We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Garden Court Kings Beach
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Port Elizabeth
Cape Town
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Does the job”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

A run of the mill chain hotel that gets the job done without any flair or differentiation. Rooms are modern looking and clean but not outstanding in any way. There is plenty of evidence that this hotel was upgraded at minimal cost - with old plumbing and exterior untouched.

No deal breakers here, just not an exciting experience. Views are awesome.

Room Tip: Corner rooms often have howling wind noises - the result of old frames etc.. Choose rooms that are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judge404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    163
    72
    23
    15
See reviews for
100
65
17
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had a great stay at the hotel and found everything above our expectations. The highlight was dinner at the nearby Mediterranean Restaurant where sushi was half price and the meal superb.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Arrived here after a 18hr flight and the desk people weren't very accommodating. Room was nice but very very basic. Fantastic breakfast very good... Ok for a over nighter

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaseyGuerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London
Level Contributor
158 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

This hotel refuses to participate in the upgrading that is happening around the Port Elizabeth area, it doesn't fit the family nor does it respond to the business environment, my gut feeling is that it works better for families than business travellers. They seem to get a lot of government business, which is not necessarily a bad thing, but I get a feeling that this is why they don't rise to the occassion, the reception is tired and the business centre is just basic.

I am not sure if I just didnt fit the market trajectory of the hotel, maybe I am being unfair to the establishment, but my expectations of a 3-star establishment were not met by the food, the ambience, the staff, the room, the dining arrangements with nearby take aways are really bizarre, to say the least!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liyabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hotel has been a regular of mine for many years and recently it has been looking tired. I think it is due for a revamp. Our room was typical of a garden court. Clean, with a nice shower and TV. The blanket in the room came in handy when my traveling companion came down with a bout of shivers. The carpet on the passage did not smell good, however. The shower drainage was too slow resulting in the water spilling onto the bathroom floor and the plugs on the right side of the room kept cutting power off to the right side of the room including TV and bedside lights. While the power was restored within 5 minutes and an extension plug provided, it was rather concerning that we would be placed in a room with a non-working plug. As usual, the noise from other bathrooms meant no sleep after 6am, which is OK as this is a business hotel rather than a vacation venue. Location is excellent, but the Spur was always full and the McDonalds next door was only open to cars (meaning you have to drive from the hotel, about 50 metres away)

Room Tip: Sea view rooms, if you can get them provide a great view. The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabeloN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoziJETSETTER
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

We booked two rooms in December 2011. This was our last leg culminating our Garden Route. The hotel was nearby halaal food places and we were pleasantly surprised that the amazing breakfast catered for its muslim gueats. Beauty has the art of making the best ever omelletes of your choice and the staff overall rocked. Enjoyed the ever so welcoming freshly squeezed orange juice. This is the best Garden Court Hotel in South Africa.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoziJetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights during our self-drive tour of South Africa.
Our first night was in a room right next to the lift. It kept us awake most of the night, and there was a lot of inconsiderate people banging doors both late at night and early in the morning.
We complained, and were upgraded to a lovely, spacious, quiet room with a sea view and a huge bed.
Both rooms were clean and tidy with flat screen TV, tea/coffee trays, and all the usual toiletries.
Reception staff were all friendly, helpful and efficient, especially Anastacia, who was amazing.
Breafast was, as usual for Garden Court Hotels, excellent. Lovely fresh orange juice, eggs cooked to order, and lots of choice. The breakfast room was very busy, but all went smoothly, food was topped up and used crockery etc efficiently cleared.
There is a steakhouse attatched to the hotel, but we found the food quality and service was dreadful. My husbands Rump Steak was replaced twice, but was so tough as to be inedible. There was no apology for this, and our evening was ruined.
On subsequent nights we drove to the supermarket and bought bbq'd meat and salads and wine, and enjoyed a picnic dinner.
Whist the hotel is by the seafront there is a petrol station, McDonalds Drive through, and a main road between it and the promenade/beach.
There is a very tiny swimming pool on the terrace.
The Boardwalk shopping and entertainment area is a short walk away, and it is a longer, but interesting walk to the Donkin, with it's lovely old buildings. The area is being revamped, and beginning to look beautiful. The scones at the old lighthouse are to die for!
We found walking round PE in the daytime to be safe and interesting, and were told it is safe to walk to the Boardwalk at night.
The seafront area is also being upgraded, making it difficult to access, but should be lovely when finished.
There is a large, guarded car park at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kings1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
1.1 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#16 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.7 km away
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
City Lodge Hotel Port Elizabeth
#11 of 13 in Summerstrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.2 km away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#17 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Kings Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Kings Beach

Property: Garden Court Kings Beach
Address: La Roche Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Court Kings Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Elizabeth is a city that boasts leisure attractions and an active business centre. The Garden Court King's Beach hotel affords easy access to everything that this city has to offer. Within walking distance of the magnificent King's Beach Promenade, this affordable accommodation offering is the gateway to a world of fun. With 2km of white sand, a surfing spot, the MacArther's Baths and many other attractions, this Garden Court is an ideal leisure destination. Mike's Kitchen is opening at the hotel on 1 October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Court Kings Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court King`s Beach Hotel Port Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing