We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveller rating
83
67
22
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
67
22
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house secure car park staff for making our stay hiking trail main building brilliant stay close to the airport conference room fresh fruit rooms are spacious enjoyed our stay self catering unit on arrival spent one night home away from home business trip guesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 192 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2018

I have stayed at the Victoria and Alfred 3 times over the last 6 years, and it is wonderful to have Pat and John back, nothing is too much and they will give you great tips on what to do. The accommodation is in a quaint Victorian age with beautiful touches and decor. They even arranged for a scrumptious picnic basket when we went to Addo Game park just an hour away, after a full day game viewing in a hot car the swimming pool was a lovely welcome and time to cool off before having a pre dinner drink in the bar (Our favourite and worth trying if you never have before is Craft pink gin and tonic Dinner was well thought out we had 3 courses for R150 a steel and the bonus we did not have to go out. We spent the evening talking to John and Pat about our day at Addo and John suggested we do Historic Tour of Port Elizabeth which we thoroughly enjoyed. Settlers Park is across the road and has wonderful trails for walking. An amazing stay thanks to our wonderful hosts. The guest house is just 5 mins from the airport and the gorgeous blue flag beaches around Port Elizabeth, there is a secure car park at the back of the accommodation and we even got our car washed as a surprise before we left - Thank you to all the staff for making our stay perfect. I look so forward to going back next year and seeing the upgrade plans John let us into.

Room tip: A Balcony room is large and lovely
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geco659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlia K, General Manager at Victoria and Alfred Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2018

Dear Geco659
Thank you for your positive review after staying at the Victoria and Alfred Guest House. It was only a pleasure to host you and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your dinner and special picnic basket. We cannot wait to have you back in the near future in our new and upgraded establishment.

PS: When you return remember to ask about our new and exciting Bay City Tours with a amazing picnic at Schoenmakerskop.

Kind Regards
The V&A Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Without a doubt, I will definitely stay at the Victoria & Alfred Guest House again. So quiet and relaxing. The staff were exceptionally professional and friendly and the room was extremely comfortable and has everything one needs.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank deeneb2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

Very poor service from check in. Staff were not friendly and welcoming upon arrival. Room were cold and not clean at all. dirty marks and blood stains on duvet cover. The shower have horrible mould and unhygienic. The guesthouse looks tired and needs serious attention.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank aubytradingpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2018

A nice clean airy room. The best was a delightful staff member who washed my car and noticed I had a flat tyre. He came and found me at breakfast and offered to changed the tyre in the rain. Very heart warming to know there are such kind people around.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2018

Disaster from the word go.

our check-in was confusing and staff could not/would not find our booking and then claimed we had not made a reservation.

dinner staff were exceptionally rude and unwilling to accommodate a late arrival.

Rooms and Bathrooms were terribly dirty.

Staff were on the whole rude, antagonistic, unwilling to assist and unprofessional.

Will never recommend and last time we will ever use this place.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WarwickG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews