We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unrivalled eating experience.”
Review of moyo Zoo Lake

moyo Zoo Lake
Ranked #39 of 1,323 Restaurants in Johannesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$34
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: moyo Zoo Lake is a tranquil retreat from the urban hustle and bustle of Joburg. By day moyo offers a relaxed, family-friendly atmosphere; as the African sun sets, cocktails on the deck and fabulous live music set the tone for an extraordinary evening of fine-dining and soulful vibes. moyo Magic gives new meaning to birthday parties and workshops.
Reviewed 21 July 2015

Celebrating my daughter's birthday with a family dinner. The staff made it an unforgettable experience as they came and sang to her. The singer was superb with the music being audible but not intrusive. The face decorating really gets you into the feel of the restaurant and the service was absolutely superb. Mduduzi was a charming waiter and there was absolutely nothing we could fault.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 52Cathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovemoyo, Public Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Dearest 52Cathy

Thank you for chosing to spend your daughter's birthday with us, and for your generous review.
Will be sure to pass your complaiments along, particularly to Mduduzi. Please come and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

The moyo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 278 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2015

Celebrated a special birthday watching the sun set on the deck and then had a superb dinner. Glad that the service and quality of dining has improved since our last visit, it was just great and staff went out of their way to anticipate our every need. Thank you

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wendysan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovemoyo, Public Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Dearest Wendysan2014

Thank you for coming back and giving us the opportunity to improve, the Zoo Lake team has been hard at work to do so. We will be sure to pass your compliment along. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

The moyo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

I was here for the 6th time, definitely my favorite in Johannesburg. This time we were with a group of 11 colleagues for dinner. Really good food, my favorites are the potkies and tajines with pap and chakalaka. The steakes are also good! Service was outstanding. Our waiter Gift did a great job.serving us! There was also live music on this Friday night

Thank koen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovemoyo, Public Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Dearest koen B

We are absolutely honored to be your favourite spot in Johannesburg! Thank you for your kind words, will definitely pass your compliments along to the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

The moyo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

A great place for an "African" experience. Great service from Salphine and live Music.
The food was authentic and delicius!

Thank Nicolai J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovemoyo, Public Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Dearest Nicolai J

We greatly appreciate your visit and positive reveiw. Will certainly pass your compliments along to the team at Zoo Lake. Please come and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

The moyo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015 via mobile

We had a great evening out! Yummy food, good atmosphere and excellent service from Thandiwe! See you again soon!

Thank Stephanie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lovemoyo, Public Relations Manager at moyo Zoo Lake, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2015

Dearest Stephanie U

We are very much looking forward to hosting you again! Thank you for the positive review.

Kind regards,

The moyo team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed moyo Zoo Lake also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to moyo Zoo Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing