We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel Johannesburg Wanderers
Nearby Hotels
The Peech Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premiere Classe Suites(Johannesburg)
US$74
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$129
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Capital on Bath(Johannesburg)
US$82
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monarch Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$190
US$181
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Winston Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$192
US$183
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clico Boutique Hotel(Johannesburg)
US$197
US$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
54 on Bath(Johannesburg)
US$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
130
222
89
22
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
222
89
22
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelmelrose archroom servicean applecape townbusiness hotelcricket stadiumreception stafffree shuttlecomfortable roomssouth africaenjoyed my stayrosebank mallwanderersjohannesburgclubprotea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just got back from staying at this hotel for 5 nights. On our 2nd day, having been out all day we returned to our room to find my sons expensive Bose earphones had disappeared from the room! Reported it to the hotel who reluctantly eventually showed a small amount of interest. They then claim they phoned the maid at home who said that she hadn't seen them. Funny, because they were there when we left.
On our 3rd day we were sitting in the smoking room watching the tv. My sons phone disappeared from the table next to him. We reported it to security who watched the CCTV in that room. They clearly saw a man calmly enter the room, head towards the rear of the room ,then wait until my son was looking away and stole his phone. The security staff called the police and we reported it to as a crime to them.
For both of these thefts I would have expected the hotel to take far more interest and try to make amends in some way, but no they seemed very blase about both issues. Maybe it's a regular thing there.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHWanderers, Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear mark b,

We appreciate you bringing this unfortunate and regrettable incident you encountered to our attention. Please accept our sincere apologies for all the discomfort and inconvenience that was caused to you and your son.

We confirm that this isolated incident has been investigated and that our TEAM, including our outsourced security company, has taken the appropriate action to rectify any shortcomings in our facilities (including security). Thank you for taking the time to give us your constructive criticism, as it is absolutely necessary for us to know how our GUESTS experience our hotel and surrounding event grounds. Your comments have reached the attention of all involved and have assisted us in creating a commitment to ensure that situations such as this isolated incident do not arise in the future.

Your interest and concern are truly invaluable to us.

Your Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were picked up at the airport and driven here, about a half hour drive but gave us chance to take in the surroundings. An ideal hotel for business or transit purposes. Made very welcome on arrival and fruit and water in the room, which was more than adequate for the time we spent there. The bar and dining areas were very welcoming and a mixed and varied menue. There is also a small outside pool. Can be used for business, couples or singles, not an ideal location for long stays though.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sonyafield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHWanderers, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear sonyafield,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback after your recent stay with us at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers.

Your feedback is highly valued to us and has been shared within the organization to ensure that we do not only meet our travelers expectations but exceed them.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers soon.

Kind regards,

Scelo Maxson Ndaba
GUEST Relations Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott® Johannesburg Wanderers

D +27 (0) 11 770 5540
T +27 (0) 11 770 5500
F +27 (0) 11 770 5555
E maxson.ndaba@proteahotels.com
proteahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights before heading to Cape town. Hotel offers smoking & non-smoking rooms, some rooms being on the same floor (opposite halls). Small store in the lobby & offers the basics via room service. Rooms are an okay size & comfortable. Wi-fi was steady. Not really much in the area but the shuttle can drop you at Rosebank & you can go from there.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHWanderers, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear C W,

On behalf of the Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers Management TEAM, I would like to thank you for taking time to complete the GUEST Satisfaction Survey after your recent stay.

Your feedback has been shared within the organization to ensure that we do not only meet our travelers expectation but exceed them.

Once again thank you for assisting us strive for service excellence.


Kind regards,

Scelo Maxson Ndaba
GUEST Relations Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott® Johannesburg Wanderers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Had to stay over for business trip. Very helpful and friendly staff. Shuttle was organised to venue. Driver was very entertaining. Room had everything I needed. Breakfast was divine. Would recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teri59k17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

Only managed to check in late in the evening and Esther still accommodated my request for a room facing the car park even though I hadn't pre-arranged it. Friendly and welcoming. Breakfast isn't great - fresh fruit disappointing and not a great choice, in my opinion, if you don't go for a cooked meal. All the staff unfailingly good, though.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHWanderers, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Dear Mr. James D

Thank you for taking time and completing the GUEST Satisfaction Survey with regards to your recent stay at Protea Hotel by Marriott® Johannesburg Wanderers.

Thank you for your great feedback and glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us however please accept my sincere apologies for the fresh fruit selection that didn't meet your expectations. We will definitely look into it to improve in our selection.

Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Scelo Maxson Ndaba
GUEST Relations Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott® Johannesburg Wanderers

D +27 (0) 11 770 5540
T +27 (0) 11 770 5500
F +27 (0) 11 770 5555
E maxson.ndaba@proteahotels.com
proteahotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews