We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great”

The Grillhouse Rosebank
Ranked #2 of 1,237 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Grillhouse, Johannesburg's most loved and well established premium steakhouse. Established in 1995, The Grillhouse offers the perfect quadfecta in dining - great food, a huge selection of fine wines and malts, stellar service and an upmarket yet warm and hospitable atmosphere. Please check our Facebook page for details of opening and closing times during the festive season and other holiday. The Grillhouse Rosebank Team 22 years of reminding you why you work so hard!
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

My favorite steak restaurant in Johannesburg! We had a family dinner there and it was brilliant as always.

Beware of the break they give as complimentary. Seriously good but you do not want to fill up early.

Starter all good but the chicken livers is particularly good. Highly recommended.

Have not had a bad meal there but the steaks are really great. Note they cook as you ask for it. Most SA restaurants overlook their meat but these guys cook it to perfection. The fillet on the bone is great - the tenderness of fillet with the taste of the bone.

Wine list very good. They also have a cellar where you can choose your wine but beware of prices

I will be back!!!

Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

We look forward to having you back soon!
Thank you so much for this amazing review. We do appreciate your support.

The Grillhouse Rosebank Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 268 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017

If you want a really good steak, you won't go wrong with the Grillhouse. We had our year-end function there, a really great place for any type of occasion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andree2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

We love your review. Thank you for continued support.

The Grillhouse Rosebank Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Went to dinner with two friends/colleagues from overseas (Aus&UK).
Both enjoy a good steak, and The Grillhouse never disappoints.
I had the rib eye on the bone - absolutely superb if available.
Waiter was attentive without being intrusive. Manager noticed the fact that it was a unique event, and provided some complimentary drinks.
Awesome experience!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JohannGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

An awesome review. Thank you very much.

The Grillhouse Rosebank Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

A great steakhouse with wonderful service, the meat top notch, very slick and attentive staff, great burgers too!

Thank sack_juliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

We love your review - thank you so much.

The Grillhouse Rosebank Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

A popular restaurant located in the heart of Rosebank. This long standing establishment is renowned for it's consistent quality and excellent service.
Not the cheapest but, well worth a visit if you're looking for a great steak.

Thank AlanB640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We do our best to be consistently good, and appreciate your acknowledgement.

The Grillhouse Rosebank Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grillhouse Rosebank also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Grillhouse Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing