We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, delicious food”

Cafe del Sol Classico
Ranked #4 of 1,461 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed July 9, 2018

From decor, to service, to presentation, you can not beat a meal out at this exquisite restaurant. It has the right balance of fine dining in an elegant environment with home cooked flavours.

A must do for a night out

Always book

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank L8travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafedelsolsa, Owner at Cafe del Sol Classico, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2018

Hello

This is just a warm thank you to you for taking the time to give us a wonderful write up on Trip Advisor.
We are very happy to see you enjoyed your Cafe del Sol experience and thank you for the recommendation for a night out.

We hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
The Classico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (893)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 893 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

It was not our first vist to Cafe del Sol and we knew to rather book a table for two. The telephone booking was followed up with a sms confirmation. The table was in a corner, away from the lively conversations from the other tables and yes! it was good we booked as the restaurant was quite full.

I ordered the home-made gnocci and my partner chicken breast. Both dishes were outstanding; the gnocci more so as it was smooth and melting in the mouth unlike the rubbery gnocci one gets served these days. We shared a dessert because the main prtions were generous and filling. The service was equally outstanding - attentive and friendly. A must-eat restaurant for special occasions.

Thank 13ilsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafedelsolsa, Owner at Cafe del Sol Classico, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2018

Hello there

Thanks so much for the outstanding review.
We pride ourselves in home made food made with lots of love.

Gnocchi is personally one of my favourites too.
We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Thanks for choosing us.

Take care
The Classico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

I can not find words to describe this amazing, tranquil and great restaurant. We were 6 guests and we all had excellent food. Must haves: the prawn wrapped in vermicelli. Wow this was tasty and different textures all in one. The biggest surprise was the chicken stir fry. The sweet tangy soy they used!!!! Wow want this recipe! They had a large wine list to choose from. Great birthday party! Thanks

Thank AzelL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafedelsolsa, Owner at Cafe del Sol Classico, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

Hello Azel

Many thanks for taking the time to write up an amazing review for us.
We are thrilled you all enjoyed yourselves.
We use a sweet Indonesian soya sauce in our stir fry - hope this helps and I agree it is one of the moreish dishes on our menu.

We hope we see you soon and hope you enjoyed the birthday celebration with us.

Kindest regards
The Classico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

This restaurant offers great food, with a variety of options, but I always have a preference to their pasta dishes. Their are plenty of decadent dishes with scrumptious deserts, and along side is the Landmark bar, which is great for a few drinks after the meal.

Thank TrevorBurchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafedelsolsa, Owner at Cafe del Sol Classico, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

Hello Trevor

Thanks so much for taking the time to write your fabulous review.
We hope to see you again soon.
Take care,

The Botanico Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

One of the few places were by firstly we were sold by the wonderful lady who introduced their specials to us, what a breath of fresh air - she surely adds to the warmth of visiting this Resturant.

The place was so lovely, clean and beautiful. Service was of a high standard - loved this.

The food was divine. Colleagues has the special salmon and strawberry dish and were extremely satisfied. All our starters were great. I'm unsure if anything on this menu would be bad. Loves it, will always go back here.

Thank Jeffster89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cafedelsolsa, Owner at Cafe del Sol Classico, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Hello Jeff

Wow what a lovely review.
Thanks so much for your feedback.

We are passionate about what we do and our biggest intention is to share love through food.

We hope we see you again soon.
Have a fabulous day further..
The Classico team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe del Sol Classico also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Cafe del Sol Classico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing