We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (887)
Filter reviews
887 results
Traveller rating
809
57
10
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
809
57
10
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse rolls royce hot tub piano bar pool villa madiba suite private jacuzzi turn down service attention to detail koi pond nespresso machine stayed longer outdoor space moment you arrive little touches sitting room residential area
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 887 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just stayed for 4 nights before going our main trip. We arrived early after an overnight flight and were offered breakfast whilst our rooms were prepared. Had a lovely relaxing day using the spar and pool area. We played golf at Royal Johannesburg and Houghton and transfers to and from were handled perfectly. 1st time arriving to play golf in a chauffeured Mercedes! The rooms were spacious and fully equipped with lovely garden views. The restaurant provided lovely evening meals and quality wine. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The small shop selling locals crafts was a bonus. We were very pleasantly surprised will the final bill. Would definitely use The Residence again.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited South Africa over September and October with our twin 11 year old daughters and stayed in Johannesburg on three different occasions - on arrival, halfway through and then for the final night of our trip. Each time, we chose to stay at the Residence and use their airport transfers. Each stay was absolutely brilliant. Warren and the team went out of their way to make us comfortable. We loved the unique character of each of the different rooms we stayed in over the three visits. We have no hesitation in recommending the Residence to any traveller. Thanks all!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gumnut_baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experiences at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We left the hotel 3 days ago and are dying to go back.
If you are planning to stay in Johannesburg, go
to this beautiful hotel in one of the lovely parts of Jhb: Houghton.
The interior decorating is so beautiful and unique
It is interwoven with tunnels of flowing water
surrounded by lush gardens with birds and ponds...
There is a wonderful gift shop with an array of African curios, jewelry, clothes, scarves and
more - all in wonderful taste. No need to look for
gifts anywhere else!
A wonderful spa with well trained team
Very good massages etc. I fell asleep the massage was so good!!!
The Dining room serves delicious food. Lovely breakfast - terrific Eggs Benedict.
The staff there, always attentive, helpful and
so kind! Other meals wonderful!!! An innovative
chef -in short a real treat!
There are wonderful drivers if you dont have
a car.
2 swimming pools and a tennis court.
Everywhere one looks there is something special to see and derive pleasure from.
As I wrote , we already miss this magical place
So, GO THERE! You won't regret it.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Nonie20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for this amazing review, we really and truly appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and so glad you enjoyed your dining experience, the chef sends his regards. Thank you once again and all the very best until we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

In the leafy suburb of Houghton this little sanctuary is the best experience you will find. Decorated with lavish Persian carpets and chandeliers and yet relaxed and friendly. Incredible dinner and breakfast too. I would only use this hotel for my clients staying over in JHB.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank Jenni_S_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review Jenni, we really appreciate it and so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. We hope to welcome you back some day in the near future and would like to wish you all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our second stay at the Residence and we loved it both times. this time we were picked up in the Rolls as we were celebrating our Auntie's 90th birthday, what fun! Love all the chandeliers, artwork,just everywhere there is something interesting to look at. We had room 18 which has a lovely view. The first trip was the pool villa which was wonderful as well.... we had an early arrival into JNB and so the 3 of us spent the whole day in the amazing spa and were so well cared for by Thali,Veronica and Charlotte! Highly recommended! The dinner there was one of our best in South Africa as well.... If you do not need to stay right by the airport try the Residence for sure. Perfect retreat to get into the new time zone before safari!

Stayed: July 2018
Thank ChazandBarbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it and was so lovely welcoming you back. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip and look forward to welcoming you back hopefully some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews