We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
47
20
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
20
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double shower guest rooms gardens are beautiful lovely hotel short drive rooms are spacious wedding workshop driver lounge jhb
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 72 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2018 via mobile

My sister and I had the best time at the View. The staff is friendly and the rooms are amazing. Keep up the wonderful work.

We had the hotel arrange packaged breakfast as we couldn't have breakfast at the hotel due to time constraints in the mornings, the hotel provided packaged breakfast everyday for 5 days without fail. I will surely come back.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank ladykgopie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simanite, General Manager at The View Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2018

Thank you for your review.
we hope to host you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2018

I stayed in the hotel with my girlfriend and we had an excelent time! The staff was very kind and helpful in every situation that we need.
The garden was beautiful and is great for a stroll or just relax at the sun.
The hotel is quiet and clean and very well decorated.
On our second day there we took a double massage session and that was absolutely fantastic!
For sure in my next visit to Jnb I will love to stay there again and definitely i will ask for the benedict eggs for breakfast.
Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubiamala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simanite, Manager at The View Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2018

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we thank you for your positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2018

I have come twice while I was visiting the nearby University of Johannesburg. For me, it is a prefect place to relax, enjoy the incredible garden, and work. One feels like a lord of the old days with a large mansion, overlooking the high veld.

One could maybe improve the pool experience, otherwise I found everything perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simanite, General Manager at The View Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

Thank you for your feedback.
We are sorry about the pool, it has been giving us problems. We hope to have it fixed soon.

Kind Regards,

The View Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2018

Not a 5 star hotel. Broken lamp in room, menus scribbled on a blank paper handed over with a clipboard, only 2 bottles of white wine nothing of ones choice, no Jamesons whisky, no sparkling water, 2 choices of starters, main and pudding on this scribbled paper, Main was Fillet steak with fried vegetables or vegetarian lasagne. Steak was very good though. Receipt was a written one on a cheap croxley receipt book. Changed room due to request for no feather duvet and pillows not done even though sent by mail as requested 2 days prior to arrival. Dont believe the reviews as shown on Booking.com to be true. Staff, all 2 of them, really tried to make our stay better.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simanite, General Manager at The View Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2018

Dear Barry,

Thank you so much for the time you took to write us a review, the feedback from our guests is very important to us.

We are on Fibre network, which is provided by a single supplier to the entire area. This was down due to a broken cable, thus we did not have internet for most of the week. The connection went down on Monday afternoon and was only restored on Friday. We only found the cause this Monday. We update our wine list and menu’s daily according to availability but because of the systems that were offline, we were not able to update and print new ones. We have an online booking system from where we usually print the invoices, this was not allowing us to print invoices because of the internet, so the staff had to give a handwritten invoice. We will definitely send you the correct invoice. We do apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the featherbedding and will keep a close eye on this in the future. We do have the Decafe coffee, rooibos tea and sparkling water available on request because not all guests require this in the rooms.

We wish you and your family happy and safe travels.

Kind Regards,

Maqhawe Mkandla
General Manager
The View Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2018

Definitely try out the duck salad, delicious. The kingklip is also a definite try, delicious.
Very quite get away within this leafy suburb of Auckland Park. A place that feels as if you are not actually in jhb as there is hardly any noise. Room number 1 is very large with all the basis. The bathroom has a double shower. Nice place for a weekend break.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cateaux2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews