We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
45
11
4
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
11
4
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house christmas period thanks guys home away from home place to stay very pleasant stay next morning business trip erica jozi host johannesburg braai establishment hospitality airport
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 61 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2018

5th Avenue Guest house was the perfect venue to celebrate my mother's 50th birthday, the service was incredible, the prices were completely affordable and the venue was just beautiful. I would personally recommend them to anyone looking for a relaxing place to stay or a lively party venue.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank H6516ODalisonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2017

The rooms were clean & tidy, and the house offered good facilities and was very close to airport. Our host was very welcoming and accommodating and provided a great evening meal with nice wine! would stay again.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Iain G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guesthouse4star, Manager at 5th Avenue Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2017

Hi Iain, It was great to have you and your family with us. Thank you for the kind review. Looking forward to your next visit
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 9, 2017

What a great hotel. Situated a short distance from OR Tambo International 5th Avenue is a big contender for other hotels in the area.
Stayed here for almost two weeks and loved it. My second time at 5th Avenue and it certainly didn't disappoint, the staff are like family and are always on hand to help out where they can. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking at a hotel in the Edenvale area of Johannesburg to consider 5th Avenue.
A huge thank you to Jenny, Angie and Wayne for their hospitality and friendliness during my stay! Thanks guys!

Room tip: Room 10 has a great shower
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jack-Bowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guesthouse4star, Manager at 5th Avenue Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Wow, Thanx for the great review! You guys made it so easy, it was awesome to have you and your family with us. Looking forward to next year. Miss you all so much, "Home" is quiet and nobody around the pool or on the deck to party with. A big Thank you from all the Management and Staff at 5th Avenue Guest House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017

i think you need to improve in food services,at least have two meals that people can choose from when you prepare dinner.The dinner that i ate on the second day(21/11/2017) i was not impressed at all.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank shonisaniportiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guesthouse4star, Front Office Manager at 5th Avenue Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Hi Portia

Thank you so much for your feedback, we really do appreciate it.
I do apologise for you not enjoying the food, usually the chicken Batri is one of our favourites amongst the guests. We can most certainly offer an extra option for dinner if it is not to your taste or preference.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Angie and the 5th Avenue team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2017

Great place to stay. Possibly best described as a top-of-the-range back packers. Venue is clean and neat. Fittings and deco are a little dated but it's a great value stay. An easy place to recommend for a casual stay. Breakfast was good.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank M1730DF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guesthouse4star, Front Office Manager at 5th Avenue Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Hi There

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all the feedback.

We are currently in the process of renovating and upgrading our rooms. I sincerely hope all will be done by your next visit.

Hope to hear from you soon

Kind Regards
Angie and the 5th Avenue team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews