We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic fare with an organic and environmental bent”
Review of Coobs

Coobs
Ranked #43 of 1,464 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed April 5, 2018

We had a family dinner here and the food was superb. We had recently been to a sister restaurant and were delighted with it so thought we would come to the source of the inspiration

The restaurant has an organic farm owned by the owners of the restaurant and the food is exceptionally tasty. The wild boar is present in a number of dishes and all of them seem to be good.

The soufflé for starter was amazing as was the pork loin.
Main course we had the Kob and Pork belly, both of which were fantastic. The pork belly was incredibly tasty and fish done perfectly

You can take your own wine for a corkage of R100

Recommend for a special meal

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RichardN121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 249 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

The ingredients used in this restaurant are grown on their own farm and you can taste the difference. The flavours are enhanced and ensure the food is delicious. The restaurant is not too big and opens onto the street giving a sense of space. Excellent service - friendly and efficient. Good wine and cocktail list. Wide range of menu choices - vegetarian, fush, beef, poultry, lamb. Reusable straws. Definitely worth repeat visits.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

My husband’s overseas business partners were looking for the best food in Joburg. Other business associates had taken them to various ‘famous ‘ restaurants, but they were left underwhelmed. We decided that we should treat them to our favourite - Coobs. Possibly one of the city’s most established eateries , with the opening of new places every week . The reason it has endured is it’s absolutely delicious food, and fabulous wine list - not to mention the great service and great ambiance.
We had a fantastic evening - everyone tasting each other’s dishes so that we covered pretty much the whole menu ! Everyone was divine. Thank goodness for Uber as the wine list does not play into the legal limit rules. Small unheard of wines rub shoulders with some the greats .

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank pigsie342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018 via mobile

Business and catch up with Industry Associates. One of our guests knew James Diack, the owner - a truly amazing "farm to table" operation! Great location, friendly and knowledgeable service and simply sublime food.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

Perfect evening for sitting outside on the pavement, under cover but no need to drop blinds. Excellent service and attentiveness (I always judge this by how well my water glass is attended to). Tasty meal, home grown produce, unusual and interesting wine selection. We'll be back.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank emeleeJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coobs also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Coobs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing