We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
177
166
73
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
166
73
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews virgin active gym spar supermarket one night an excellent hotel breakfast buffet four star clean rooms business trip enjoyed my stay close to the airport convenient location stayed for nights top class short stay south africa cape town home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 444 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2017

1.The breakfast was perfect but the room service food was always late more than an hour wait and beef Curry and Pork Ribs was not nice.
2. The room was too small for the South Africa 4 star hotels that I previously visited, there is no proper space for even the tea/coffee facilities, bathroom has no bath and had no space to put toiletries item properly.
3. Absent of bath in the bathroom means that the hotel don't accomodate kids. Same as the fact that not even a single kids channels is available on the TV channel list.
4. The provided Iron had a cable (about 50cm long) that is too short to be used for Ironing using the hotel plugs which are positioned less than 50cm from floor. It is meant for a plug that is located above a meter. This short cable made it difficult to iron.
5. Room had no mini bar fridge which is standard for all 4 star hotels in South Africa that I previously visited.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Duma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSAPE, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2017

Good day

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, your feedback is appreciated.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our breakfast, Room service is generally 45 minutes per meal and if the hotel is busy then it does sometimes take a bit longer but i do apologize for any inconvenience caused we will bring this up with the chef. We do have rooms with baths in them upon making the booking a guest can specify that they would like a room specifically with a bath, we do accommodate kids some of our room have sleeper sofa's in them for kids under the age of twelve but that also needs to be specified upon making the booking.We will be sure to look into the length of the iron cables and bar fridges also needs to be requested upon making the booking as we have selective rooms with mini bars in them.
We do hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind regards

Sheree Stevens
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2017

I have always driven past this hotel when i stayed in PE but i never knew how beautiful it is inside. The staff is fantastic, decor and the overall set up of the hotel is beautiful. Comfortable and clean rooms. Dinner was very nice and the breakfast just as good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea give a nicer view
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TEBELLO P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSAPE, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2017

Good Day

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, your feedback is appreciated.
It is always such a boost to receive positive feedback such as this. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff helped you feel at home. We do our best to cater to our guests needs in the best way we can.
We do hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards
Sheree
Guests Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 1, 2017 via mobile

Well done to management and all employees for the excellent customer service offered at the Paxton Hotel.

Attended a wedding and unfortunately could only stay 1 night. The sea facing room was well maintained and very neat and tidy. Reception staff was warm and welcoming and was eager to assist to a request.

We ordered room service and it was delicious! Chicken curry and burger was beautiful... really enjoyed the full buffet breakfast and early morning friendly faces.

We will be back soon... keep it up

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank ladding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSAPE, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2017

Good Day

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, your feedback is appreciated.
It is always such a boost for management and staff alike to receive positive feedback such as this.We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with with us and that our staff assisted in making you feel at home. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to Management and staff. We do hope to welcome you back in the very near future!

Kind Regards
Sheree
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2017

Location is well situated in between the airport & city centre. Views from the hotel over the harbour makes one feel like you are at the coast.
Food quality is amazing with a wide selection of starters, main courses & desserts. The dining area is warm and we enjoyed sitting down to a meal as if you were at home. The bar is well stocked with television coverage of the latest sport. Staff in the dining area are well trained and customer focused.
Rooms are clean and offer extremely good value for money. A queen size bed, cable television, free wireless, coffee and tea - all with a huge en- suite bathroom. A customised chocolate was waiting for me on my arrival with a free drink from the bar.
Check out was smooth and staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 57clints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSAPE, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2017

Good Day

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, your positive feedback is definitely a boost for our staff and management alike. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and wonderful harbor view to your liking.I will be sure to share your comments with the appropriate departments, the dining room, kitchen and reception staff.
We do hope to welcome you back in the very near future!

Kind Regards
Sheree
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2017

The Paxton Hotel is one of those rare hotels that are owner managed , it is well looked after and the service from staff and management is incredible. easy to recommend to anyone travelling to Port Elizabeth

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank K7385NNmartind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RSAPE, Guest Relations Manager at Paxton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2017

Good Day

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, your feedback is appreciated.
It is always a boost for management and staff alike to receive positive feedback such as this.We do strive in catering to our guests needs in the best way we can.
We do hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards
Sheree
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews