We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
148
98
33
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
98
33
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private courtyard main building safe parking nice stay jo burg one night stay short stay restaurants and shops felt safe yogurt walking distance enjoyed my stay south africa melville tyson bathroom gate
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 288 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Nice rooms and apartments with garden, very helpful staff, breakfast is okay, good coffee, parking place inside for free, well located with a lot of good retaurants and places in Melville, supermarket, bottle shop and bank in near neighborhood.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank eva451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Mi Pi Chi has nice town houses in one of the best neighbourhoods of Jo’burg. The staff is very friendly and helps you to find your way in this vibrant city. There are several nice bars and restaurants in the direct surrounding.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mkonin228552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2018

We stayed at Melville just for one night, before catch flight at Johannesburg. Beautiful accommodation. Room was very nice and very clean. Very good breakfast! Melville by night is very cool with a lot of restaurant, bar, etc..

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mormes202195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2018

This place is beautiful! It is its own unit as a stand alone home with front and back porches and everything. It has a living room kitchen, large bath, it really is a gorgeous home. The only catch is the security that keeps you very safe is also what keeps you from accessing help from the proprietor should you need it. I checked in at only 7 p.m. in the winter, but it had already gone dark and with no outside lights on the grounds I had no way of seeing and knowing how to get back across the street to the 'front desk' building to let them know my wifi wasn't working so I could call home and let family and friends know I had landed safely. With no phone in the unit to call for help I was basically stranded inside my unit there until day break and I could see to walk outside to ask for help and use all of the keys and locks for the gates. The gentleman who shows you to your unit will expect a tip and if you don't have any Rand on you he will make an excuse to come to your unit the next day to see if you have gone to the ATM. The woman who runs the place is extremely helpful and very friendly. She can tell you great places to walk to and where to find anything you might need in the local area. There is a nice breakfast provided as well. The authentic African decor within the unit were beautiful as well.

Room tip: Check in during daylight hours as there are no lights on the grounds to see your way around.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pickle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2018

The place is easily available which is great as it works for spontaneous trips. Sleep however is difficult because Of the noise from the gate and the noise from the floor literally making it impossible to sleep while people are awake.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lbuthe165788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews