We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“No Internet, no good review” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,319 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,072 helpful votes
“No Internet, no good review”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

My hotel reviews are based primarily on value received. Else, it is impossible to comapre a Ritz wirth a Savoy with a Taj with a Holiday Inn with a Motel 6. Hotels and taxis in South Africa are surprisingly expensive for a country that has 20% unemployment and extreme poverty. Hence the value quotient would have to be very high to justify such high prices. Holiday Inn Rosebank does not justify the high prices it charges.

It is a very modern,contemporary,chic hotel with an excellent location next to the Zone and the Mall at Rosebank and steps from the Gautrain station. Nonetheless,it is inexcusable for ANY hotel in this day and age not to offer internet as an utility similar too water and electricity. Specially a chain in the middlerange as the Holiday Inn has no business for charging for internet. The sad part is that they are actually trying to be very cute. As you enter the elevator, there is a big poster announcing 'Free Internet at all Holiday Inns in South Africa'. You get very excited, until you either ask the receptionist or login and find out that after less than 15 minutes of surfing you have been logged out. Well, the 'free internet' is ONLY for 30MBs of usage! So much for deception and cheating and misleading the guests. It is better to be honest and say 'WE DO NOT OFFER FREE INTERNET, YOU WILL HAVE TO PAY THROUGH YOUR NOSE TO USE IT'. Buit this will be well beyond the integrity levels of the Intercontinental Group, and therefore shame to them for this.

Further, they have the gall to charge 150 Rand for breakfast per person. You step down and have one of the most satisfying bnreakfasts at Tascas for less than 80 Rands per person. The hotel should put a sign at the restaurant saying, 'WE FLEECE YOU FOR BREAKFAST, YOU WILL BE BETTER OFF GOING TO TASCAS FOR BREAKFAST'. During the 3 days we were there, I never saw any one having breakfast in the hotel!

Next, they have a racket going with the taxis. If yoiu ask them to call you a taxi, they will quote you a price for your trip (no meters) and offer to put it on your bill. All dandy and convenient, until you start chatting with the taxi driver and realize that if you had negotiated with him directly, the rate would have been 30 - 40% lower. They sent a taxi to pick us up from the airport and charged us 400 Rands. We paid 300 Rands on the return! Some racket going on!

Everything is spick and span and modern and so on until you realize various issues. There is a shower in the tub, but just a quarter of a glass panel on the tub with the result that the water spills all over the floor. There is no rod or shelf or bar to put the bath towel within reach of the shower. One has to come out of the shower soaking wet on to a wet floor and risk slipping all over to reach the towel. The hair dryer is placed in the study desk instead of in the bathroom!!! Go figure this one!

On the day of the checkout, we stepped out for breakfast at 8AM, had not put a do not disturb sign, came back and saw that all the linen (bed sheets, towels, pillow covers) had been removed. Of course, the room had not been cleaned, and since we had a late checkout, we had to ask them to replace all the linen!

And lastly, my pet peeve with the Priority Club program. As a Platinum member, I am rarely ecognized and given the respect and benefits that should come from patronizing a hotel chain with over 40 nites in a year. No breakfast, no internet, no upgrade, no nothing. Priority Club seriosuly needs to look itself in the mirror and look at the benefits offered by HHOnors. Starwood and Marriott hotel chains.

So overall, shame to this Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZenHealer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Many thanks for your comments realting to your recent stay in our hotel. May I take the opportunity of apologising for the inconvenience caused to you for the various problems that you experienced. This is not the standard of service we are striving for and all of the issues within our control will be rectified to avoid inconvenience in the future.
In particular the deceptive elevator poster with reference to the internet has been removed however reference is made to our internet offering in the directory of services in each bedroom. Our rates are exclusive of breakfast and there is a full buffet or continental breakfast. Your comments relating the housekeeping have been noted and have already been remedied. Any transport arrangements made through the hotel are charged according the direct charges from the transport operator and we do not add an additional mark up on their price.
Once again my sincere apologies for the area we have let you down and I trust that we may be of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    166
    45
    10
    8
See reviews for
33
67
26
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I worked in Johanesburg for a month and stayed at the Holiday Inn, JHB,as it was close to my office. The hotel was in a good location as it was right by the Gautrain and a big shopping mall which had ok restaurants and basic shops like Clicks and Woolworths.

One positive was that the hotel had a nice pool and nice sun loungers, (not that I used it as I was working til late-the pool closed at 6pm/going out and travelled around at the weekends). The breakfast was ok, but the service was slow and trying to get a coffee was a long process.

The reception staff were not the most helpful but the door staff were really friendly. The room was clean, although I would recommend a room with a shower, as they initially gave me one with a bath and there were some unmentionable hairs in there and so I swapped rooms straight away! The actual bedroom was clean and the sleep quality was ok. I didn't at any point feel unsafe and the house keeping staff were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aggro_kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel during your recent stay. It is always gratifying to receive feedback from one of our long stay guests and I was pleased to note that in general we did meet your expectations in terms of convenience to facilities and the Gautrain Station. Our most sincere apologies for the areas where we have let you down and these areas will be attended to immediately to avoid these lapses in service from occurring in the future. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our team. We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I was in the hotel for 2 nights, it’s well located near the zone shopping complex and the mall. Also the Gautrain station is on the street next to the hotel.
The rooms are very comfortable and spacious, the safe is too small to put a laptop in and the plugs at the desk are too low making it hard to plug in.
It has a very nice bar and good views and has a good breakfast and dinner menu.

Room Tip: Get a map of the area as it's very complex how all the shopping malls go together and how to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for your favourable review of our hotel during your stay with us. I was pleased to note that you found your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Our location to shopping centres and the Gautrrain make it easy to access many corporate offices and retail opportunitites. Your comments on our IT infrastructure are most appreciated and my apologies that the safe did not accommodate your laptop. Our specifications are that it will accommodatre most laptops and cognisance has been taken of this.
We hope to be of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two weekend nights on our return from Victoria Falls as we wanted to explore the city before going to Kruger. The main attraction is that one can access Rosebank Shopping Centre for restaurants, drinks and lunch supplies easily. The room was very modern and we liked the lighting, with adjustable night lights for reading. Pillow choice was new to us and appreciated. Great flat-screen TV, too! We did not take the breakfast buffet as it was much cheaper to eat in the mall. The staff were very helpful and friendly. When our friends did not like being assigned a room overlooking the mall roof, they were immediately moved to a street-side room. The free Wi-Fi was also a reason that we selected this hotel. It was easy for our pick ups for tours at the front door of the property. We wish that we could have stayed longer both at the hotel and in Johannesburg..

Room Tip: The rooms on the street side have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canadakate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Many thanks for your wonderful review of our hotel during your recent stay with us. It was pleasing to note that you found all our services useful and convenieint. Our location is one of the features that many of our coproprate and leisure guests mention as their primary reason for staying in our hotel. The access to The Zone shopping centre is well used by our guests as it is private and available for 24 hours per day. Access to the Gautrain Station is also convenient with access within close walking distance of our hotel. The WIFI offering is also an added bonus for uor guests.
We do hope we can be of service to you in future and we look forward to your future visits.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The good points: this hotel is in an excellent location, just minutes from the Gautrain which we got from OR Tambo airport. It is by two large malls which have a good range of shops, restaurants and a great African market so a good place to stay in Joburg in order to see things. The room was clean and a good size for a city centre hotel. There is nice seating around the pool. The door staff downstairs were very helpful.
The negatives: at 7.45am on a Sunday morning, the housekeeping staff went along our corridor opening and letting slam shut every room door which disturbed my sleep after a long flight. It was not made clear by staff when checking in that our reservation did not include breakfast. The TV reception was intermittent (and not just when it was stormy). The pool is tiny.
Overall it felt more like a business hotel than somewhere to stay on holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireFoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel and I was pleased to note that you found our location favourable and that our team was helpful during your stay. My sincere apologies that you experienced some noise on Sunday morning and this matter has already been addressed with the person concerned so that this does not occur in the future. Our hotel generally caters to the corporate market with Johannesburg being the commercial city of South Africa, although some our guests do stop off for a night stay en route to leisure destinations.
We do hope we can be of service to you in the future and look forward to welcoming you bac t ouor hotel.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
Geberal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Location is pretty good, in a quiet area and adjacent to a shopping mall.
I couldn't help feeling that the building felt like a loft conversation - reception merges into the bar, which in turn merges into the restaurant and business section.
In truth it is a rather bland experience with nothing too bad but nothing to recommend either. Reception staff are ok but I found the restaurant staff (particularly at breakfast) pretty indifferent and made not effort to interact with guests. To be fair, the evening staff were a big improvement.
Food was average throughout my stay.
Rooms were clean and practical.
Overall, nothing to get too excited about - it's just a functional hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sprayco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for the review of our hotel during your recent stay. I was pleased to note that overall you found our hotel acceptable and your commendations regarding our team and location are well noted. My sincere apologies for the inadequate interaction with our breakfast team, which we will be adressing immediately.
We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Excellent location and very reasonably priced compared to other 4* hotels in the area. The Gautrain from OR Tambo International Airport stops just outside the hotel (around 30 minutes travel time including one change of train, cost approx. £10 single fare per person). Hotel is adjacent to a large shopping mall with many shops and restaurants. A lift from the hotel takes you straight down to the mall. The hotel appears to be new and has an outside pool area with a few loungers and also a gym. Good breakfast and helpful Reception staff. We only stayed one night on our return journey but wish we could have stayed a further night. We booked a half day Soweto Tour direct through a local company but the hotel can arrange tours on your behalf. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShiresUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BillFroh, Manager at Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Grateful thanks for your very positive review of our hotel during your recent stay. Location and the proximity to many convenient shopping and tourist related opportunities is what our guests find most appealing about our hotel. The convenience of The Gautrain for International and domestic visitors is a drawcard in a very busy city with traffic. Thank you also for the great compliment about our team and facilities.
We look forward to being of service to you in the near future.
Thank you
Bill Frohlich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.5 km away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
0.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
Hyatt Regency Johannesburg
#7 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 km away
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
Courtyard Hotel Rosebank
#30 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
0.2 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.3 km away
54 on Bath
54 on Bath
#4 of 70 in Johannesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank

Property: Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
Address: Oxford Road, The Zone, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Johannesburg
#13 Romantic Hotel in Johannesburg
#16 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#20 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the stylish Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank hotel in the heart of commercial Rosebank and next to the city's top malls. You can't miss the contemporary, grey-striped facade of Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank, next to the futuristic Zone shopping centre. Relax on our sunny pool deck when you arrive from O.R. Tambo International Airport, 25 km away. It's easy to get to meetings in the surrounding Rosebank business suburb and in downtown Johannesburg, which is a 15-minute taxi ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelTravel.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank Hotel Johannesburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing