We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in Sandals Guest House in December 2011 as we journeyed along the Garden Route from Port Elizabeth to Capetown, and we will not forget the wonderful time we had in both Sandals and St Francis Bay. The owners Tess and Ryszard run a beautiful hotel with very professional, attentive and friendly staff. Taps and Heather are great staff members. The rooms are unique and full of character, each of the rooms we booked was completely different and it is a great place to relax and enjoy. We especially enjoyed the early morning walks on the beach only 150 metres away and then back for a freshly cooked breakfast. When we arrived after a long flight from Dublin we found Tess and Ryszard had even made a provisional booking in a local restaurant for us so we would be sure of a meal on our first night in SA. If you are anywhere near St Francis Bay then I recommend you detour to the lovely Sandals Guest House. Rory & Denise O'Hagan, Dublin Ireland

Room Tip: We stayed in Room No 2 - it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RORYO25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Dear Rory & Denise
It was OUR PLEASURE to host you and your lovely family in December. You all have a wonderful sense of humour and spirit and we so enjoyed your company.
THANK YOU for this wonderful review and especially the praise of my valued staff who I could just never manage without!
We hope to see you all back in St Francis one day. Have a healthy and happy 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed in Sandals Guest House for six nights. St. Francis was our last station of our 3 week journey from cape town to port elizabeth. The staff and especially the owner tess was very friendly. The did their best to make the stay to an unforgatable event. The room and the breakfast just can get one rating: aaa+! Thank you very much...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Olaf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Thank you for the time taken to review Sandals. We are always very grateful for the wonderful feedback.
Our much sought after pancake specialities are "waiting" for your return one day soon...We hope you had a great Christmas and start to 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My wife and I stayed at Sandals in early Dec 2011. The hosts Tess and Ryszard are wonderful. We were made so welcome and they gave so much of their time to chat with us and to advise us on what we should visit and where we should eat. The accommodation is lovely and the breakfast was great....freshly cooked to our liking. We sat by the pool on a lovely sunny afternoon and Tess and her staff treated us to a beautiful afternoon treat ...home made health bread, cheeses, ham, salami and tomatoe and,of course, lovely coffee. St. Francis Bay is a beautiful place to visit. A walk along the beach is a must. Bring along the camera for wonderful shots. We are very happy to recommend this as a lovely place to stay. Cork, Ireland.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fachtna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

I remember your "pool picnic" so well and it was the most gorgeous afternoon in St Francis Bay! THANK YOU for the lovely comments and feedback! Our fabulous beach awaits...we hope to see you again in our part of the world one day soon. Best wishes for a healthy and kind 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

What a great place and we were so well looked after. A very relaxing location and Tess was kind and genuinely interested in us and making our stay go well. Thanks.

Euan Morrison, Edinburgh

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Euan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed here for two nights on our drive on the garden route. The staff and owner Tess were helpful and attentive. The rooms were clean and the breakfast very good. It was only a few minutes from the beach and the restaurants and had a nice garden with small pool in which to relax.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Finaidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I loved my stay at Sandals. My room was airy and spacious with its own personal veranda, gorgeous outside shower and a huge bathroom, just for me. I love the thatch roof and the design of the guesthouse, and the deck leading out onto the pool is a great place to spend relaxing, or chatting to the owners who bring with them welcome and interest from their days of yachting. I will definitely be back, especially for the breakfasts... and the polish vodka in the honesty bar!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed here for one night with friends on our drive along the Garden Route. What a charming, quaint, little guest house, only 150m from the beach. We had a lovely welcome with drinks and shortbread on arrival. Breakfast was very good and room was spacious with it's own small patio. Staff were all very helpful, especially Heather whose shortbread is to die for (she even gave me the recipe!). It was a short walk to the shopping centre with restaurants and bar. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandadmin, Owner at Sandals Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2012

Thank you for your review of Sandals GH and the time taken to do so. We hope that one day you can return to SA and enjoy our shortbread just as much! In the mean time, myself and Heather hope you are making it at home, relaxing with a cup of tea and fondly reliving your time at Sandals and St Francis Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francis Bay
1.1 km away
Thatchwood
Thatchwood
#1 of 2 in Saint Francis Bay
108 reviews
3.5 km away
Cape St Francis Resort
Cape St Francis Resort
#1 of 2 in Cape St Francis
644 reviews
2.1 km away
Dune Ridge Country House
Dune Ridge Country House
#1 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Sands at St Francis
The Sands at St Francis
#3 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
178 reviews
2.4 km away
i-Lollo Lodge
i-Lollo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Saint Francis Bay
181 reviews
17.0 km away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Guest House

Address: 4 Napier Road | St Francis Bay, Saint Francis Bay 6312, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Saint Francis Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Francis Bay
Price Range: $143 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned 150 metres from main beach, Sandals Boutique Guesthouse offers its guests a unique and international blend of superb hospitality, cuisine and service. The beauty, tranquillity and friendly hospitality of Sandals will ensure you have a chance to relax and enjoy the "laid-back" luxury which Sandals Guest House provides. Sensational surf, pristine beaches, rugged coastline & indigenous fynbos create a perfect setting for relaxation & play in St Francis Bay! Within walking distance or a few minute’s drive away are fabulous restaurants, quaint village shops, Port St Francis, nature walks, Jack Nicklaus award-winning St Francis Links & our local St Francis Bay Golf Club! No holiday in South Africa is complete without experiencing our warmth, friendliness and personal service at Sandals, St Francis Bay.We will ensure you leave relaxed, rejuvenated and determined to return again soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing