We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
196
147
24
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
147
24
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kosher food self catering full kitchen pick pay washing machine restaurant downstairs shopping mall secure parking great accommodation hotel is located tambo airport lounge area northern suburbs the ground floor great place to stay comfortable stay easy access
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 387 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2018 via mobile

Just awful. Stopped here for a gap between a Safari in Hoedspruit and travelling back to Dubai on our honeymoon it's the highest ranked place on TripAdvisor and Google in Johannesburg!

I am really struggling to understand why it is! We stopped here twice a week apart, once going to Hoedspruit and once on the way back, its 20 mins from OR Tambo which was one of the reasons we selected it, convient location and the fact the complex has shops for places to eat or food shopping (there are 2 supermarkets in the centre).

On both occasions the breakfasts were awful that were provide by Genesis in their Bistro, which has a linked shared kitchen to the Phat Larry's Pizza Place (the pizza was awful as was the pasta) and the Genesis Bar and Lounge.

The Staff for the most part are smiley happy people with decent customer service.

The rooms are terrible the bathrooms (2 bathrooms in each suite) have mould in the showers and corners of the room, there are many cracks in the grouting in the tiles which will help hold and spread bacteria.

On both occasions we visited for 2 nights there were children running around in the communal area from 6:30am screaming and shouting, on the second visit it was worse as they were on the same level as us! Also left by these 'residents' were plates with half eaten pies on and rubbish all over the stairs in the same area! Disgusting! Obviously the staff don't seem to care.

The rooms are rather odd with the first room having an ensuite with no door!

Beds are hard, pillows are OK, sheets felt a little like sand paper.

There is a Smart TV in rooms which is good but they are rather slow and old but useable.

My advice is just steer clear and go elsewhere!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Giles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Trip Advisor Questionnaire following your recent stay with us here at Genesis All-Suite Hotel.

I was dismayed to read that you were disappointed with your stay overall, and that you had experienced various service issues during your stay while on honeymoon. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you in this regard. I can assure you that this is certainly not typical of our usual high standard of service and I have addressed your comments to the relevant Department Heads for further investigation.

We very much appreciate reading your comments, as it is only by receiving such information from valued Guests such as yourself that we are better able to see where we stand in certain areas and what improvements we can make to further satisfy any requirements that you may have. It is as a result of the valued feedback from our guests that we have been able to achieve the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence since 2013 every year!

It will give us great pleasure to welcome you back to Genesis All-Suite Hotel. Indeed, perhaps when planning your next visit to Johannesburg, you would be kind enough to contact my office directly in order that I can make the necessary arrangements to personally ensure that your next stay with us is a comfortable and enjoyable one.

Yours sincerely

Nico Steenkamp

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2018

Breakfast is the best we have ever had . Stuffed omelettes, chicken nuggets, chicken sausages, lovely juice , fresh fruits and thenlist goes on. The apartment Hotel is simply wonderful, everything in the room looked very new, rooms are spotless, there were 2 bedrooms , 2 fulll bathrooms, kitchen , utensils , washer and a dryer in our apartment. Washer and the dryer were a big help if u r on a long vacation. Free bottled water every day ( not the small ones, big 2 l ones ). An absolute gem.

Not in the city centre though, but if u have a rental car it’s fine . It’s got a couple of big grocery stores in the floors below .

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Wanderlust19802008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2018

Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a TripAdvisor Review following your recent stay with us at Genesis All-Suite Hotel.

Thank you very much for your kind review of Genesis All-Suite Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such great feedback from our Guests. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef, Larry Fleisher and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Genesis All-Suite Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nico Steenkamp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2018 via mobile

We booked a 2 bedroom with a spacious living room, dining and kitchen. It was very well furnished. For under USD100 per night, it was very good value. There was a Woolworth supermarket one level down and Pick n Pay which is very convenient. The hotel provides airport pickup at ZAR350 ( cheaper than hailing one at the taxi counter at JNB airport for ZAR400).

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank junesing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a TripAdvisor Review following your recent stay with us at Genesis All-Suite Hotel.

Thank you very much for your kind review of Genesis All-Suite Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such great feedback from our Guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Genesis All-Suite Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nico Steenkamp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2018

Very convenient location for our needs to be in the Sandringham area. Very friendly staff, from reservations to front desk to housekeeping. The accommodation was comfortable and clean and it was nice to be able to open the doors to the balcony. We will stay there again in the future. The hotel arrangement with Rosscocars is a bonus. And for kosher travellers, sufficient choice in the building for meals and a Pick & Pay right there.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank RaiselM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a TripAdvisor Review following your recent stay with us at Genesis All-Suite Hotel.

Thank you very much for your kind review of Genesis All-Suite Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such great feedback from our Guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Genesis All-Suite Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nico Steenkamp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Stayed here on a business trip for three days recently. Lovely clean apartments with all the appliances needed. Scrumptious breakfasts and very friendly staff. Restaurant served fresh good food. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyb4146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
656Nico, General Manager at Genesis All-Suite Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Dear TripAdvisor Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a TripAdvisor Review following your recent stay with us at Genesis All-Suite Hotel.

Thank you very much for your kind review of Genesis All-Suite Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive such great feedback from our Guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Genesis All-Suite Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nico Steenkamp
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews