We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (838)
Filter reviews
838 results
Traveller rating
469
260
69
24
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
260
69
24
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews melrose arch library bar oysters march restaurant rubber duckies surround sound virgin gym surrounded by restaurants gated community travel desk executive room fabulous hotel safe area restaurants and shopping rooms are large late check walk around
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 838 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2018

We stayed at this hotel for two nights at the tail end of our tour of South Africa. I had some definite concerns for safety while in Johannesburg, so chose the hotel with great care. Honestly, I felt completely safe while at this hotel and surrounding area. Attentive staff, clean and quirky large rooms, and just generally a good vibe. We did not eat in the hotel as there were so many great restaurants within a 2 minute walk (trythe African restaurant accrooss the street, Moyo I think its called). the shopping complex has a good variety of shops. Arranged transfers to and from the sirport through the hotel and they worked out well. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRHQE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Dear HRHQE,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us during your recent stay. Your feedback is so highly valued!

Our TEAM prides itself on offering our guests an experience that is an outstanding combination of 5-star luxury, world-class service and distinctive design, and of course exceeding all of our guests’ needs is what our TEAM aspires to every day.

Hearing that we managed this, and that you enjoyed the appointment of our one-of-a-kind rooms is wonderful to hear.

Indeed, we are exceptionally lucky to call the Melrose Arch lifestyle development our home – an incredibly safe and secure destination where one can eat, play, shop and of course stay in an al-fresco style cosmopolitan environment.

Thank you for choosing us. We're so looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Jo'burg!

Warmest regards

The TEAM at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

After almost a month our tour is ending. We chose this hotel to be our last one because of the location. Its safe , gated and with restaurants and shops around.
The check in lady could learn to smile and be more friendly but i really didnt mind.
Our executive room was magnificent. It was big spacious and beautiful. It was clean and the bed was comfortable with the crisp white linen.
Had a good night sleep til the emirates car service picked us up.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ricasworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Dear Ricasworld,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection.
It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you!
Our TEAM prides itself on offering our guests an experience that is an outstanding combination of 5-star luxury, world-class service and distinctive design, and exceeding all of our guest's needs is what our TEAM aspires to every day. While we are thrilled to hear that you found the appointment of our rooms to be magnificent, we have heard your feedback on your check in experience and will use it to ensure our TEAM does better.

Indeed, we are exceptionally lucky to call the Melrose Arch lifestyle development our home – a safe and secure destination where one can eat, play, shop and of course stay in an al-fresco style cosmopolitan environment.

Thank you for your patronage - we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Jo'burg!
Kind Regards,

The TEAM at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised to find all the extra spoils they provide in your room. After a long business day it's a pleasure to return to your room and receive such delightful pampering. Staff also very welcoming and friendly on arrival.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Tanya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, Owner at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Dear Tanya F,

On behalf of the entire hotel TEAM, we would like to extend our sincere thanks to you for sharing your experience with us during your recent stay. Your feedback is most appreciated!

Our TEAM prides itself on offering our guests an experience that is an outstanding combination of 5-star luxury, world-class service and distinctive design, and of course exceeding all of our guests’ needs is what our TEAM aspires to every day.

Hearing that we managed this, and that you enjoyed the appointment of our one-of-a-kind rooms is wonderful to hear.

It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! Please rest assured that your compliments of our STAFF will be shared with the TEAM.

Thank you for choosing us. We're so looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit with us!

Warmest regards

The TEAM at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018

I couldn't fault the service from the moment we arrived till we left. They were very accommodating with our early check in. We were coming off a tour and needed a bit of luxury which this definitely delivered. Bed was super comfy and the decor throughout the hotel was pretty cool especially the pool. The Melrose Arch area felt really safe walking around and had plenty of food and drink options for our stay.

Would choose to stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank FinS27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Dear FinS27,

Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with us during your recent stay. Your feedback is most appreciated!

Our TEAM prides itself on offering our guests an experience that is an outstanding combination of 5-star luxury, world-class service and distinctive design, and of course exceeding all of our GUESTS' needs is what our TEAM aspires to every day.

Hearing that we managed this through accommodating your early check in request, and that you enjoyed our one-of-a-kind pool, decor and luxurious beds is wonderful to hear. Your feedback will be shared with the TEAM.

Indeed, we are exceptionally lucky to call the Melrose Arch lifestyle development our home – a safe and secure destination where one can eat, play, shop and of course stay in an al-fresco style cosmopolitan environment.

Thank you for choosing us. We're so looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Jo'burg!

Warmest regards

The TEAM at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

It is my first time in Joburg and this hotel is the first hotel that I stayed on my first day.
The hotel is good although it is more like a business hotel. Neighbourhood is very good as it is in a private compound in Melrose Arch. Restaurants, bar and little shopping is inside the compound and you can just walk. As a platinum member, recognition also given as I can do the early check in at 8am although the upgraded room was not given due to no room are available. Receptionist lady was very friendly and all the staff also very friendly. Breakfast is good with a lot of selection and even champagne.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank martinlK1530EZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APMelroseArch, Manager at African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2018

Dear Martin L,

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review with regards to your recent stay at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection. We hope your first trip to Jo'burg exceeded your expectations!

Your valuable feedback helps identify areas of opportunity for us to improve our guest's experiences with us. While I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, I am disappointed that there were elements of your visit that were less than exceptional, namely that, due to no availability of higher room types, we were unable to upgrade you. I am however happy to hear that our TEAM was able to accommodate your early check in, which is of course a benefit that we offer to all our Marriott Rewards Platinum Members.

Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority, and hearing that our TEAM achieved this is wonderful to hear, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our famous breakfast spread.


Indeed, we are exceptionally lucky to call the Melrose Arch lifestyle development our home – a safe and secure destination where one can eat, play, shop and of course stay in an al-fresco style cosmopolitan environment.

At your convenience, please feel free to share any additional feedback on how we could exceed your expectations on your next stay with us.

Till then, safe travels.

Kind Regards

The TEAM at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel, Autograph Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews