from the minute we were shown our very comfortable room. The owner, Pam, invited us on to the large terrace with a stunning view of the ocean and served us a "welcome wine" just as the dolphins obliged by performing their "swim past". And that was the start of a couple of exceptionally pleasant days - swimming in the ocean and walks on the beautiful beach and exploring all the beautiful sights along the coast recommended by Pam. She was a wonderful host and we would love to return to her beautiful B & B.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TomLMunich_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

Great spot, minutes walk from the superb beach - and to eat breakfast on the deck with that view out over the bay - magic !

Only slight drawback is that there are no restaurants within walking distance, but Pam's trusted tax operator (Gecko) is friendly,reliable and cost effective for the evening runs.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We stayed here for 1 night on our way up the Garden Route. It is in a beautiful location, with views over Plettenberg Bay from the rooms and the very large terrace. Robbergs Beach is a 3 minute walk from the B&B! The room we stayed in was the smallest of the three, but beautiful and didn't seem small, with direct access to the terrace, where a lovely breakfast is served. The hostess is very friendly and gives advice on what to do in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We had the best time at the Dolphins Playground. The host, Pam, is extremely friendly and helpful in any way she can and realy went the extra mile to make our stay an unforgetable experience. Beautiful sea views, lots of things to do and good restaurants in the area. Swimming beach 2 minutes walk, white sandy beach.
Rooms very tidy with everything you need. Check out their website. Will definitely recommend dolphin and whale watching! We had the best adventure, seeing more than 20 whales (Southern Right whales) and a big school of dolphins (bottle nose dolphins), all in an hour! Make sure you come during whale watching season.
Golf courses in excellent condition, quite tricky in windy condtions!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
0.2 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
780 reviews
2.8 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
574 reviews
3.0 km away
Aquavit Guest House
Aquavit Guest House
#1 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#13 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
201 reviews
3.2 km away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#8 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
804 reviews
0.8 km away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 83 in Plettenberg Bay
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B

Address: 3 Tillamook Avenue, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: $87 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin's Playground offers you luxury beachfront bed & breakfast accommodation, situated in Plettenberg bay, on the most beautiful beach in the Garden Route. Rooms offer beautiful sea and mountain views and it is a 50 meter walk to Robberg Beach. Close to Knysna and all the tourist attractions. Reward yourself with a fantastic holiday - make your booking in Plettenberg bay today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dolphins' Playground Beachfront B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing