We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superior Rooms are beautifully furnished and spacious.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Court Kings Beach
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
JoziJETSETTER
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Superior Rooms are beautifully furnished and spacious.”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We booked two rooms in December 2011. This was our last leg culminating our Garden Route. The hotel was nearby halaal food places and we were pleasantly surprised that the amazing breakfast catered for its muslim gueats. Beauty has the art of making the best ever omelletes of your choice and the staff overall rocked. Enjoyed the ever so welcoming freshly squeezed orange juice. This is the best Garden Court Hotel in South Africa.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoziJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    172
    78
    23
    16
See reviews for
105
72
17
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights during our self-drive tour of South Africa.
Our first night was in a room right next to the lift. It kept us awake most of the night, and there was a lot of inconsiderate people banging doors both late at night and early in the morning.
We complained, and were upgraded to a lovely, spacious, quiet room with a sea view and a huge bed.
Both rooms were clean and tidy with flat screen TV, tea/coffee trays, and all the usual toiletries.
Reception staff were all friendly, helpful and efficient, especially Anastacia, who was amazing.
Breafast was, as usual for Garden Court Hotels, excellent. Lovely fresh orange juice, eggs cooked to order, and lots of choice. The breakfast room was very busy, but all went smoothly, food was topped up and used crockery etc efficiently cleared.
There is a steakhouse attatched to the hotel, but we found the food quality and service was dreadful. My husbands Rump Steak was replaced twice, but was so tough as to be inedible. There was no apology for this, and our evening was ruined.
On subsequent nights we drove to the supermarket and bought bbq'd meat and salads and wine, and enjoyed a picnic dinner.
Whist the hotel is by the seafront there is a petrol station, McDonalds Drive through, and a main road between it and the promenade/beach.
There is a very tiny swimming pool on the terrace.
The Boardwalk shopping and entertainment area is a short walk away, and it is a longer, but interesting walk to the Donkin, with it's lovely old buildings. The area is being revamped, and beginning to look beautiful. The scones at the old lighthouse are to die for!
We found walking round PE in the daytime to be safe and interesting, and were told it is safe to walk to the Boardwalk at night.
The seafront area is also being upgraded, making it difficult to access, but should be lovely when finished.
There is a large, guarded car park at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kings1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Clean comfortable high rise modern clinical hotel. An ok breakfast.

Set back from a busy beachfront road. This is not a particularly nice safe area and would recommend to think twice before venturing out particularly at night time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank extravelmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Stayed here for 1 night after driving from Knysna before flying to Cape Town.

Very comfortable, spotless & fairly spacious room overlooking the beach. Got a good deal through Southern Sun hotels on an early booking offer. Breakfast very good with eggs cooked to order.

Ate at Coco de Mer which is walking distance across the car park so well lit & safe. Poor meal with slow service but there was a large wedding party inside so this may have affected our experience.

Easy drive to the airport.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank excraftybakers18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

My wife and I stayed at the hotel on a recent trip to SA.

We stayed overnight at the hotel whilst travelling from Johannesburg for a trip driving along the Garden Route to Cape Town.

The Reception Staff were friendly and helpful and recommended a few restaurants in the area for dinner. They also informed us to be aware of our own personal safety at night if out and about and suggested the use of a taxi service.

We ate a restaurant nearby, CoCo de Mer, and found the food to be very good, a little steep on the prices, but a lovely little restaurant.

The Hotel is right on the beach front that makes for a pleasant walk

The Hotel has a swimming pool, but is a tad small. If more than 4 or 5 people used it at once it could be regarded as crowded

Breakfast was a standard help yourself and was average.

The hotel was perfectly adequate for an overnight stay but a little dated and close to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivorbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Stayed here for one night on a 16 day tour of South Africa with Travelsphere.
Stayed in room 522.
The hotel was modern and clean with friendly staff.
We arrived late afternoon after a long day touring and wanted to get showered and changed to go out and have a meal. As we were part of a tour group, we had to wait for our suitcases to be delivered to the room by the porters to get a change of clothing. After waiting over 45 minutes I decided to track down the suitcases myself and found them still sitting on a trolley in reception which I helped myself to. Not good porter service!
The toilet was nice and modern but the sink was VERY slow to drain.
When we arrived it was very windy and as the room was 5 floors up, it was even more windy which was reflected by a howling noise - like a jet engine coming through the seals on the windows. Thankfully by the time we went to bed the wind had died down so this did not interrupt our sleep.
Had a nice evening in the Cabaña Lounge at the bottom of the road on the waterfront.
Overall this was a nice hotel with a few niggles to sort out.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanWicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bredene, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

Nice and clean Hotel (no swimming pool, no fitness)
Beach & Ocean right in front of the hotel (less then 200m walking)
7/11 -shop, gasstation, Mc Donalds, Captain's karaoke bar, & delicious Seafood restaurant right in front of the Hotel.
Attached to the hotel you have a delicious restaurant too!!
Having a drink & a dance: Barny's & of course my favourite: Cubana (150m walking)
50m walking to a nice little sea-world like thing & a very nice museum!!!

A little further, you have 'the Board Walk', shopping & food !!!

Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenNoulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.1 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#16 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.7 km away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.2 km away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#17 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Kings Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Kings Beach

Property: Garden Court Kings Beach
Address: La Roche Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Kings Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Elizabeth is a city that boasts leisure attractions and an active business centre. The Garden Court King's Beach hotel affords easy access to everything that this city has to offer. Within walking distance of the magnificent King's Beach Promenade, this affordable accommodation offering is the gateway to a world of fun. With 2km of white sand, a surfing spot, the MacArther's Baths and many other attractions, this Garden Court is an ideal leisure destination. Mike's Kitchen is opening at the hotel on 1 October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Garden Court Kings Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court King`s Beach Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing