We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Soweto & Other Townships - Daily tours through the eyes of a photojournalist
Open today: 12:00 a.m. - 11:59 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
The art doesn't care if the artist is rich or poor

If you want to see the daily life in Soweto, join Ilan for this unique experience into the heart of... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
mrbennettsclass
,
Pretoria, South Africa
A genuine, wonderful host with ilan through Soweto

I deliberately wanted to open the eyes of my seven year old son and take him safely through Soweto... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
luckylorks
,
Sydney
Read all 177 reviews
  
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
161
12
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
12
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews incredible photos takes photos the hector pieterson museum everyday lives personal trip his passion pictures taken real south south africa fabulous tour recommend this trip incredible experience street art personalized tour shanty town eye opening mandela's house
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 177 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2018

My husband, 11 year-old son and I had the pleasure of spending the day in Soweto and the Apartheid Museum with Ilan.

He is a very caring, cultured, friendly and easy-going person.He is also very good with children. He managed to make our son smile and even pose for some pictures. He took us around Soweto and Kliptown where we met and interacted with the locals. What a fantastic experience that was! He also took beautiful pictures during the tour.

Ilan's tour is not a run- of -the- mill one. You will have a great time and learn a lot about the community. I highly recommend it!

Thank Angelinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2018

Of Johannesburg. We were fortunate enough to be on a day tour and go to this part of the city. Shacks, goats, an entirely different way of living. These people are on line for better housing but mean time they live in this neighborhood. A must see!

Thank seetheworld010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Ilan is a great man who will make you meet great people in Soweto. This is absolutely not the usual guide for tourists. This “crazy white man in Soweto”, as he describes himself, knows so many people in Kliptown where he supports community projects. Doing this visit you will contribute to the projects, like a kindergarten or a playground for this shinning community. Our three kids and teens loved the experience and discovered how life can be colorful and joyful in what looks to us as a tough reality. Thank you so much Mr Ilan !

Thank fredforsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TourSoweto, Owner at Soweto & Other Townships - Daily tours through the eyes of a photojournalist, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2018

Hi. Thanks so much for the kind words. Hopefully you will come back to visit South Africa again.
Cheers
Ilan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

Spending a day with Ilan touring Soweto was a rare privilege. We got to meet dozens of local people and wonderful, beautiful children of all ages. We visited some homes, shared a birthday cake (my wife) with friends of Ilan’s, delivered a walker which Ilan donated to a handicapped woman, visited a day care center and school that he helps support & on & on. We gained a great deal of knowledge about Nelson Mandela, Apartheid and other major issues faced by the citizens of Soweto.

Thank paul3776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2018

My girlfriend and I contacted Ilan to visit Soweto and Johannesburg in the only day we had in town (middle of July). Ilan was so nice to take us first to Soweto, in particular Kliptown, where he helps the local community and its school. It was an overwhelming experience and a true glimpse of real situation of certain part of South Africa. We had the opportunity to mix with and talk to the people, visit the local school and the local market. Ilan has a deep knowledge of the South African history and culture and he seems to know every single person on the street :) ! We also had the chance to meet a local street artist who took us on a small tour to see his masterpieces. Ilan is not only a great photographer and guide but an extremely positive, talkative and social person, which will make your day super enjoyable. We also had the time to see the main points of Joburgh and its amazing street art.

Thanks again Ilan for making our day in Johannesburg unforgettable!

Thank Francesco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews