We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak and Marrow Bones - What could be Better”
Review of The Local Grill

The Local Grill
Ranked #5 of 1,460 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Best Steakhouse in South Africa awarded by The Wolftrap steakhouse championships. Offering kitchen tours and beef courses. Beef all aged on the premises and cut to order.
Reviewed April 11, 2018

Johannesburg has many steakhouses but The Local Grill is my favourite. Steve and his team do an outstanding job. The only negative is finding parking but if one is prepared to walk a shoirt distance it is easy enough. The welcome is warm and the food outstanding - sirloin on the bone and marrow bones, one has died and gone to heaven

Thank Alanmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Hi Alan

It is always a pleasure welcoming you to The Local Grill and your comments are appreciated.

Thank you for your valued support.

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 486 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2018 via mobile

Date night with my wife and not too far from home brought me here.

I felt like beef and veggies and they served beef and veggies. No extras, no specials. This place serves pure beef. Not that it was bad at all, it is just the clinical professional approach that bothered me.

Also remember to park close-by as crime is alive and an incident happened while we were there.

So in summary this is a traditional steak house with goid steaks and no frills.

Thank leonuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Thank you Leon for taking the time to write a review. We try and be all about the steak on the plate and it seems we are getting there. The crime in most popular restaurant spots is at a all time high but I can assure you it is being addressed. Our kitchen tour is our "frill" and hope you got a walk behind the scenes to see why we pride ourselves for serving the best of beef.
Many thanks once more, regards Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

We have been there with a group of 8 colleagues. On top of good wine ( maestro and black dog ) we had nice beef platter and some appetizers ( beef also ... ). Really recommend to go

Thank Emerson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Hi Emerson

Thank you for your review and punt for Black Dog, a great South African Malbec. Hope your beef experience left you wanting to come back for more.
Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2018 via mobile

Food was great and great value for money! Service was a bit slow because our section was crowded, which translated to a sub-par dining experience...

When we came, the waiter offered us for the kitchen tour and meat freezing room - it was great learning the cooking method and type of meat available (all local beef -2 options: grass-fed and grain-fed).

Then we were led back to the dining room, we ordered few items that are soup, salad and steak, but because the restaurant was busy, our waiter didn’t re-confirm our order.

Waited for at least 20 minutes for our food to arrive, but oddly it wasn’t the appetiser, instead it was our steak, main course straightaway?

Our waiter missed out our appetiser order...he apologised for it, which was very well appreciated. Overall, it could have been a better dining experience if our waiter pays more attention to us...instead we have to call other waiters to attend to us because our waiter is always busy with other tables.

Thank Padma26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Hi Padma

Having read your review several times it really concerns me that your experience was sub-standard and certainly not what we try to deliver consistently.

I will take this up with the team and mention the incident in our daily training.

My sincere apologies and please feel free to mention this review should you visit us again. I will gladly host you and rectify the experience.

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 1, 2018

We had dinner here last night, and it lived up to our expectations this time. I had the grass-fed sirloin on the bone and my wife had the salmon.

Both dishes were excellently prepared and the services as good. Still one of our favourite steak-houses in Johannesburg, Just book ahead, it is always full.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 74gerhardj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven M, Owner at The Local Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Thank you Heeggenoeg, your review is really appreciated. hope to see you again soon!

Regards
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Local Grill also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Local Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing