We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Ginger

Ginger
Ranked #14 of 397 Restaurants in Port Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Ginger is a fine dining restaurant situated right on the beachfront of Port Elizabeth. The friendly city atmosphere carries across into our restaurant, where you will find our staff whose aim is to make your night 5 star worthy. Our combination of fresh ingredients, new cuisine ideas and an award winning wine list, means we have something to please everyone! We cater to our resident Foodies, Businessmen and those looking to have a special night out. Boasting an incredible view of what PE has to offer, Ginger invites their diners to sip their drinks on the deck while relaxing to the sounds and sight of the sea. Our restaurant, wine list and menu is constantly renovated to keep up with the trends in South Africa, while meeting the standards of our international diners. We strive to make your special occasions memorable and meet your needs. We hope to see you soon!
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

I have never gave 5 stars rating but this time the chateaubriand beef was spectacular ! Took also a red wine ( blend) Meerlust and I can guarantee a perfect dinner ! See the picture !

Thank Emerson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2018

We feel honoured to receive a 5 star rating from a diner who never give 5 stars! Thank you for your support and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
The Ginger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 782 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

Have seen this restaurant advertised many places and had great expectations but on being given the menu and told certain things had "run" out didn't feel me with joy
Having booked first thing in the morning and seeing it only had a few booking i felt we were in for a treat.
Sadly not having to now wait for a table or take the one next to the door did not fill me with confidence
The waitress introduced herself then disappeared.....very poor seeing the prices they are charging
Booked the table for 7.30 and it is now 8.17 and still no service (but we did get a drink...but no wine list )
And now to top it all after being offered bread to start for me and my wife my starter has turned up with NO BREAD for the other half
Its not going well (i am in the restaurant as i type )
Now the steaks we both had were amazing cooked to perfection..spot on but i still feel they have let them self down but not looking after the people who took the time time to book and not just turn up
Hope you have a better time than us
(even tho the exchange rate made it really chep )

Thank paulcJ497NW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to give feedback. It saddens us that you did not have a great fine dining experience us, please accept our sincerest apologies. This is not the standard of service we pride ourselves in and rest assured that this matter will be investigated and dealt with by management.

Warm Regards,
The Ginger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

The welcome and service at gingers was lovely.
The 5 spices pork was delicious just needed more vegetables for me personally.
Well worth a visit

Thank baillie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you had a good fine dining experience with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
The Ginger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

Excellent venue, atmosphere and service. Food was great, thoroughly enjoyable fine dining experience. Well worth a visit

Thank ColmT24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your fine dining experience with us! Thank you for the review and support and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
The Ginger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

The food was slow and when it arrived it was cold . Very disappointed after reading the reviews and as an international traveler I expected better.

Thank Escape34007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Ginger, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sad to hear that you had a disappointing time with us, please accept our sincerest apologies and rest assured that we will follow up these matters. We hope that in the future you will allow us the opportunity to change you perception of Ginger.

Warm Regards,
The Ginger Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ginger also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
 
Summerstrand, Port Elizabeth
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing