We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport Game Lodge, Kempton Park,”
Review of Airport Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airport Game Lodge
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I cannot find this hotel on trip-advisor however if you are looking for a small hotel to relax in after a long flight. This is difficult to beat. They provide efficient and free airport pick-ups. The Hotel is situated in pleasant grassy grounds with deer and ostrich roaming around. Safe for children to run off their excess energy. The breakfast is good, the rooms spacious and clean, the price is fair.
My only advice is that as they do not have a restaurant, evening meals must be ordered in and this can take up to an hour. Otherwise a very pleasant hotel with good service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marchant47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

We had a night to spare before travelling on to Kenya. This place filled the bill exceptionally.
It is quiet and away from anywhere. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The Transfer from the Airport was free and easily arranged. There is no real food facility there other than breakfast, so if you can, ask the driver to call in at a food store and pick up something for dinner, etc. There is a communal kitchen area which is not to shabby.There are meal delivery menues available but they are costly and can take some considerable time to get to you ( and probably cold). Breakfast is very good.
Staff are friendly and helpful and can arrange day trips and Taxis, etc
Would recommend for one or two nights as a stopover between flight connections

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I called them when I just arrived to JNB Airport and in ten minutes they were there to pick me up. Excellent service in everything. Excellent room, very comfortable and the enviroment of the hotel, very nice.
They don't have a restaurant there but you can easily order some delivery and you have a great dinning room and a kitchen too.
It was just one night, but it was perfect for us. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daikiri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

"Grotel" appears on the telephone handset; we wondered if it stood for grotty hotel? Matresses have seen better days, lumpy pillows, dirty sheets; shower is an after-thought stuck between the bed and the toilet. Don't shower at night because you can't see. Breakfast was boiled eggs that had come out of the water at about 7am and stood on a dumb waiter or omelet that had also been prepared at 7am and left to stand. Movement in and out the property is restricted as there is an electric gate, but we were refused a remote to open it and were firmly told that the staff leave at 11pm, implication being that that was our curfew. Another reviewer talks about the hammock - they too are too dirty for use. There is no shelter to get from your car to the room and we were drenched everytime we left the room as it poured with rain almost the entire weekend. The best: a slip of paper suggesting how to "tip" give the staff your old clothes!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My son and I spent 2 nights here in late August and 1 night in early September before and after a safari. There is no restaurant (except for a fairly good buffet breakfast) and it is not close to anything except the airport (free shuttle) so you need to have a car (or order food delivered). The showers are in the middle of the main room. Our first room had a fridge but the doorlock didn't work well and we were beside the noisy common room. Our second room was in the newer part and was quiet. Lighting was dim. It is in a nice country setting with ostriches and other animals in the adjacent field. Like apparently many places in South Africa, there is an electric gate.

Room Tip: If you don't want noise, avoid rooms adjacent to common room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed there and it was, in my roommate's words, quirky. Yes, it has a barbecue pit, yes it has hammocks, yes it has a few animals wandering free in the "game area" circling the pit. But we needed an extra blanket and they didn't have any, or even more than one towel per patron (I need one for my hair!). It has tea but, as everywhere else in S.Afr. it seems, no "real" coffee, just instant. Yes it's close to the airport, but not really...fifteen minutes say. Yes, it has bikes to rent, but everything, *everything* costs extra. Yes breakfast is open till 9, but if you come at 8:50 don't ask for something warm since they're already cleaning up. Yes they have internet (supposedly) only most of the time it is out of order, and when it's there, it's both slow and expensive.
They had a sign that they couldn't compel guests to fill out Tripadvisor reviews, and I did not at the time, but it was clear that they wanted you to, and that you needed to say something good. If you were willing to, they would let you use the internet free for that purpose.
Bottom line is I wouldn't go back. It was too strange. The cleaning lady had left the bathroom rug stuffed in the bidet, and since it was brown it kind of looked like there was a bear in there, yikes. The bed was wide and nice, the area was quiet, they were quite willing to help us find tours to go on. But this was our last night in S. Afr and we had already seen lots of animals, more than this group had. They had a crowd of high school students on a trip, and that's who the place is good for since they will really enjoy the socializing area in front of most of the rooms. I wasn't part of the group and did not.
By the way breakfast is upstairs, no elevator, so don't go there if you are handicapped.

Room Tip: If you want to socialize, ask for one near the action. Or if you want quiet, ask for the back buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Arriving late at ORT we needed a comfy place with quick access, Meet and Greet, and restful for a lingering departure. Airport Game Lodge ticked all the boxes.
The booking process, On line, was simple and friendly and they were there to meet the plane. A short, 15 minute drive, had us to the Lodge and into the extremely nice Bungalow in a short time. I think from landing, to room was well less than an hour. (ORT gets a prize for quick immigration and luggage retrieval etc., )
We settled in, it was late enough for us and they even brought us a cold beer or two, and Coffee, to our room.
A good nights sleep had us rested and ready for next day. Our pick up was not due until 11 am so we had chance to relax in the grounds and take a leisurely breakfast in the upstairs restaurant.
Check Out was smooth enough and service courteous throughout.
a great find. thanks.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mfuwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
8.5 km away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,260 reviews
6.7 km away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
597 reviews
8.7 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,389 reviews
9.5 km away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
9.4 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Game Lodge

Address: 21 Fourth Road, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Kempton Park
Price Range: $57 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is ideally located for business and leisure travellers passing through Johannesburg and the OR Tambo airport. Situated a mere 10 km from the international airport. The secluded Airport Game Lodge combines the solitude of the African Bush with the luxury and convenience of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Airport Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Game Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing