We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveller rating
112
22
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
22
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale suite robberg nature reserve decking area robberg island saw dolphins rooms are beautiful large deck see whales delicious breakfast nice stay whale watching memorable stay amazing place stayed here for nights pam views bay
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 136 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2010

We stayed at Dolphins’ Playground on the 14th and 15th October 2010. Arriving after a rather wet and dispiriting day our welcome from Pam, the owner, couldn’t have been better. Tea and biscuits on the large deck during a brief sunny interval set the scene. The view over the ocean and of the Robberg Peninsula was great and would give good views of southern right whales and bottlenose dolphins should they swim past, whilst the swing seat is ideal for relaxation. The beautiful Robberg beach is only a few minutes walk away, and the area appeared to be very safe.

We stayed in the smallest room, but as it has a huge bathroom, storage space was not a problem. Pam emphasised that visitors are welcome to use the comfortable lounge, so all you really need to do in the bedroom is sleep! That you should be able to do without a problem as the bed was extremely comfortable. There is a fridge with an honesty bar on the deck, and tea and coffee making facilities in the room together with cookies. The rooms open out onto the deck, where on our second day as the weather had improved we had a good breakfast, the hot part of which was freshly cooked.

Pam is very knowledgeable about the area, what to do, where to go and what to see. Her recommendations of where to eat were spot on for us. She even gave us a map of Plettenberg Bay, and marked the various restaurants on it for us. We ate on our first evening at the Med Seafood Bistro which was excellent. As we’d had a good lunch the following day at the Brammon Wine Estate we didn’t want too much that evening so visited the Italian Restaurant Cornuti Al Mare and shared a Pizza – again a very enjoyable meal. Returning to Dolphins’ Playground we found Pam chatting to her friend. We were invited to join them and spent the rest of the evening exchanging views on a variety of subjects.

Dolphins’ Playground is a very comfortable, immaculately clean B&B with a very friendly and helpful hostess in a lovely area of Plettenberg Bay. It is not a boutique hotel and doesn’t profess to be one, but provides good value accommodation for Plett. We would certainly recommend Dolphins’ Playground to our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2010

This quality B & B is located in a quiet select area of Plettenberg and is ideal for access to the wonderful beach.
The hospitality is first rate and nothing is too much trouble for Pam and her willing staff.
Breakfast on the deck, overlooking the sea, is made particulally interesting by viewing the dolphins ( and whales during the season). A feature of the breakfast table is a flag of the Country from where each party has travelled.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elshamgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We regarded ourselves as so lucky to have found this B &B - just "on spec" without a reservation. We felt at home from the minute we were shown our very comfortable room. The owner, Pam, invited us on to the large terrace with a stunning view of the ocean and served us a "welcome wine" just as the dolphins obliged by performing their "swim past". And that was the start of a couple of exceptionally pleasant days - swimming in the ocean and walks on the beautiful beach and exploring all the beautiful sights along the coast recommended by Pam. She was a wonderful host and we would love to return to her beautiful B & B.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TomLMunich_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Great spot, minutes walk from the superb beach - and to eat breakfast on the deck with that view out over the bay - magic !

Only slight drawback is that there are no restaurants within walking distance, but Pam's trusted tax operator (Gecko) is friendly,reliable and cost effective for the evening runs.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night on our way up the Garden Route. It is in a beautiful location, with views over Plettenberg Bay from the rooms and the very large terrace. Robbergs Beach is a 3 minute walk from the B&B! The room we stayed in was the smallest of the three, but beautiful and didn't seem small, with direct access to the terrace, where a lovely breakfast is served. The hostess is very friendly and gives advice on what to do in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews