We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
C$426
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
C$403
Fully refundable before Fri, May 3
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
C$264
Fully refundable before Sat, Apr 27
Breakfast included
No fees just great deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Hgkubin
Kelowna, Canada
Absolutely amazing!
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 25, 2019via mobile
From the minute I stepped foot into this boutique hotel, I knew it was something special. The grounds are stunning. The reception was friendly and genuinely helpful. The room was superb with details to ensure my complete comfort and satisfaction. The food was delicious. The service was impeccable. I felt cared for and spoiled for every minute I was there. Thank you for making my experience so welcoming. I will be back and will eagerly recommend this place to others.
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
C$244
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
    C$227
  • Lol.travel
    C$222
  • Hotels.com
    C$245
2.8 km from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$206
Fully refundable
  • travelup.com
    C$255
  • Vio.com
    C$167
  • Hotels.com
    C$238
1.5 km from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pool Bar
Booking.com
C$177
C$171
  • Agoda.com
    C$171
  • Vio.com
    C$171
  • Hotels.com
    C$171
3.5 km from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
C$157
  • Hotels.com
    C$132
  • Agoda.com
    C$106
  • Expedia.com
    C$134
6.3 km from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$144
C$115
  • Vio.com
    C$115
  • Hotels.com
    C$144
  • Agoda.com
    C$114
3.2 km from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Exterior
Booking.com
C$100
  • HolidayInn.com
  • Vio.com
    C$91
  • Hotels.com
    C$100
2.7 km from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Twin room
Booking.com
C$63
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    C$42
  • Trip.com
    C$61
  • Vio.com
    C$46
4.8 km from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$249
C$224
  • Vio.com
    C$249
  • Agoda.com
    C$225
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$223
15.2 km from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
C$67
C$61
  • Priceline
    C$67
  • Agoda.com
    C$61
13067.2 km from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Booking.com
C$1,069
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$979
  • Agoda.com
    C$924
  • Expedia.com
    C$974
3.1 km from The Residence Boutique Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Johannesburg
Reviews (1,038)
Filter reviews
1,038 results
Traveller rating
945
66
13
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
945
66
13
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse rolls royce hot tub pool villa private jacuzzi turn down service moment you arrive stayed longer sitting room common areas an oasis pools safari spa marvin fireplace chandeliers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 1,038 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2019 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this luxury hotel , our room was excellent, the public rooms very comfortable and well furnished.The food excellent and the waiters and chefs very attentive. I would like to make a special thank you to Moses who was brilliant he made sure everything went well

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank NigelBacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and Moses sends his regards and wants you to know that it was an absolute pleasure. We trust you enjoyed the rest of your trip and hope to welcome you back for a longer stay. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2019 via mobile

This was our first hotel on arrival in South Africa and we were very weary after an overnight flight. From the moment we arrived the Residence exceeded all of our expectations. Despite arriving well before check in time we were shown directly to our suite which was huge and fantastic.
The food, the facilities, the grounds, the service, the staff, the airport transfer - everything was top notch and a wonderful 24 hours of rest and relaxation before moving on to Hoedspruit for safari.
Thank you to the Residence team for making our arrival in SA so special.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PeeblesLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2019

Thank you so much for your amazing review, we really appreciate it and trust that you enjoyed the rest of your trip. We hope to welcome you back some day in the near future and would like to wish you all the very best until we meet again. Kindest regards The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2019

I stayed here at the end of a tour around southern Africa, where I was lucky to visit some really nice establishments. I was a little weary of hotels when I arrived, but The Residence was so lovely I didn't want to leave. Where to begin? The staff are amazing, the facilities great, the food delicious. The room was gorgeous. While the hotel is luxurious and elegant, it's not snooty at all, instead it's really cosy, comfortable and welcoming. And really well-priced. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room tip: The Penthouse Suite is gorgeous!
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and hope to welcome you back some day in the near future. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2019 via mobile

In transit on way from Botswana back to Canada - our agent at Rhino Africa arranged this overnight stay.

What can I say, we will be back

Leonard met us at the gate and helped get our luggage in. Samantha toured us around the stunning complex - 3 pool choices - eating areas beautifully appointed and an attentive staff (thanks Leonard)

The different rooms/suites vary in size and opulence- breathtaking and tastefully decorated

Drinks pre dinner in a seating area adjacent to the bar allowed us to enjoy the pianist and a romantic conversation.

Aaron (one of the owners) was generous with his time and helped choose the appropriate wine to enjoy with our dinner. He shared his vision for his country and its on-Going growth.

We used one of their drivers to take us to a couple of museums - a trainee with potential

We will be back, thanks

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2019

Dear Elaine, thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back some day in the near future. I hope you manage to find my recommended Pinotage back home and trust the weather on arrival was not too cold. Thank you once again and all the very best from The Residence team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2019 via mobile

Love everything about this place: the staff are Soooooo gracious, kind and attentive. The food is excellent! The rooms are large and comfy - mine even has a terrace with an outdoor shower and a tub! 💅

I look forward to coming back!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
4  Thank RTinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Residence T, Owner at The Residence Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2019

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it and are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at The Residence. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you once again and all the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews