We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,268)
Filter reviews
1,268 results
Traveller rating
301
582
240
104
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
582
240
104
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flight simulator tambo airport aviation theme free shuttle every half hour rooms are small shuttle service cape town next morning long flight between flights breakfast buffet an overnight stay comfortable hotel stayed one night night's sleep short stay
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 1,268 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2018

My husband and I stayed over at the Protea Hotel, O R Tambo recently on our way from Johannesburg to George. The Hotel is very conveniently situated close to O R Tambo, there is adequate safe parking and the staff are efficient and polite. The room was clean, and had all necessary amenities which one would require for a short stay. The Hotel, restaurant and rooms are wheelchair accessible (there is an elevator). The one problem that I had was the incessant, loud and really bad music that was blasted into the restaurant at dinner. Why?? The meals were good, and the serving staff were friendly and helpful, but trying to have a peaceful meal in that noise was a wasted effort. We ate as soon as we could so that we could get away from the noise. I would recommend this hotel, but not the restaurant because the piped musak is horrible. I did mention this in the electronic rating that was subsequently sent to me via email.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sedge0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Dear Sedge0987

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport with us.

Every process put in place is aimed at providing you with an unforgettable hotel experience. From your recent feedback, I am disappointed to learn that we fell short of your expectations.

I would like to take this time to apologize for the noise disturbance caused by the live music that we had. Rest assured, we are taking steps to help ensure problems of this nature do not occur in the future.

As a Valued GUEST, thank you again for your feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Johannesburg.

Sincerely,
TAMZYN GRAHAM
Assistant GUEST Relations Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
tamzyn.graham@proteahotels.com
T: (011) 977 2600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018

This was a strange hotel; it offered everything that you needed in an airport hotel, but the mind boggles as to what the designers were thinking when they commissioned this as it feels like a prison rather than the bijoux boutique they were trying for! Lighting is dim all over which doesn’t do anything for the mood and why hotel persist on putting a shower in the main part of the room i have no idea - if you sharing with anyone other than your partner you would need to ask one of you to leave the room. We had evening dinner in the hotel and really struggled to get the gluten free message across, tthe chef even came out and didn’t understand, so in the end we took a calculated gamble on a steak and grilled vegetables, which seemed fine. Then we had breakfast which had a clear sign up on the counter saying that they had gluten free bread and cereal on request, which suggests that they do have the capability of supplying gluten free food, just perhaps not the knowledge with all personnel. We actually took our own bread to breakfast so made sure it was not going to be an issue. Baffling hotel that did what it was supposed to.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Dear Tess M,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport and providing your honest feedback on the Guest Satisfaction Survey.

Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. As a teachable moment, we have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place to prevent the above food issues from occurring in the future.

The hotel will be undergoing a refurbishment of the rooms from 15 September and lighting is one of the issues that will be addressed.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Johannesburg.


Sincerely,
SMANGELE NGCOBO
Guest Relations Manager
Protea Hotel By Marriott O.R Tambo
smangele.ngcobo@marriott.com
27119772600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018

A comfortable stay before our month stay begins at game preserves. Nice room. King bed. Comfortable linens. Nice people at front desk. Buffet breakfast but the young man had his head out for a tip and all he did was pour coffee. I don’t agree with that.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank seetheworld010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Dear seetheworld010

Thank you for your review

While we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay I was disappointed to hear about your experience in our restaurant. With aspiration to always exceed guest expectations, we have unfortunately fallen short of this goal during your recent stay. Your valued feedback highlighted a number of areas for improvement that I have since shared with the Executive Chef and Restaurant Manager, who join me in offering their apologies for their team’s shortcomings.

Once again, thank you for providing feedback that will ultimately help improve our dining procedures and effectiveness. We hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travels bring you back to Johannesburg so that we can provide you with a premium dining experience that not only meet, but exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
TAMZYN GRAHAM
Assistant GUEST Relations Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
tamzyn.graham@proteahotels.com
T: (011) 977 2600


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Overall, this was an acceptable airport hotel. However, it is not as convenient as the City Lodge which connects directly to the airport. This was an issue when we had to wait over 30 minutes for the hotel shuttle to pick us up at the airport. The rooms were comfortable and clean, although I am always surprised when airport hotels do not have rooms that can accommodate a family of 4.

Room tip: The higher the better
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton M, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Dear Kelly K,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Protea Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport and providing your honest feedback on the Guest Satisfaction Survey.

Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting your expectations. As a teachable moment, we have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure the necessary guidelines are in place to prevent shuttle service delays from occurring in the future.

It is rather unfortunate that we do not have rooms that can accommodate 04pax in each room. The standard accommodation is for 02pax per room.

Once again, thank you for your valued feedback and we hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Johannesburg.


Sincerely,
SMANGELE NGCOBO
Guest Relations Manager
Protea Hotel By Marriott O.R Tambo
smangele.ngcobo@marriott.com
27119772600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018

This was a small room but good enough for our overnight stay and would suit us for a few days. The bedding was comfortable. The bathroom is only separated by a curtain that you pull across between it and your bed and the shower glass is clear and visible from bed. It has a large overhead roof shower head with good water pressure.
They do not provide standard bottled water, instead they provide water in a glass bottle that it sanitised and refilled. They have Tea/Coffee making facilities and provide free Wifi.
The restaurant down stairs has a good range of foods. I suggest you get your hot food cooked for you as the provided hot food is only just warm.
You have direct access to and from this hotel and airport by the free shuttle bus. You can see the airport across the road but we did not hear any flight noise during the night.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Dear Mark C,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport through the Guest Satisfaction Survey.

With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a Valued GUEST, your feedback will be shared with the TEAM to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service.

Thank you for staying at the Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to Johannesburg.

Sincerely,
THEMBELIHLE MPOSULA
Assistant GUEST Relations Manager
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
lihle.mposula@proteahotels.com
+27 (011) 977 2600

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews